3.1 doesn't provide MTP access to expansion card

Beta Testing for Windows Products and plugins

Moderator: Gurus

PromisedPlanet
Posts: 159
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 9:45 am
Location: Ohio, United States

3.1 doesn't provide MTP access to expansion card

Post by PromisedPlanet »

My understanding is that 3.1 is supposed to provide MTP access to expansion cards in device card slots? Maybe not for all devices - it doesn't work with my Sansa Connect.
nohitter151
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: 3.1 doesn't provide MTP access to expansion card

Post by nohitter151 »

http://www.ventismedia.com/mantis/view.php?id=2464
Jiri wrote:Fixed in build 1200.

There are actually two possible issues with d_WMDM.dll plug-in:

1. When the connected device is in MTP mode.
2. When the connected device is in MS mode.

I confirmed the problem 2. on my Sansa e250 and it's fixed now. As for 1., I don't have a device supporting showing both memories in MTP mode, so I don't know whether such problem really exists. In case it does, we can reopen this later.
MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.
PromisedPlanet
Posts: 159
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 9:45 am
Location: Ohio, United States

Re: 3.1 doesn't provide MTP access to expansion card

Post by PromisedPlanet »

nohitter151 wrote:http://www.ventismedia.com/mantis/view.php?id=2464
Jiri wrote:Fixed in build 1200.
Erk, I should've looked for another build. :oops: Just downloaded and tested out build 1236, looks good! Doesn't recognize when the expansion card has been removed, but I can live with that.

Thanks.
nohitter151
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: 3.1 doesn't provide MTP access to expansion card

Post by nohitter151 »

Great, so it indeed does work then.
MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.
PromisedPlanet
Posts: 159
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 9:45 am
Location: Ohio, United States

Re: 3.1 doesn't provide MTP access to expansion card

Post by PromisedPlanet »

nohitter151 wrote:Great, so it indeed does work then.
I haven't tested it extensively, but so far, syncing looks good. Just the one issue about MM not recognizing when the card's been removed.
rusty
Posts: 7427
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2003 3:39 am
Location: Montreal, Canada

Re: 3.1 doesn't provide MTP access to expansion card

Post by rusty »

Promised Planet,

When you say MM doesn't recognize when the card's been removed, do you mean a or b?
a) the card is removed while the device is connected and MM is running?
b) the card is removed and the device is then connected with MM running?

Thanks.

-Rusty
PromisedPlanet
Posts: 159
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 9:45 am
Location: Ohio, United States

Re: 3.1 doesn't provide MTP access to expansion card

Post by PromisedPlanet »

rusty wrote:Promised Planet,

When you say MM doesn't recognize when the card's been removed, do you mean a or b?
a) the card is removed while the device is connected and MM is running?
b) the card is removed and the device is then connected with MM running?

Thanks.

-Rusty
a) the card is removed while the device is connected and MM is running.

With my Sansa Connect.
rusty
Posts: 7427
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2003 3:39 am
Location: Montreal, Canada

Re: 3.1 doesn't provide MTP access to expansion card

Post by rusty »

Promised Planet,

I'm not sure if that's an MM issue.

When you do the same (remove the card while the device is connected) with Windows Media Player, does WMP recognize the change?

-Rusty
PromisedPlanet
Posts: 159
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 9:45 am
Location: Ohio, United States

Re: 3.1 doesn't provide MTP access to expansion card

Post by PromisedPlanet »

Hmm, you're right ... WMP doesn't either.

I'm surprised by this; doesn't MTP provide a notification when the expansion card has been removed?

Thanks.
Post Reply