Switch track with slide on picture ?

Report bugs & feature requests for MediaMonkey for Android and learn about the newest beta build.

Moderator: Gurus

nonob
Posts: 241
Joined: Fri Jun 20, 2008 8:18 am
Contact:

Switch track with slide on picture ?

Post by nonob » Thu Feb 26, 2015 10:57 am

Hi,
Actually, when i swipe my finger on the track picture, it switch to the lyrics view.
To witch track, i must swipe on the track info at the bottom of the player.

Could you add an option to enable changing track with a swipe on all the player ? (when the suer doesn't need lyrics, like me)

thanks
Blog "Le Geek du Cerisier" : MediaMonkey
MMW gold (with extensions : Album Art Tagger, CustomFieldsTagger, Discogs Tagger, French translation, GenreFinder, Last.fm Scrobbler, MusicBrainz Tagger, MusicIPTagger, RegExpFind and Replace, Tagging inconsistencies) on desktop PC with OS Windows 7 64-bit SP1, MB Gigabyte M68M-S2P (Socket M2), CPU AMD Phenom II X6 1035T, RAM 4.00 Go Canal-Double DDR2 @ 401 MHz, SSD 111GB KINGSTON SV300S37A12 (C:), DVDWRITER HL-DT-ST DVD-RAM GH22NP20 ATA Device, VIRTUAL ELBY CLONEDRIVE CdRom Device.
MMA on 4 Android devices.

Lowlander
Posts: 47050
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Switch track with slide on picture ?

Post by Lowlander » Thu Feb 26, 2015 11:10 am

Slide on the song info (title, artist) to switch tracks.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

nonob
Posts: 241
Joined: Fri Jun 20, 2008 8:18 am
Contact:

Re: Switch track with slide on picture ?

Post by nonob » Thu Feb 26, 2015 1:28 pm

Hi :)

Yes, i know. So my question is : "Could you add an option to expand the swipe zone to all the player (picture) if i don't want (or don't need) lyrics info ?"
Blog "Le Geek du Cerisier" : MediaMonkey
MMW gold (with extensions : Album Art Tagger, CustomFieldsTagger, Discogs Tagger, French translation, GenreFinder, Last.fm Scrobbler, MusicBrainz Tagger, MusicIPTagger, RegExpFind and Replace, Tagging inconsistencies) on desktop PC with OS Windows 7 64-bit SP1, MB Gigabyte M68M-S2P (Socket M2), CPU AMD Phenom II X6 1035T, RAM 4.00 Go Canal-Double DDR2 @ 401 MHz, SSD 111GB KINGSTON SV300S37A12 (C:), DVDWRITER HL-DT-ST DVD-RAM GH22NP20 ATA Device, VIRTUAL ELBY CLONEDRIVE CdRom Device.
MMA on 4 Android devices.

Lowlander
Posts: 47050
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Switch track with slide on picture ?

Post by Lowlander » Thu Feb 26, 2015 10:21 pm

I hope not as it's a convenient way to see the lyrics and swipe is already available.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

mcow
Posts: 820
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 9:35 pm
Location: Cupertino, California

Re: Switch track with slide on picture ?

Post by mcow » Sun Mar 01, 2015 9:24 pm

The issue here, lowlander, is: if you want to look at lyrics, then you are probably in a position where you can take your time to locate some less convenient point in the user-interface.

Full-image swipe can be performed by someone who perhaps is not able to devote all of her attention to the screen at the moment. Allocating that easy gesture to a finicky, attention-demanding feature like lyrics when it could be used for something everybody needs, like control over playback, is simply not rational.

dtsig
Posts: 3197
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 6:34 pm

Re: Switch track with slide on picture ?

Post by dtsig » Sun Mar 01, 2015 10:53 pm

mcow wrote:The issue here, lowlander, is: if you want to look at lyrics, then you are probably in a position where you can take your time to locate some less convenient point in the user-interface.

Full-image swipe can be performed by someone who perhaps is not able to devote all of her attention to the screen at the moment. Allocating that easy gesture to a finicky, attention-demanding feature like lyrics when it could be used for something everybody needs, like control over playback, is simply not rational.
And this is another example of where the function really needs to be towards the *mobile* user.
Where's the db and ini stored
Reporting Bugs
Where tags are stored

Not affiliated with MediaMonkey ... just a RABID user/lover
DTSig

rusty
Posts: 7282
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2003 3:39 am
Location: Montreal, Canada

Re: Switch track with slide on picture ?

Post by rusty » Mon Mar 02, 2015 12:45 am

I'm listening. Thanks for the feedback.

I'll keep it in mind as well consider UI changes in 1.2.

-Rusty

nonob
Posts: 241
Joined: Fri Jun 20, 2008 8:18 am
Contact:

Re: Switch track with slide on picture ?

Post by nonob » Mon Mar 02, 2015 1:13 am

mcow wrote:The issue here, lowlander, is: if you want to look at lyrics, then you are probably in a position where you can take your time to locate some less convenient point in the user-interface.

