different equalizers

Get answers about using the current release of MediaMonkey for Windows.

Moderator: Gurus

wallstreetwalker
Posts: 150
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 9:56 am

different equalizers

Post by wallstreetwalker »

equalizers, bah

just noticed there is a built in equalizer in MM too.

is there any difference between the equalizer of my soundcard
(i guess its from my soundcard or realtek thing AC97 it says, dunno)
and the built in equalizer in MM, which one is better? or is it all the same settings?


nag: stupid OS it's got everything built in, but nothing works properly so you have to install everything twice :evil:
PUNK IN DRUBLIC
rovingcowboy
Posts: 14163
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2003 7:57 am
Location: (Texas)
Contact:

Post by rovingcowboy »

if you can not turn off your onboard EQ then it must be needing to be on so it can be used as a preamp.

the only way to tell is to try and find its controls

and while there look for any mention of freq's that it uses.

and compair them to media monkey's EQ freq's

then just use media monkeys freq's that DON'T match the onborad's Eq.

and adjust your mm EQ to make your sound better.

if you can turn off your onboard then turn it off and check monkeys eq.

then turn monkeys eq off and test your on board eq that is the only way to find which is better.

i have a turtle beach sound card here. so i adjusted this winxp to match what the sound card eq did not have. and i adjusted the sound card and use both.

but on the win98 computer i don't have an sound card EQ, so i use the media monkey's EQ Presets.

it seems that any one that makes an Eq for the computer sound players.

always picks different freq's to put on their default Eq. so each one is either better or worse depending on your hearing of the different Freq's.

8)
roving cowboy / keith hall. My skins http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... =9&t=16724 for some help check on Monkey's helpful messages at http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... 4008#44008 MY SYSTEMS.1.Jukebox WinXp pro sp 3 version 3.5 gigabyte mb. 281 GHz amd athlon x2 240 built by me.) 2.WinXP pro sp3, vers 2.5.5 and vers 3.5 backup storage, shuttle 32a mb,734 MHz amd athlon put together by me.) 3.Dell demension, winxp pro sp3, mm3.5 spare jukebox.) 4.WinXp pro sp3, vers 3.5, dad's computer bought from computer store. )5. Samsung Galaxy A51 5G Android ) 6. amd a8-5600 apu 3.60ghz mm version 4 windows 7 pro bought from computer store.
wallstreetwalker
Posts: 150
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 9:56 am

Post by wallstreetwalker »

i will check this out and try to find the best settings.
the Hz things are different indeed.
now i use 2 equalizers and DFX, it's getting pretty rediculous :lol:

i was wondering if the equalizers need CPU and how much, otherwise i might try to find which one sounds best and turn the other off.

btw the soundcard software also has this setting that you can make the sound sound as if it is played in a forest or in a swimming pool and lots of other things.
WTF: who could possibly need that :o

thanks for the advice!
PUNK IN DRUBLIC
rovingcowboy
Posts: 14163
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2003 7:57 am
Location: (Texas)
Contact:

Post by rovingcowboy »

thats cool a forest makes it sound more like a live concert.

try the one for the stone room. makes it sound like a basement band.

its just different effects that make some midi songs and a few other formats sound better.

8)
roving cowboy / keith hall. My skins http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... =9&t=16724 for some help check on Monkey's helpful messages at http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... 4008#44008 MY SYSTEMS.1.Jukebox WinXp pro sp 3 version 3.5 gigabyte mb. 281 GHz amd athlon x2 240 built by me.) 2.WinXP pro sp3, vers 2.5.5 and vers 3.5 backup storage, shuttle 32a mb,734 MHz amd athlon put together by me.) 3.Dell demension, winxp pro sp3, mm3.5 spare jukebox.) 4.WinXp pro sp3, vers 3.5, dad's computer bought from computer store. )5. Samsung Galaxy A51 5G Android ) 6. amd a8-5600 apu 3.60ghz mm version 4 windows 7 pro bought from computer store.
wallstreetwalker
Posts: 150
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 9:56 am

Post by wallstreetwalker »

some songs sound scratched when using both equalizers, others don't.

+ when changing MM eq. settings sound stops for a second, whilst the onboard one keeps playing,
might be something that needs improvement.
PUNK IN DRUBLIC
rovingcowboy
Posts: 14163
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2003 7:57 am
Location: (Texas)
Contact:

Post by rovingcowboy »

that is just monkey updating the sound settings when you move them.

if the song sound bad using both then kill the onboard one if you can.

set monkeys up and use it.

8)
roving cowboy / keith hall. My skins http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... =9&t=16724 for some help check on Monkey's helpful messages at http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... 4008#44008 MY SYSTEMS.1.Jukebox WinXp pro sp 3 version 3.5 gigabyte mb. 281 GHz amd athlon x2 240 built by me.) 2.WinXP pro sp3, vers 2.5.5 and vers 3.5 backup storage, shuttle 32a mb,734 MHz amd athlon put together by me.) 3.Dell demension, winxp pro sp3, mm3.5 spare jukebox.) 4.WinXp pro sp3, vers 3.5, dad's computer bought from computer store. )5. Samsung Galaxy A51 5G Android ) 6. amd a8-5600 apu 3.60ghz mm version 4 windows 7 pro bought from computer store.
Post Reply