MTP-Device with cardslot support

Any ideas about how to improve MediaMonkey? Let us know!

Moderator: Gurus

norman_himself

MTP-Device with cardslot support

Post by norman_himself »

Hi,
I would love to see MediaMonkey recognizing MicroSD-cards that are plugged into a player, when it is connected to the pc via MTP, so that I can synchronize to both, the internal playermemory and the MicroSD-card.



Norman
epithetless
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2006 2:33 am

Re: MTP-Device with cardslot support

Post by epithetless »

norman_himself wrote:Hi,
I would love to see MediaMonkey recognizing MicroSD-cards that are plugged into a player, when it is connected to the pc via MTP, so that I can synchronize to both, the internal playermemory and the MicroSD-card.
Yes, absolutely! I've voiced my support for this feature in the past -- and I just wanted to chime in to say I still support it. :wink: Please, MediaMonkey coders, hear our cries! :cry:
PromisedPlanet
Posts: 159
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 9:45 am
Location: Ohio, United States

Re: MTP-Device with cardslot support

Post by PromisedPlanet »

I'll add my "me too." As I said in another thread, this is a significant feature, present in most music manager programs, that is missing from MediaMonkey.
nohitter151
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: MTP-Device with cardslot support

Post by nohitter151 »

I believe this is already fixed in 3.1 - the release candidate is available in the beta testing forum for download.
MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.
nynaevelan
Posts: 5559
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 11:07 pm
Location: New Jersey, USA
Contact:

Re: MTP-Device with cardslot support

Post by nynaevelan »

nohitter151 wrote:I believe this is already fixed in 3.1 - the release candidate is available in the beta testing forum for download.
Really, I am not seeing it??
3.2x - Win7 Ultimate (Zen Touch 2 16 GB/Zen 8GB)
Link to Favorite Scripts/Skins

Join Dropbox, the online site to share your files
nohitter151
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: MTP-Device with cardslot support

Post by nohitter151 »

nynaevelan wrote:
nohitter151 wrote:I believe this is already fixed in 3.1 - the release candidate is available in the beta testing forum for download.
Really, I am not seeing it??
Isn't this it? --> http://www.ventismedia.com/mantis/view.php?id=2464
MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.
nynaevelan
Posts: 5559
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 11:07 pm
Location: New Jersey, USA
Contact:

Re: MTP-Device with cardslot support

Post by nynaevelan »

Maybe it only works for particular devices, but I can confirm my Zen device in MTP mode does not show the external memory as being available unless I have it plugged into my computer separately. And I am not techy enough to know how to switch it to MS mode.

Nyn
3.2x - Win7 Ultimate (Zen Touch 2 16 GB/Zen 8GB)
Link to Favorite Scripts/Skins

Join Dropbox, the online site to share your files
PromisedPlanet
Posts: 159
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 9:45 am
Location: Ohio, United States

Re: MTP-Device with cardslot support

Post by PromisedPlanet »

nynaevelan wrote:Maybe it only works for particular devices, but I can confirm my Zen device in MTP mode does not show the external memory as being available unless I have it plugged into my computer separately. And I am not techy enough to know how to switch it to MS mode.

Nyn
The Creative Zen's firmware doesn't provide MTP access to the expansion card, so this isn't a MediaMonkey issue.
nynaevelan
Posts: 5559
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 11:07 pm
Location: New Jersey, USA
Contact:

Re: MTP-Device with cardslot support

Post by nynaevelan »

PromisedPlanet wrote:
nynaevelan wrote:Maybe it only works for particular devices, but I can confirm my Zen device in MTP mode does not show the external memory as being available unless I have it plugged into my computer separately. And I am not techy enough to know how to switch it to MS mode.

Nyn
The Creative Zen's firmware doesn't provide MTP access to the expansion card, so this isn't a MediaMonkey issue.
Thanks for the info. :D

Nyn
3.2x - Win7 Ultimate (Zen Touch 2 16 GB/Zen 8GB)
Link to Favorite Scripts/Skins

Join Dropbox, the online site to share your files
PromisedPlanet
Posts: 159
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 9:45 am
Location: Ohio, United States

Re: MTP-Device with cardslot support

Post by PromisedPlanet »

nohitter151 wrote:
nynaevelan wrote:
nohitter151 wrote:I believe this is already fixed in 3.1 - the release candidate is available in the beta testing forum for download.
Really, I am not seeing it??
Isn't this it? --> http://www.ventismedia.com/mantis/view.php?id=2464
Evidently they're not supporting all devices yet, as it doesn't work with my Sansa Connect.
nohitter151
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: MTP-Device with cardslot support

Post by nohitter151 »

PromisedPlanet wrote:
Evidently they're not supporting all devices yet, as it doesn't work with my Sansa Connect.
I'm confused.. In the other thread you said it worked fine once you installed the correct beta build?
MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.
PromisedPlanet
Posts: 159
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 9:45 am
Location: Ohio, United States

Re: MTP-Device with cardslot support

Post by PromisedPlanet »

nohitter151 wrote:
PromisedPlanet wrote:
Evidently they're not supporting all devices yet, as it doesn't work with my Sansa Connect.
I'm confused.. In the other thread you said it worked fine once you installed the correct beta build?
Sorry, my triple-posting led to your confusion. It's all in the timing (of the posts).

With the latest beta build, it appears to be working correctly from what I've seen so far. The only issue I've seen is that MM doesn't recognize when the expansion card is removed from the player.
Post Reply