Sorting Artist View in Library

Get answers about the current version of MediaMonkey 5

Moderator: Gurus

Jay Mow

Sorting Artist View in Library

Post by Jay Mow »

Hi There

Recently I have switched again back to Media Monkey and have a nagging problem I cant fix that ive been looking everywhere for the answer and was hoping for some help.

I have a big 130gig library that ive been collecting for over 30 years and have it neatly organized on my phone with double twist and was hopping on replicating it on MM.

At the moment i have all artist (including various artists) showing in artist view. I also have single artist showing up as many times as they have albums (some times up to 10 times or more)

What im aiming for and how i have my library organized before is having all artists that show up in compilations albums to be under various and all other artist only showing up once

An example what id like to see is below

Image https://ibb.co/MR8DBYx

and this is what mm looks like

https://ibb.co/5LnXZqg

Help would be greatly appreciated !!!! :D
Lowlander

Re: Sorting Artist View in Library

Post by Lowlander »

You can use the Grid View instead and it will only show the Artists, which then can be expanded to show Albums, which then can be expanded to show files: https://www.mediamonkey.com/wiki/WebHel ... ging_Views
Barry4679

Post by Barry4679 »

Jay Mow wrote: Fri Jul 16, 2021 9:10 pm What im aiming for and how i have my library organized before is having all artists that show up in compilations albums to be under various and all other artist only showing up once

Hi Jay,
Try using the AlbumArtist sub-node instead of the Artist sub-node. For some reason that I don't understand, this is hidden by default in MM5
  • right-click on your node; Music in your illustration
  • take option Edit Collection
  • and check the AlbumArtist node, and maybe move it up the hierarchy if it is important to you