Full-image swipe can be performed by someone who perhaps is not able to devote all of her attention to the screen at the moment. Allocating that easy gesture to a finicky, attention-demanding feature like lyrics when it could be used for something everybody needs, like control over playback, is simply not rational.
Yed, i think about that essentially when i am in my car, where it is difficukt to change track, and where i don't need lyrics..

Thanks :-)
Blog "Le Geek du Cerisier" : MediaMonkey
MMW gold (with extensions : Album Art Tagger, CustomFieldsTagger, Discogs Tagger, French translation, GenreFinder, Last.fm Scrobbler, MusicBrainz Tagger, MusicIPTagger, RegExpFind and Replace, Tagging inconsistencies) on desktop PC with OS Windows 7 64-bit SP1, MB Gigabyte M68M-S2P (Socket M2), CPU AMD Phenom II X6 1035T, RAM 4.00 Go Canal-Double DDR2 @ 401 MHz, SSD 111GB KINGSTON SV300S37A12 (C:), DVDWRITER HL-DT-ST DVD-RAM GH22NP20 ATA Device, VIRTUAL ELBY CLONEDRIVE CdRom Device.
MMA on 4 Android devices.

creativconfusion
Posts: 123
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2012 9:49 pm

Re: Switch track with slide on picture ?

Post by creativconfusion » Mon Mar 02, 2015 7:46 am

I second this wholeheartedly!

Every other player allows a swipe on album art to skip tracks, and most allow a double tap to pause/play. There have been many instances where I was driving or walking and could not hit the tiny area on the screen dedicated to the track info.

Lyrics are nice, but to assign a giant portion of the touch space to them just seems silly.

Lyrics on/off could be placed on the menu, screen swipes should be prioritized for essential functions.

Thanks OP for bringing this up!

dtsig
Posts: 3197
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 6:34 pm

Re: Switch track with slide on picture ?

Post by dtsig » Mon Mar 02, 2015 10:32 am

rusty wrote:I'm listening. Thanks for the feedback.

I'll keep it in mind as well consider UI changes in 1.2.

-Rusty
Never had a doubt Rusty .. you guys are pretty good at response but sometimes the hammer is better than a velvet glove (not really sure what that means but sounds good :) ).
Lots of great features like "More from same album" .. when driving down the road playing off phone would be nice that these features are easier to get to. I know the complications of 'options' and glad it is you and not me :)
Try every feature on your phone while whipping down the road in heavy traffic and say .. hmm could that be easier :)
Thanks again for the great products
Where's the db and ini stored
Reporting Bugs
Where tags are stored

Not affiliated with MediaMonkey ... just a RABID user/lover
DTSig

Lowlander
Posts: 47050
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Switch track with slide on picture ?

Post by Lowlander » Mon Mar 02, 2015 12:23 pm

So you're saying that track switching with a swipe on track info (as well as a tap on the next/previous buttons) is not convenient enough and should warrant making it more difficult to see lyrics? That's taking a step back in functionality.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

dtsig
Posts: 3197
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 6:34 pm

Re: Switch track with slide on picture ?

Post by dtsig » Mon Mar 02, 2015 12:27 pm

Lowlander wrote:So you're saying that track switching with a swipe on track info (as well as a tap on the next/previous buttons) is not convenient enough and should warrant making it more difficult to see lyrics? That's taking a step back in functionality.
For me that is why I mention *option*. But if not at all possible for that to be optional then .. YES .. on a mobile device I believe one thing the UI should do is make things easier when you are mobile. Not sure that Lyrics are the first thing someone wants as they drive down the road. Why not have that as a option lie "more from .." is now?
Where's the db and ini stored
Reporting Bugs
Where tags are stored

Not affiliated with MediaMonkey ... just a RABID user/lover
DTSig

Lowlander
Posts: 47050
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Switch track with slide on picture ?

Post by Lowlander » Mon Mar 02, 2015 1:43 pm

Because slide already exists for next/previous, you're just expanding the area while removing functionality.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

dtsig
Posts: 3197
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 6:34 pm

Re: Switch track with slide on picture ?

Post by dtsig » Mon Mar 02, 2015 4:20 pm

I think if you are talking to me (you talking to me ... in my best De Niro ) i think you misunderstand. I was not talking about the next/preious
Where's the db and ini stored
Reporting Bugs
Where tags are stored

Not affiliated with MediaMonkey ... just a RABID user/lover
DTSig

rusty
Posts: 7282
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2003 3:39 am
Location: Montreal, Canada

Re: Switch track with slide on picture ?

Post by rusty » Tue Mar 03, 2015 9:49 am

I personally find that the next/previous swipe area is too small for when I'm driving.

So I wouldn't want to remove functionality, but figure out a way to make the most commonly used functionality more accessible/less prone to error (while retaining a mechanism to access lyrics).

-Rusty

Post Reply