MM3 can't rip final track on CDs with non-audio data

To get bugs in the current release fixed, please report them here.

Moderator: Gurus

Reid
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2007 11:11 am

MM3 can't rip final track on CDs with non-audio data

Post by Reid » Thu Dec 27, 2007 6:49 pm

You get the error message "There was a problem reading the audio data. Would you like to try again?"

For more information see my original thread:

http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=23903

rovingcowboy
Posts: 14162
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2003 7:57 am
Location: (Texas)
Contact:

Post by rovingcowboy » Thu Dec 27, 2007 6:57 pm

those are added in the cdrom for the only reason of filling up the cdrom and causing any ripping program to fail.

do the windows explore of the cdrom look at the last known songs. so you can see what they are.
then you know where to stop at.

you can also use the wav format to see if there is any hidden songs on the cdrom, i have found some on some cdroms. they were only there for playing in the cdrom's included player which mainly had a front of the bands most recent album.
a cheap way of getting an advert. to the consumers.

some times the songs are pre release versions of the next album. so to get them off just play them in what ever player you can and record a new wav file with the wav editor of your choice.

they put it on there then the consumer has the right to make a back up copy of it..
8)
roving cowboy / keith hall. My skins http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... =9&t=16724 for some help check on Monkey's helpful messages at http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... 4008#44008 MY SYSTEMS.1.Jukebox WinXp pro sp 3 version 3.5 gigabyte mb. 281 GHz amd athlon x2 240 built by me.) 2.WinXP pro sp3, vers 2.5.5 and vers 3.5 backup storage, shuttle 32a mb,734 MHz amd athlon put together by me.) 3.Dell demension, winxp pro sp3, mm3.5 spare jukebox.) 4.WinXp pro sp3, vers 3.5, dad's computer bought from computer store. )5. Samsung Galaxy 5 Android 5) 6. amd a8-5600 apu 3.60ghz mm version 4 windows 7 pro bought from computer store.

Reid
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2007 11:11 am

Post by Reid » Thu Dec 27, 2007 7:11 pm

Are you saying that there is a way to specify "where to stop" with MM? I have used EAC for these CD tracks. WMP works too. It seems like MM is the only one that can't just ignore the non-audio data. Thanks.

Muad'Dib
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2007 12:25 pm

Post by Muad'Dib » Thu Dec 27, 2007 11:15 pm

Reid,

This doesn't help your problem, but to counter rovingcowboy's statement - there are legit reasons some discs have data tracks. I have some audiobooks with "Enhanced CDs" (their labeling, not mine). These discs have data tracks that contain PDF files of charts, illustrations, etc. that are part of the printed version of the book. It's a very nice bonus feature that can make the audiobook much more useful.

BTW, I use EAC to rip these, and they work just fine (it simply skips the data track, and I manually copy it over to the proper folder for later browsing). I had earlier problems with MM for some of these discs and don't even bother trying to use it for ripping anymore. Maybe I'll test it again with v3, but I'm in no rush.
"On the web, no one knows you're using a monkey!"

rovingcowboy
Posts: 14162
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2003 7:57 am
Location: (Texas)
Contact:

Post by rovingcowboy » Fri Dec 28, 2007 2:32 am

you can always go to the my computer node in media monkey's tree.

then go to the drive your cdrom is in by that node.
then select all the songs or tracks you want to rip.

just look at the cdrom in the windows explorer first to make sure monkey does not rip or try to rip the ofending track./ tracks.

8)
roving cowboy / keith hall. My skins http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... =9&t=16724 for some help check on Monkey's helpful messages at http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... 4008#44008 MY SYSTEMS.1.Jukebox WinXp pro sp 3 version 3.5 gigabyte mb. 281 GHz amd athlon x2 240 built by me.) 2.WinXP pro sp3, vers 2.5.5 and vers 3.5 backup storage, shuttle 32a mb,734 MHz amd athlon put together by me.) 3.Dell demension, winxp pro sp3, mm3.5 spare jukebox.) 4.WinXp pro sp3, vers 3.5, dad's computer bought from computer store. )5. Samsung Galaxy 5 Android 5) 6. amd a8-5600 apu 3.60ghz mm version 4 windows 7 pro bought from computer store.

Post Reply