Unofficial but very helpful iPod/iTunes/MediaMonkey Hints

Get answers about syncing the current release of MediaMonkey with iPods and other devices.

Moderator: Gurus

MAFi0Z0

Re: Unofficial but very helpful iPod/iTunes/MediaMonkey Hints

Post by MAFi0Z0 »

Friskus wrote:
I have tried to delete mm from the pc, and in stall all over again.

Now i get the message cannot load query data. Could not find condition ID: 207
I have almost the same but ID is - 209.
What can I do now?
letsgoaz
Posts: 80
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2007 9:42 pm

Re: Unofficial but very helpful iPod/iTunes/MediaMonkey Hints

Post by letsgoaz »

so, is it possible to have music files as wma's in MM and sync them to an ipod, having the system convert the files on the fly? Also, using MM with an ipod, is it still possible to have album art?
nohitter151
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: Unofficial but very helpful iPod/iTunes/MediaMonkey Hints

Post by nohitter151 »

letsgoaz wrote:so, is it possible to have music files as wma's in MM and sync them to an ipod, having the system convert the files on the fly? Also, using MM with an ipod, is it still possible to have album art?
Yes (on the fly converting is a Gold feature, I believe) and yes.
MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.
letsgoaz
Posts: 80
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2007 9:42 pm

iTunes

Post by letsgoaz »

Is there a way to use MM with an ipod without dealing with iTunes? This has probably been asked but I can't find it anywhere
Psyker7
Posts: 255
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2007 8:00 am

Re: iTunes

Post by Psyker7 »

letsgoaz wrote:Is there a way to use MM with an ipod without dealing with iTunes? This has probably been asked but I can't find it anywhere
Essentially, no. iTunes must at least be installed on order to sync with mediamonkey.
nohitter151
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: iTunes

Post by nohitter151 »

Psyker7 wrote:
letsgoaz wrote:Is there a way to use MM with an ipod without dealing with iTunes? This has probably been asked but I can't find it anywhere
Essentially, no. iTunes must at least be installed on order to sync with mediamonkey.
This is true in most cases, though some older iPod models don't require iTunes to be installed.
MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.
Charlie_Watt

Re: Unofficial but very helpful iPod/iTunes/MediaMonkey Hints

Post by Charlie_Watt »

My Ipod Nano worked fine without Itunes but my new Touch did not.
Trev1
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2008 9:10 am

Re: Unofficial but very helpful iPod/iTunes/MediaMonkey Hints

Post by Trev1 »

HI

When I sync an Audiobook to my ipod with MM its ends up under the Music section in my ipod. Obviously I dont want this as
I need it to be under Audiobooks section in ipod not Music. Any ideas on how to do this please ?
thank you
nohitter151
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: Unofficial but very helpful iPod/iTunes/MediaMonkey Hints

Post by nohitter151 »

Trev1 wrote:HI

When I sync an Audiobook to my ipod with MM its ends up under the Music section in my ipod. Obviously I dont want this as
I need it to be under Audiobooks section in ipod not Music. Any ideas on how to do this please ?
thank you
Read this: http://www.mediamonkey.com/support/inde ... ticleid=11
MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.
Impulse
Posts: 35
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2009 9:48 pm
Location: Puerto Rico
Contact:

Re: Unofficial but very helpful iPod/iTunes/MediaMonkey Hints

Post by Impulse »

This is probably something not specific to iPod synching but as I'm synching to my iPod Touch and I'm reading this (active) thread I figured I'd ask here before creating a new one... I just started using MediaMonkey Gold to manage my library after properly ripping nearly all my CDs to FLAC (w/EAC), so far I'm quite pleased, I was particularly interested in the Filters feature (and the Auto-Tagging which works great for Album Art, far better than iTunes or anything else I'd tried).

Anyway, I had MM convert all my FLAC files to MP3s and automatically place them in a different directory (which I'll be using to share within the household and to sync to my devices)... Now my question/problem lies when I go to the iPod plug-in (or any plug-in) and I try to configure the Music to sync. Inside the Sync config window, under the Music tab, when I enable a Filter (like say, the filter I've created to only show MP3s and no FLACs) it'll work within the Location Node but for some reason it's still showing all files within the Artist and Album nodes.

I'm not sure if this is a bug or if I'm simply missing something obvious... Any help? I'm seeing only my MP3s when I navigate down thru the Location Node (in fact the directory with the FLAC files doesn't even show up), but if I select an Album or Artist to sync it's adding all files in the library to the sync list (both the MP3 + FLAC files).

