JS translation vor VBS code NodeName=SDB.MainTree.CurrentNode.Caption

To discuss development of addons / skins / customization of MediaMonkey.

Moderators: jiri, drakinite, Addon Administrators

Milode

JS translation vor VBS code NodeName=SDB.MainTree.CurrentNode.Caption

Post by Milode »

Unfortunately I have little experience in programming, but I really want to translate a VB script for MM5.
For the JS I need the implementation for the following VBS section to determine the node name (playlist name) of the selected node in the item tree:

Dim SDB
Set SDB = CreateObject("SongsDB.SDBApplication")
Dim NodeName
NodeName=SDB.MainTree.CurrentNode.Caption

Second question, how can I make the script in the right click menu over the item tree.

Thanks for your help!
drakinite

Re: JS translation vor VBS code NodeName=SDB.MainTree.CurrentNode.Caption

Post by drakinite »

You can explore how the MediaTree operates from within controls/mediaTree.js.

- You can get the currently focused node via '(mediaTree).dataSource.focusedNode' ("mediaTree" is in parentheses because it's not a global variable; more on that in a second.)
- For any "control", you can access the JS object from its HTML element via "(HTML element).controlClass"
- The main media tree is an HTML element with the attribute 'data-id="mediaTree"', and you can query the document for `data-id` via the `qid` command. So to get the HTML element corresponding to the main media tree, you do 'qid("mediaTree")'.
- Putting all this together, you can grab the currently selected node with the following JS statement:

Code: Select all

var node = qid('mediaTree').controlClass.dataSource.focusedNode;
And you can get its name with the following:

node.title
For your second question, you can find how it works inside viewHandlers.js, where it defines window.nodeUtils._getNodeMenu (around line 3,075). The right-click menu for nodes (on the media tree) is defined there.