Page 5 of 51

Posted: Thu Mar 16, 2006 9:16 am
by trixmoto
The dialog box is a standard dialog box which you can't make modal. Unless I create another form I don't think this is possible, so people will just have to use it properly! :)

I will look into the bug you are getting, although I can't really test the Russian characters, I presume it's a more general problem if the SeparateFiles variable is affecting it.

Posted: Thu Mar 16, 2006 10:12 am
by kanski
The dialog box is a standard dialog box which you can't make modal. Unless I create another form I don't think this is possible, so people will just have to use it properly!
Usually, standard dialog box is modal, but there it'is impossible. am'i right?
I will look into the bug you are getting, although I can't really test the Russian characters, I presume it's a more general problem if the SeparateFiles variable is affecting it.
If you need to test anything, I and other users can help.
Your scripts are the most necessary! we can made it better togeter!

Posted: Thu Mar 16, 2006 10:51 am
by Guest
I'm using the Track mask,
<Stars> <Track#>. <Title> - <Artist>
Is there a way to align the Stars, so that all track numbers are aligned with each other in the output?

Thanks

Posted: Thu Mar 16, 2006 11:28 am
by trixmoto
@kanski - there is no way that I can see to make this modal, but if I find a way I'll do it!

@guest - I was thinking of always showing 5 stars, coloured yellow for the rating and the rest coloured white. This would solve your problem so I will include it in the next version (as long as no one complains!)

Posted: Thu Mar 16, 2006 11:52 am
by Guest
Cheers Trix - that'll do nicely for me. Thanks.

Posted: Thu Mar 16, 2006 12:12 pm
by trixmoto
New version (3.3) has the above issues fixed.

- http://trixmoto.net/files/no-star2.png
- http://trixmoto.net/files/half-star2.png

:o NEW CODE BELOW :o

Posted: Thu Mar 16, 2006 2:33 pm
by TheDude
I really like the changes you have made trix
I do have a question that is probably a stuipid one, but is there an easy way to remove the (top) tab from displaying.

Posted: Fri Mar 17, 2006 5:38 am
by trixmoto
Which tab exactly do you wish to remove? The summary section with the totals?

Posted: Fri Mar 17, 2006 5:53 am
by Guest
A few problems with v3.3.

1. Star Ratings.

Zero rated track (bomb) displays in Report as 5 white stars.
Unrated tracks display as 5 yellow stars with red crosses.

I think these just need swapping over so:

Unrated tracks = 5 white stars
5 white stars (currently) display bomb.

The Yellow star with red cross would no longer be needed.

2. Average Album Rating

This is displaying to 15 decimal places. Needs rounding.

3.

When closing the Report, it stops responding. I have to end it from task manager. Might only be a problem I'm having, but this was ok in previous versions.

Any thoughts?

Posted: Fri Mar 17, 2006 5:58 am
by trixmoto
The bomb was removed because it was requested that the stars always took up the same amount of space so they could be the first thing and keep the other information aligned.

If you notice, half stars are half yellow and half white. Using five white stars for unrated instead of zero rating would not make any sense at all.

As the report is just an html file, if it is crashing on exit then the fault is with your browser not releasing the rather large file correctly. I suggest you either use a better browser, or use the separate files option to create lots of smaller files.

Posted: Fri Mar 17, 2006 6:52 am
by Guest
Thanks for reply.

I doubt many people rate anything as zero - I don't, but ran a test to see how things displayed. My preference would be:

Unrated = 5 white Stars

Zero rated = 5 Bombs ( so they're really noticeable)

The five crossed stars are a bit 'busy' on the eye! Makes sense to me. I'm not challenging what you've chosen to do, Trix. But if it was possible, in future versions, to select in Options how zero rated and unrated are displayed, that would be great.

I'll run a repair on IE - might fix the other problem.

Thanks for getting back to me. And thanks for sharing your hard work. :)

Posted: Fri Mar 17, 2006 6:54 am
by onkel_enno
Anonymous wrote: Zero rated = 5 Bombs ( so they're really noticeable)
Or a bomb and 4 white stars

Posted: Fri Mar 17, 2006 9:32 am
by trixmoto
Ok, I'll work the bomb image back into the report somehow.

I'll also fix the rounding issue. :)

N.B. Personally I'm going to keep the icons as they are because five empty stars still looks like a rating of zero to me, not unrated.

Posted: Fri Mar 17, 2006 10:20 am
by trixmoto
New version (3.4) has the numeric ratings value rounded to one decimal place (only if there is a decimal place).

Also I have added a new mask field called <Bombs>. As far as I understand it, <Stars> works the way I want the images to look and <Bombs> works the way Guest wants them to.

You will probably need to download all these images again (if you are not using the installer from my website which does this automatically of course!) as they've pretty much all changed.

- http://trixmoto.net/files/star.png
- http://trixmoto.net/files/bomb.png
- http://trixmoto.net/files/no-star.png
- http://trixmoto.net/files/no-star2.png
- http://trixmoto.net/files/half-star2.png

:o NEW CODE BELOW :o

Posted: Fri Mar 17, 2006 12:01 pm
by Guest
Trix,

Thank you for taking the time to do this, but I've given the wrong impression. I'll try and put it another way. The problem is that I'm not overly familiar with VB or the syntax that makes the right calls from MM.

I didn't mean for you to create "getbombs" as a separate display.

What I was trying to point out (as Lowlander did) is the following:

If Rating< 0 Then Rating = -1 (In MM database)

and so (for example)

Getstars = nostars.png;nostars2.png;nostars2.png;nostars2.png;nostars2.png;

If Rating = 0 Then Rating = 0

and so (for example)

Getstars = bomb.png;nostars2.png;nostars2.png;nostars2.png;nostars2.png;

(Which is the way Onkel Enno suggested it)

If Rating> 0 Then Getstars is done as it already is.

The question is how is the -1 value written into the script to do this?

Users can customise the choice of display themselves, by editing the images used for each type of rating in the script - so that isn't a problem.

Just wanted to keep it simple. Sorry for causing confusion.

Do you see what I mean?