It's not a huge deal as I'm using a fairly organized Artist/Album directory structure, but it'd still be nice to be able to use those other two Album/Artist nodes within MM.
Impulse
Posts: 35
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2009 9:48 pm
Location: Puerto Rico
Contact:

Re: Unofficial but very helpful iPod/iTunes/MediaMonkey Hints

Post by Impulse »

Someone in anothre thread pointed out this article:

http://www.mediamonkey.com/support/inde ... ticleid=20

I guess it's working as intended, even though the way it (the filters) work within the Music/Sync tab is pretty confusing. Basically the filters there don't exclude tracks/files from the nodes as they do within the main MM interface, it'll exclude entire nodes that don't match the filter but if another node includes an attribute that matches one of those files it'll still add the file to the Sync list, thus circumventing the filter to a point.

Basically when I select my MP3 filter it excludes the directory that has only FLACs from the Location Node, but by selecting any Album within the Album node it's still selecting both the MP3 and the FLAC files, and that's working as intended. Can anyone think of a work-around for this?

I'm guessing the same thing would happen if I used a file path filter instead of a file type filter, the only other thing I can think of is excluding my FLACs from my library after they're tagged (as I use Foobar most of the time for playback), but that's a lousy solution. I'd rather just select stuff for sync using the Location Node exclusively instead (and my filter), which is not that bad since my Albums directories are organized pretty logically.
Herby007
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 11:40 am

Re: Unofficial but very helpful iPod/iTunes/MediaMonkey Hints

Post by Herby007 »

MAFi0Z0 wrote:
Friskus wrote:
I have tried to delete mm from the pc, and in stall all over again.

Now i get the message cannot load query data. Could not find condition ID: 207
I have almost the same but ID is - 209.
What can I do now?
I solved the same problem (which occurs after some 3.07 - 3.1beta - 3.07 installations/deinstallations):

1. deinstall
2. Look at the database path C:\Users\<user>\AppData\Local\MediaMonkey (at vista 64) - delete it manually
3. reinstall
Neil Parks
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 12:06 pm

Re: iTunes

Post by Neil Parks »

letsgoaz wrote:Is there a way to use MM with an ipod without dealing with iTunes? This has probably been asked but I can't find it anywhere
Personally, I use a combination of Media Monkey and Sharepod to manage the music and podcasts on my Ipod Nano.

MM fetches my favorite podcasts as well as Itunes does. I have tried several other "podcatchers" and none of them come close.

MM is good at ripping CD's. MM is also great for fixing up title, artist, and album info in MP3 files that I have acquired from various sources.

For copying files back and forth between the Ipod and my computer, I find Sharepod to be quick and easy. Sharepod resides on the Ipod, so it's always available to use with any PC that has Net 2.0 installed.

Using MM and Sharepod in this way I was able to rid my computer of the monstrosity that is Itunes.
Guest

Re: Unofficial but very helpful iPod/iTunes/MediaMonkey Hints

Post by Guest »

I have an IPod Touch that i loaded up with my music on Media Monkey but then foolishly let ITunes sync with it (I obvioulsy did not read this thread first). Now all the music files I had are no longer visible in either Media Monkey, ITunes or the IPod itself. However the disk space is still being used by them. I can't seem to find anyway to either make these files appear again or delete them. The only option I can see is to "erase all content and settings". Hopefully this isn't my only option. Please assist!
Impulse
Posts: 35
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2009 9:48 pm
Location: Puerto Rico
Contact:

Re: Unofficial but very helpful iPod/iTunes/MediaMonkey Hints

Post by Impulse »

Heya, I've worked around the issues I posted on previously in this thread... And the more I use MM the more I like it. I'm using a Smart Playlist now to sync new music to my device, with the occasional manual sync, and I use Auto-Sync only to sync the music and playlists that I know I always want to have on my iPod touch, the whole method works rather well. I still think the way Auto-Sync music selection is carried out could be improved a bit but anyway...

My only issue right now is the way MM seems to handle On-The-Go playlists... Ideally I'd rather MM not touch it at all, but whenever I do an Auto Sync it'll copy my current On-The-Go playlist to a regular playlist (named On The Go1) on the iPod, it'll clear out the On-The-Go playlist, and it'll copy that On The Go1 playlist to MM on my PC. It's a minor annoyance at worst, since generally I just use On-The-Go to add everything on the device and play it on Shuffle (unless I'm using the iPod at a party or something)... But I'd rather MM not touch it at all so I don't have to constantly re-add all songs to On The Go on the iPod and delete that On The Go1 playlist from my PC.

I noticed there's a 'Copy Playlists' option on Device Configuration tab, but that's greyed out... The iPod's On The Go playlist doesn't show up on the Playlist sync tab within MM obviously, and my MM-created playlists will copy just fine to the iPod.
Post Reply