Possible problem with Chromecast feature [#18152]

Help improve MediaMonkey 5 by testing the latest pre-release builds, and reporting bugs and feature requests.

Moderator: Gurus

cbeschler
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2017 10:21 pm

Possible problem with Chromecast feature [#18152]

Post by cbeschler »

I'm loving the new RC-6. However, I just discovered what may be a problem with the Chromecast feature. Specifically, I streamed a song to my Bose Sound Bar using the Chromecast feature. The song ended; however the MM5 time bar at the bottom kept bouncing back to one second, then to zero, then back to one second, etc. To stop this, I had to turn off the Chromecast feature. I don't know if anyone else has experienced this.
Peke
Posts: 14613
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: Possible problem with Chromecast feature

Post by Peke »

Hi,
That sounds a lot like a problem with communication MM <-> Bose.

Can you please Create debug log, using latest MM5 release, ZIP it and attach it to support ticket so that we can analyze?
Best regards,
Peke
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
How to add SCREENSHOTS to forum
Lowlander
Posts: 50812
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Possible problem with Chromecast feature

Post by Lowlander »

Debug log (step 4b) instructions: viewtopic.php?f=30&t=86643

Is playback supposed to finish at the end of this song or is it expected to switch to the next song?
cbeschler
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2017 10:21 pm

Re: Possible problem with Chromecast feature

Post by cbeschler »

Playback is supposed to move to the next song.
cbeschler
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2017 10:21 pm

Re: Possible problem with Chromecast feature

Post by cbeschler »

I tried Chromecast through the Sound Bar again tonight, with the same result. That is, instead of playing the next song, it cycles between o seconds and 1 second until I stop it. I would love to send a debug log. However, I read the instructions and have a question on how to do it. I've installed MM5 1.2422.exe, not _Debug.exe. Do I have to install _Debug.exe to create the debug log? If so, will it change the setup I currently have in MM5?
dtsig
Posts: 3447
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 6:34 pm

Re: Possible problem with Chromecast feature

Post by dtsig »

yes .. install the latest Debug version to create a log. It is very safe
Where's the db and ini stored
Reporting Bugs
Where tags are stored

Not affiliated with MediaMonkey ... just a RABID user/lover
DTSig
Lowlander
Posts: 50812
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Possible problem with Chromecast feature

Post by Lowlander »

Yes, you need to install the debug version, and you install it just like any update on top of the existing install. Once you're using the debug version of MediaMonkey, DebugView will be able to capture all that you're doing in MediaMonkey so the developers can analyze why this is happening in your setup.
cbeschler
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2017 10:21 pm

Re: Possible problem with Chromecast feature

Post by cbeschler »

I followed the instructions above (installed MM5 2422_debug.exe) as well as downloaded DebugView. I have reproduced the error and sent the debug log named CHRIS-PC.LOG MM5 Chromecast.LOG. I received a confirmation that you have received it via ticket # 2133. Hope this helps.

Best regards, Chris
Ludek
Posts: 4242
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2007 9:00 am

Re: Possible problem with Chromecast feature

Post by Ludek »

Peke
Posts: 14613
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: Possible problem with Chromecast feature

Post by Peke »

cbeschler wrote: Wed Jul 14, 2021 8:29 pm I followed the instructions above (installed MM5 2422_debug.exe) as well as downloaded DebugView. I have reproduced the error and sent the debug log named CHRIS-PC.LOG MM5 Chromecast.LOG. I received a confirmation that you have received it via ticket # 2133. Hope this helps.

Best regards, Chris
Can you please try with 2427 and let us know if it fixed the problem?
Best regards,
Peke
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
How to add SCREENSHOTS to forum
cbeschler
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2017 10:21 pm

Re: Possible problem with Chromecast feature [#18152]

Post by cbeschler »

Peke, I apologize for the delayed response. I tried it with 2430 and it works perfectly! Thank you so much for the fix!!!

My best, Chris
Peke
Posts: 14613
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: Possible problem with Chromecast feature [#18152]

Post by Peke »

Hi,
Thank you for update, patience and help to get to bottom of it.
Best regards,
Peke
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
How to add SCREENSHOTS to forum
Post Reply