Can't select artist album

To get bugs in the current release fixed, please report them here.

Moderator: Gurus

marcopb
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2018 2:48 am

Re: Can't select artist album

Post by marcopb »

I have the same problem. Version is 4.1.20.1864
My view is:
Tree vue on the left, Composer, Album, Artist, Genre
If I start listening to music, I cannot then select an album. Nothing changes, and if I double click on it, the music restarts from the first piece of the previous selection...
I have found a work-around: select what you would like (only one click, in my case a new album) and then re-select (only one click) "All genres". This seems to magically make the new album titles appear and I can then play them.
I must add that if I do the same selection using the "tree view" (the pane on the left), then all works fine.

Regards
Marco
mdw1968
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2011 10:01 am

Re: Can't select artist album

Post by mdw1968 »

Has this issue ever been addressed? It is still a problem now and has been for quite some time. The column browser works for a little while, then randomly breaks. The only thing I can do is restart MM.

I love MM, but this issue is the most annoying. I suspect by now this issue will continue to be ignored because of the focus on MM 5.

Windows 10, MM 4.1.27.1897
Erwin Hanzl
Posts: 628
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2017 8:47 am
Location: Vienna

Re: Can't select artist album

Post by Erwin Hanzl »

The column browser works with the current version without any problems.

download: http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... 54426&sd=d
Aktuelle Softwarestände:
MMW 4.1.31.1919 Gold-Standardinstallation auf WIN 10-64Bit Pro Vers. 20H2 | Meine Einstellungen
MMA 1.4.3.0948 Free Beta-Tester auf Huawei Mate 20 Pro 128 GB Android 10 | USB-Kabel-Sync
sheddo
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2020 3:52 pm

song list not filtering when selecting album

Post by sheddo »

Hi,

I have a peculiar problem now on and off for the last few months.

I can select an artist and the albums and songs filtered down. Then regardless of what album i select, all songs are listed. It does not happen all the time, sometimes it will work all day, sometimes within minutes of launching MM. If i relaunch MM, all is good ...... for a while.
I have updated MM several times and uninstalled and reinstalled.

I am using Free version installed portable on an external hard driver
Current MM Version 4.1.27.1897 (Portable Mode)
OS WIndows 10.

Any Ideas?

Cheers
Glenn
Lowlander
Posts: 49072
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: song list not filtering when selecting album

Post by Lowlander »

Where are you selecting this? In the Media Tree or in the Column Browser?
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)
mdw1968
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2011 10:01 am

Re: Can't select artist album

Post by mdw1968 »

Thought the latest version fixed this (4.1.28.1905), but no, still randomly stops working.
Erwin Hanzl
Posts: 628
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2017 8:47 am
Location: Vienna

Re: Can't select artist album

Post by Erwin Hanzl »

An album is only displayed in the correct order from the Media Tree - Album node

My COLUMN-BROWSER
Image

So that my column browser remains constant, I have made the following changes in MediaMonkey.ini:

Close MM
Windows Explorer: input in the address bar: % appdata%
Folder: MediaMonkey
MediaMonkey.ini (open with Editor)

I have TWO "BrowseColletion" entries

[BrowseCollection]
'old entry: Filters = G; A; L;
Filters = G; ZA; ZB;
TrackBrowserList1SelNode = 0
TrackBrowserList2SelNode = 0
TrackBrowserList3SelNode = 0
TrackBrowserList4SelNode = 0
TrackBrowserList5SelNode = 0
TrackBrowserList6SelNode = 0
TrackBrowserList7SelNode = 0
TrackBrowserList8SelNode = 0
........

[BrowseCollection0]
Filters = G; ZA; ZB;
CollectionBrowserVisible = 1

From [BrowseCollection0] I have the entry "Filters = G; ZA; ZB;" copied into [BrowseCollection]
Save file
Close Editor
Start MM


Image
Aktuelle Softwarestände:
MMW 4.1.31.1919 Gold-Standardinstallation auf WIN 10-64Bit Pro Vers. 20H2 | Meine Einstellungen
MMA 1.4.3.0948 Free Beta-Tester auf Huawei Mate 20 Pro 128 GB Android 10 | USB-Kabel-Sync
Synthax42
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2020 9:46 pm

Re: song list not filtering when selecting album

Post by Synthax42 »

Hi, I am having this issue too, and it's in the Column Browser. It's been happening for every version over 4+ years. Just only during Covid have I got around to reporting it. :-)

I have Gold Unlimited version on Windows.

Thanks in advance.
mdw1968
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2011 10:01 am

Re: song list not filtering when selecting album

Post by mdw1968 »

I've had this same issue for a long time too. Reported it too. Still not fixed.
Lowlander
Posts: 49072
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Can't select artist album

Post by Lowlander »

These type of issues are unlikely to get addressed in MediaMonkey 4. However if you still see this in MediaMonkey 5, report it there and include a debug log (step 4b): https://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewt ... 30&t=86643
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)
Post Reply