MediaMonkey does not work correctly in Turkish region setting [#18034]

Help improve MediaMonkey 5 by testing the latest pre-release builds, and reporting bugs and feature requests.

Moderator: Gurus

csunguray
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2021 5:38 am

MediaMonkey does not work correctly in Turkish region setting [#18034]

Post by csunguray »

MediaMonkey for Windows does not work correctly in Turkish region setting. MediaMonkey works correctly when the region setting is set to English.

When the language setting is in Turkish, when we want to play any mp3 file, the error message "Playback failed: XXX.MP3 cannot be decoded" is received.

This problem stems from the fact that the capital letter i in the Turkish language is the letter İ, and the lowercase letter I is the letter ı.

The Windows interface I use is in English. But my Region settings are in Turkish. Windows version: Windows 10 Enterprise 21H1
Lowlander
Posts: 50213
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: MediaMonkey for Windows does not work correctly in Turkish region setting.

Post by Lowlander »

Can you reproduce this on build 2412: https://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewt ... 86639&sd=d

If so, can you please capture this in a debug log (step 4b) and attach the log to a Support ticket: https://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewt ... 30&t=86643
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)
csunguray
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2021 5:38 am

Re: MediaMonkey for Windows does not work correctly in Turkish region setting.

Post by csunguray »

I downloaded the file from https://www.mediamonkey.com/beta/MediaM ... _Debug.exe and installed it. The same problem persists in this version as well.

I could not login or register to the Mantis Bug Tracking System.

I recorded a video of the error that occurred. You can watch the video here.
https://youtu.be/GyvBBxKuyHo

Although I installed the debug version of MediaMonkey, I could not find any file with el extension.

I saved a LOG file using DebugView. You can download the LOG file from the https://www.mediafire.com/file/tcg7mjec ... G.TXT/file link.
Last edited by csunguray on Tue Jun 08, 2021 2:25 am, edited 1 time in total.
Peke
Posts: 14388
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: MediaMonkey for Windows does not work correctly in Turkish region setting.

Post by Peke »

Hi,
Looks like you have conflicts in Windows Filename parsing where Windows itself remove Unicode characters and translate them to non unicode. I have non english regional settings and observe same behavior with my Image app XnView, but not with MediaMonkey.

I tried adding İ and ı to filenames and double click on files in Windows explorer normally open in MM.

Is it possible that you have scanned files in library when you were in US setting and then after switching to Turkish regional settings they do not play?

try adding İ and ı to filenames of files that MM do not play -> Copy them to separate Folder like c:\Turkish\ and scan those files in MM library while using Turkish Regional settings and see if they play then?

You can use separate Portable MM installation so that you get clean MM installation.

Sorry if this sound ridiculous, but this is interesting issue and as I have same problem with XnView , for which I never found the solution I am very interested to get to bottom of it.
Best regards,
Peke
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
How to add SCREENSHOTS to forum
csunguray
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2021 5:38 am

Re: MediaMonkey for Windows does not work correctly in Turkish region setting.

Post by csunguray »

I am a Delphi programmer. Sometimes Turkish letters appear incorrectly in 64-bit versions of Windows in the programs we write. When this happens, we change the "Current language for non-Unicode programs" setting from the regional settings to English from Turkish. After restarting the computer, we set this setting to Turkish again and restart again. After this process, Turkish letters will appear properly.

Turkish letters were also displayed incorrectly in MediaMonkey. After correcting this setting, song titles started appearing correctly. But the songs still cannot be played.

I've uninstalled and reinstalled MediaMonkey multiple times, and deleted and rescanned the song database multiple times. I made sure that there were no Turkish letters in the names of the folders and songs where I installed MediaMonkey. However, mp3 files could not be played. But I noticed that files with flac extension work correctly.

I saved some LOG files using the ProcMon program. You can download these files from https://www.mediafire[dot]com/file/5ualapikoshhg4k/ProcessMonitorLog.zip/file link.
Last edited by csunguray on Wed Jun 09, 2021 7:49 am, edited 1 time in total.
Ludek
Posts: 4133
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2007 9:00 am

Re: MediaMonkey for Windows does not work correctly in Turkish region setting.

Post by Ludek »

Hi, analyzing your log and it is quite strange that it fails to decode also files that have no turkish char in the filename, e.g.
D:\F\mp3\Yeniler\Asik Veysel\Asik Veysel\ASIK VEYSEL- Kara Toprak.mp3

Could you share this file for analyzing ?
Are you saying that if you change your region settings from Turkish to English then this particular file starts to play in MediaMonkey? Can you re-test to confirm?

Thanks!
csunguray
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2021 5:38 am

Re: MediaMonkey for Windows does not work correctly in Turkish region setting.

Post by csunguray »

Unfortunately, none of the mp3 files can be played. Mp3 files that I saved with the name D:\A.MP3 cannot be played either. I suspect MediaMonkey has a problem accessing its DLL files or codec files.

These mp3 files are played without any problems in VLC Media Player, Windows Media Player, Groove Music programs.

In my last test I changed the names of all DLLs (using Advanced Renamer Portable) in the D:\F\mp3\MMonkey5 folder to uppercase (i as I, not as İ) MP3 files started working correctly.
Ludek
Posts: 4133
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2007 9:00 am

Re: MediaMonkey for Windows does not work correctly in Turkish region setting.

Post by Ludek »

I am confused, you said that you renamed DLLs and that it helped, which DLLs are you reffering?
csunguray
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2021 5:38 am

Re: MediaMonkey for Windows does not work correctly in Turkish region setting.

Post by csunguray »

The MediaMonkey program is installed (as portable) in the D:\F\mp3\MMonkey5 folder. I capitalized the names of the DLL files in the D:\F\mp3\MMonkey5 folder. (i is capitalized as I, not as İ)

You can watch the process in the video in the link. After the problem was fixed, the sound of the first few songs I clicked is not heard in the video because the headphones were forgotten to be plugged in.

https://www.youtube[dot]com/watch?v=zKMduknjVSg
MiPi
Posts: 730
Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2009 2:56 pm
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: MediaMonkey for Windows does not work correctly in Turkish region setting.

Post by MiPi »

It does not make sense at all for me. File names are not case sensitive (and for input plugins their names are mostly not relevant at all). Could you run DbgView before you run MM5 (the non working version) and try to play again? You posted only partial log, where app. loading part is missing, thanks.
csunguray
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2021 5:38 am

Re: MediaMonkey for Windows does not work correctly in Turkish region setting.

Post by csunguray »

Below are the links of the LOG files recorded with DebugView.

https://www.mediafire[dot]com/file/7b9nkg44vjpnuab/MMONKEY-DEBUG-LOG-STARTUP.LOG/file

https://www.mediafire[dot]com/file/1cxmb40zdvy94pf/MMONKEY-DEBUG-LOG-STARTUP-AFTER-DLL-NAMES-CAPITILAZED.LOG/file

If you want me to do another test, don't hesitate to ask.
MiPi
Posts: 730
Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2009 2:56 pm
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: MediaMonkey for Windows does not work correctly in Turkish region setting.

Post by MiPi »

Thank you very much, you was right, the reason is Turkish "i" in uppercase, tracked as: https://www.ventismedia.com/mantis/view.php?id=18034
Post Reply