MM5 Skins

Get answers about the current version of MediaMonkey 5

Moderator: Gurus

jsl
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2012 6:12 pm

MM5 Skins

Post by jsl »

Hi,

I'm getting used to the new MM5 interface and seems OK so far, but wondering why none of the old skins on the market work anymore with the new version.

I have always been a fan of the old "Glided" skin - it really made sense to me and the colors and shading made everything show up in a super intuitive way. Is anyone working on updating MM5 to get the MM4-compatible skins to work in MM5? I think that's an important effort. The only alternative is to flush the entire universe of old skins that have been developed independently in the community over the last ten years or so and wait for the community to generate new ones just for MM5. That's pretty frustrating and generally not a great solution, especially for those of us who really don't like the current selection of skins. (Sorry, that applies to me - I find them all really hard to look at.)

Otherwise very impressed as always with MediaMonkey and the development effort involved in keeping up with all the formats out there etc.

Thanks,
Josh
Lowlander
Posts: 50796
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: MM5 Skins

Post by Lowlander »

MediaMonkey 5 uses a different skinning engine: https://www.mediamonkey.com/wiki/WebHel ... 7s_New/5.0
johnsmallberries
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2021 12:13 pm

Re: MM5 Skins

Post by johnsmallberries »

MM5 is great! +1 on the glided skin though. I'm old and I find the contrast difficult to view in MM5, such at the music ratings for a song in the playbar - I can barely see the stars in the player bar if the track is still unrated. I found glided so much easier to view because of the high contrast - it is really the only thing missing from this awesome product. I would post a v4/v5 side by side example but apparently I can't refer to an image outside of this domain....
Lowlander
Posts: 50796
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: MM5 Skins

Post by Lowlander »

You can change the Skin under Tools > Options Skins in MediaMonkey and additonal Skins are available: https://www.mediamonkey.com/addons/brow ... 1/skins-1/
Post Reply