Apple logo appears when playing MM synced iPod

Get answers about syncing MediaMonkey 4 with iPods and other devices.

Moderator: Gurus

muttley64

Apple logo appears when playing MM synced iPod

Post by muttley64 »

Until last year I had been using Media Monkey for 3 years with my iPod Classic 120GB without problem, but since some time in 2012 I keep getting the dreaded Apple logo on the iPod more often than not when I try and play a track. First when that happened the iPod was unusable until I put it into disk mode, and sometimes an MM sync would return it to normal or I would have to do a factory reset via itunes. However, as of today when the Apple logo appears if I leave it until the display goes dark then it functions normally until I try to play another track and the Apple logo reappears, ad infinitum.

I am running version 4.0.7.1511 of MM on a WIndows 7 64 bit computer. Oddly I have the same version of Windows and MM on my work PC and this problem does not happen when I restore the iPod and sync from it. I can play the ipod for days on end, then as soon as I restore it and sync it from my home PC the apple logo appears. I have also tried restoring the ipod and using itunes (which I detest) instead, and that works fine too. If itunes was up to the task of managing my music library I would gladly switch to using it and not suffer these annoying problems again, but it's not which is why I have invested a lot of time and effort, plus some money in buying a Gold license and am using MediaMonkey instead.

Does it matter which version of itunes I use with MM 4.0.7.1511? I only use it when I need to restore my ipod to factory defaults. I was on the latest version but downgraded to 10.6.3.25, in the hope of solving the Apple logo problem, but that hasn't helped.