Help with Stop After Current

Get answers about using the current release of MediaMonkey for Windows.

Moderator: Gurus

JoePublic
Posts: 109
Joined: Tue May 19, 2009 11:43 am
Location: Fenton, MO

Help with Stop After Current

Post by JoePublic » Tue Jun 10, 2014 12:31 pm

I'm a little gun shy after some earlier posts in different threads, but here goes.

The situation: I am playing a music playlist and there are songs queued up that haven't played yet. I want the currently-playing song (let's call it Song #1) to stop when it is done, so I press the Stop After Current button. (I created a toolbar that includes that button because it's something I use a lot.)

In MM3, Song #1 would stop playing when done and that's it. In MM 4.1.1.1703, Song #1 stops playing when done, but then the "focus" shifts to the next song (Song #2) in the playlist. The problem with that is that if I want to add a song (Song X) to "Play Next" (which I do often), in MM4 Song X queues up after the as yet unplayed Song #2. In MM3, Song X would queue up after Song #1, and that is the desired action (for me, at least).

So my question is, is there a way to get back to having the "focus" remain on Song #1, and not advance to Song #2, when using Stop After Current? I've tried to find the answer on my own but came up empty.

Lowlander
Posts: 47522
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Help with Stop After Current

Post by Lowlander » Tue Jun 10, 2014 12:38 pm

No
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

JoePublic
Posts: 109
Joined: Tue May 19, 2009 11:43 am
Location: Fenton, MO

Re: Help with Stop After Current

Post by JoePublic » Tue Jun 10, 2014 2:28 pm

:(

Lowlander
Posts: 47522
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Help with Stop After Current

Post by Lowlander » Tue Jun 10, 2014 2:30 pm

I'm fairly certain there was negative feedback on the MM3 behavior as it stopped on current and not after, which didn't allow you to use Play to start the next track as expected, instead it repeated the same track which wouldn't be expected.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

JoePublic
Posts: 109
Joined: Tue May 19, 2009 11:43 am
Location: Fenton, MO

Re: Help with Stop After Current

Post by JoePublic » Tue Jun 10, 2014 5:48 pm

You are correct, and I plead guilty to providing some of that feedback. (I'm sure I also asked for it to be a user choice.) In the ensuing discussion, I became convinced that there were circumstances where it would be best for it not to advance to the next song. As it turns out (karma?), for the past 3 years or so, I've been using MM under just those circumstances a lot of the time. I do a webcast where I take music requests in real-time and often want to insert a song or songs immediately after the "current" song. If the "current" song is still playing, no problem. But if the current song has finished, then I can't queue up a song to play "next" without remembering to press the "<<" button first. So it's an inconvenience, not a show-stopper. I was just hoping there was some option somewhere where it could be set back to the old behavior. Or maybe an addon, since I don't seem to be very knowledgeable about what some of the addons will do.

(The example given way back when was in the case of DJ-ing, btw. Similar activity.)

I also recall at the time suggesting that the "Stop After Current" button be given a different look than the regular "Stop" button so as to differentiate the two. (They both are a red square, then and now.) This would be useful if you have both controls on a visible toolbar. It would be easy to forget which control was which when looking at them. BUT, I've adapted to that & don't care anymore.

And I recall asking that the "Stop After Current" control be turned into a toggle. In MM3, if you pressed "Stop After Current" and then changed your mind, it was "tough luck Charlie". You couldn't undo it. In the current MM4, I see that they did change the control so that it toggles. So, that's a welcome change.

I might open a thread in the wishlist section asking for a user choice for this control or perhaps for a separate "Stop After Current and Don't Advance" control. SACDA for short.

Lowlander
Posts: 47522
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Help with Stop After Current

Post by Lowlander » Tue Jun 10, 2014 8:08 pm

Button look is a skinners choice. Some skins don't even have it (right click on Play/Pause button to access it). I suggest you D&D into the Now Playing window to control where files are added.

I presume that if you want customized behavior that it can be scripted like: http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... er+current
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

nohitter151
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: Help with Stop After Current

Post by nohitter151 » Wed Jun 11, 2014 3:44 pm

Lowlander wrote:Button look is a skinners choice. Some skins don't even have it (right click on Play/Pause button to access it). I suggest you D&D into the Now Playing window to control where files are added.
JoePublic says he uses the button in the toolbar. That uses the stop button icon and is not able to be defined differently from the stop icon by the skinner. So that would be a valid item for the wishlist.
MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.

Post Reply