Delete and start over?

Get answers about using the current release of MediaMonkey for Windows.

Moderator: Gurus

Kupuna
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2010 5:15 pm

Delete and start over?

Post by Kupuna » Sun Jun 25, 2017 11:34 pm

I mistakenly scanned in a backup copy of my major MM database. I now have nearly 800 duplicate files. I've used the find duplicates command but problem is (for example) that some of my current db entries have been converted from m3p to m3a. They properly show up as duplicates, but I have to wade through choosing the "best" track in each case.
My plan is to delete the entire current database and then re-scan the most current stored db containing the tracks. I've read that I will lose certain data details, but compared to handling 800 duplicates one by one, this seems the cleanest way to go. Does anyone agree or have alternate tactics?
SECOND QUESTION:
Once I get the db back in shape, is there any command or add-on that would flag or prevent adding a duplicate track? Not after I've done it, but as I'm trying to load the track? Probably not, but it would be a great idea.

Stigg
Posts: 269
Joined: Wed May 18, 2011 7:56 pm

Re: Delete and start over?

Post by Stigg » Mon Jun 26, 2017 12:16 am

Enable the "Added" column, then sort by it by clicking on it so all the recently added tracks come together.
Then simply highlight and remove them.

Disable the "Added" column. :)

Lowlander
Posts: 47527
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Delete and start over?

Post by Lowlander » Mon Jun 26, 2017 11:35 am

You can also use the Location sub-node to delete files from the Backup location.

There is no option to prevent duplicates from being added on scanning. You can manage them afterwards: http://www.mediamonkey.com/support/inde ... ate-tracks
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

Post Reply