Page 1 of 1

2230 - contextual filter can appear to be out of step

Posted: Mon Mar 09, 2020 8:42 pm
by Barry4679
The Ui could be improved during closure of the filter specification wizard. Currently it can lead to a confusing state.

There is no clear way to close a wizard dbox like this. ... ie. no Close button.
It can be closed by Enter key, or the escape key. or by just clicking somewhere in the main panel, ie. outside the Wizard dbox.

The 2nd and 3rd methods of closure cause this confusing result, where the filter falsely appears to be active.

Re: 2230 - contextual filter can appear to be out of step

Posted: Tue Mar 10, 2020 5:46 am
by Peke
Hi,
That is not Dialog but DropDown, there is Dropdown arrow to open/close it and which is overlapped with [-] as seen in your picture

I created https://www.ventismedia.com/mantis/view.php?id=16429 Let me know if I missed something.

Re: 2230 - contextual filter can appear to be out of step

Posted: Tue Mar 10, 2020 6:49 am
by Barry4679
Peke wrote:
Tue Mar 10, 2020 5:46 am
Let me know if I missed something.
I think that you missed everything from my report :)
You have gone in a different direction altogether.

My 1st diagram shows the dbox I was speaking of, and the second diagram showed the resulting problem.

Re: 2230 - contextual filter can appear to be out of step

Posted: Tue Mar 10, 2020 8:02 am
by Ludek
The 2nd and 3rd methods of closure cause this confusing result, where the filter falsely appears to be active
Yes, this is caused by some optimizations (espacially on large databases) so that the tracklist/filter isn't unnecessary updated too often.
i.e. it is updated once the editation of the row is finished. i.e. It can be closed by Enter key or by just clicking somewhere in the main panel, ie. outside the Wizard dbox. But I agree that the values should be updated once the dropdown is closed. Added to the Peke's issue.

Re: 2230 - contextual filter can appear to be out of step

Posted: Tue Mar 10, 2020 9:10 am
by Barry4679
Ludek wrote:
Tue Mar 10, 2020 8:02 am
i.e. it is updated once the editation of the row is finished. i.e. It can be closed by Enter key or by just clicking somewhere in the main panel, ie. outside the Wizard dbox.
If you are saying that close of screen #1, by clicking somewhere else, should refresh the filter, so that the display = what it says in the toolbar control ... I am not seeing that. ... I only saw that when closing via the Enter key. ... I think you should also fix for close by ESC key .... Ie.. Once you have closed the dbix the filter main display should always reflect what it says in the tool bar.

Am away from computer, so can't retest.

Re: 2230 - contextual filter can appear to be out of step

Posted: Tue Mar 10, 2020 11:04 pm
by Barry4679
to make more clear: steps:
  • open EntireLibrary>AllTracks, View mode = List
  • open View Filter (funnel icon)
  • add a filter line: AlbumArtist equals
  • select one of more albumartist from the selection dbox which has opened
  • close selection dbox, by clicking somewhere in the main grid, or prtess Esc key
  • ==> UI is in this confusing state ... ie. the sub-heading (see #A in diagram) states that the view is filtered, the toolbar (#B) contains some unrelated default entry, and the main display (#C) is not affected by the new filter
Workaround:
  • re-sort the grid
  • change View mode
  • exit the selection dbox via the Enter key

Re: 2230 - contextual filter can appear to be out of step

Posted: Wed Mar 11, 2020 8:57 am
by Ludek
Yes, I see, added to Mantis note 57135 yeasterday. To be fixed.