Can an auto-playlist be flaky?

Get answers about using the current release of MediaMonkey for Windows.

Moderator: Gurus

NWDreamer
Posts: 103
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2012 4:12 am

Can an auto-playlist be flaky?

Post by NWDreamer »

I'm finally starting to mass load music into MM again so I created a folder to put new music in and set MM to monitor that folder. I have a simple method to help determine what the newly imported music is (so I can completely prepare it the way I like before it gets lost with all the rest of the tracks). I use one of the custom tag fields and call it "Reviewed" then I have an auto-playlist for unreviewed tracks where the criteria is simply '"Reviewed" is unknown'. Since this isn't a pre-existing tag, it should always be unknown during the initial import and, therefore, should show up in the "Unreviewed" auto-playlist.

Well, last night I copied 60 artists with 75 albums to the new import folder (parent folder with artist names, child folders for each album which only contain 320 kbps .mp3 files and a folder.jpg for the cover image). Then I started up MM, hit <INS> and selected just the import folder. 57 of the 60 artists along with all their albums showed up in the Unreviewed auto-playlist. The other three I was able to find in the "Entire Library" along with their seven albums. Selecting these three and checking the Reviewed field showed that is was empty (null). So all I did was click on the Reviewed field checkbox (without doing anything with the field itself) and hit Ok, then went back to the Unreviewed auto-playlist and hit <F5> to refresh it. All three showed up.

In this particular case, it only cost me a little extra time once I realized there were artists missing, but I really count on this technique for those strange .mp3's where the tags are completely messed up and tracks could be created with any bizarre names for the artist, album or songs. Even before this current push to add more music, I already have a LOT of tracks so it's not easy at all to visually look through tens of thousands of tracks for a few weird ones (I should have over 300,000 tracks by the end of this import stage).

Any idea why this behavior is happening or, even more importantly, how to prevent it from occurring?

Thanks,

Craig

P.S., Almost forgot! For my purposes, the "Recently Added" auto-playlist doesn't really work for my purposes, and at least one of the missing artists didn't show up there until I selected the checkbox and hit OK. I didn't think to check the other two.
Craig B. (a.k.a., NW Dreamer - Gold MediaMonkey user.)
nohitter151
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: Can an auto-playlist be flaky?

Post by nohitter151 »

If you were to select the autoplaylist before all of the tracks had been added to the library (via file monitor) this could happen. The solution is, as you mentioned, just hit F5 and refresh the autoplaylist
MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.
NWDreamer
Posts: 103
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2012 4:12 am

Re: Can an auto-playlist be flaky?

Post by NWDreamer »

Actually, all files were imported before I opened the Unreviewed auto-playlist. I was working on the files in the auto-playlist (adding genres, correcting spelling, etc.) when I noticed the first artist that was missing. I hit <F5> to refresh the auto-playlist but it didn't bring in the missing artists, albums and tracks. Only after finding the missing artists in the Entire Library, selecting them and then checking the checkbox for the Reviewed field (and hitting Ok) did they show up (and only after another refresh).

[Edit - I'm importing another batch of 64 Artists and 90 Albums so we'll see what happens there.]
Craig B. (a.k.a., NW Dreamer - Gold MediaMonkey user.)
NWDreamer
Posts: 103
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2012 4:12 am

Re: Can an auto-playlist be flaky?

Post by NWDreamer »

The import has finished and, out of 64 artists, only 59 made it into the Unreviewed auto-playlist. I've only started looking into the first of the five that didn't show up and I can't get this one to have the Reviewed flag as unknown... This is getting a bit annoying.
Craig B. (a.k.a., NW Dreamer - Gold MediaMonkey user.)
NWDreamer
Posts: 103
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2012 4:12 am

Re: Can an auto-playlist be flaky?

Post by NWDreamer »

Followup...

Although I DO see the first of the missing artists in the Recently Added auto-playlist, I am completely unable to get it to show up in either an auto-playlist where '"Reviewed" is unknown' OR in one where '"Reviewed" is known'! I even tried changing the "Reviewed" field to a value of "FIX" and making a test auto-playlist that only looks for '"Reviewed" equal to "FIX"' and that didn't work either.

Then I changed the genre and the tracks suddenly started working like normal. I now remember that I also changed the genres on the missing artists from the first batch as well as checking the "Reviewed" field checkbox...

So, to summarize, apparently, sometimes the custom fields are not even looked at until one of the "normal" fields has been changed. I can't find any reason why the three from the first batch of 60 or the five from the second batch of 64 were selected to have this behavior. If I can, I'll post an update. Regardless, for my purposes this is frustrating.
Craig B. (a.k.a., NW Dreamer - Gold MediaMonkey user.)
Guest

Re: Can an auto-playlist be flaky?

Post by Guest »

Just a thought, does your "Music" collection include Classical as a criteria, if it doesn't then that might explain the missing items.

Because if any of the missing items contain "classic" in the genre the chances are it will go into the "classical collection".

Kevin
NWDreamer
Posts: 103
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2012 4:12 am

Re: Can an auto-playlist be flaky?

Post by NWDreamer »

An interesting thought, but my Classical collection only looks for "Classical" in the genre.

But, even so, they should still show up in an auto-playlist that looks for a custom field to be unknown...
Craig B. (a.k.a., NW Dreamer - Gold MediaMonkey user.)
nohitter151
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: Can an auto-playlist be flaky?

Post by nohitter151 »

NWDreamer wrote:An interesting thought, but my Classical collection only looks for "Classical" in the genre.

But, even so, they should still show up in an auto-playlist that looks for a custom field to be unknown...
Maybe the missing tracks don't show as unknown because there is a space character or something in the custom field? Really hard to say...
MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.
Lowlander
Posts: 49447
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Can an auto-playlist be flaky?

Post by Lowlander »

Did you set the AutoPlaylist to the correct Collection? For example if it looks in the Audiobooks Collection and the files belong to the Music Collection they won't show even if they match the Criteria. If you set it to Entire Library it will look for all files in the Library matching the set Criteria.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)
NWDreamer
Posts: 103
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2012 4:12 am

Re: Can an auto-playlist be flaky?

Post by NWDreamer »

Thanks for the replies!

@nohitter - This isn't the case. In fact, I created a test auto-playlist with the custom field as "known" (so I have both cases covered) and still the track doesn't show up.

@Lowlander - I have it set to the Entire Library.

I'm getting around this at the moment by using "Added < (hours ago) 2" and changing one of the standard tags (like Genre). Then these tracks show up in my normal "Unreviewed" auto-playlist. Fine for the current work I'm doing, but usually I only have time to import and might not review for days (or weeks). I guess I can just continue to change one standard tag...

Obviously I don't think this behavior is correct, but I've yet to see any real reason why the artists and albums being missed are the ones being missed (note that this has only happened to entire artists even if they have multiple albums - never an individual track).
Craig B. (a.k.a., NW Dreamer - Gold MediaMonkey user.)
nohitter151
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: Can an auto-playlist be flaky?

Post by nohitter151 »

If there really is a bug in this regard you should send your database to the devs whenever you notice some track(s) is/are missing from your playlist (obviously before doing whatever you do that fixes it). If they can reproduce the issue with your database file I'm sure they could figure out what's going wrong and fix the issue.

http://www.mediamonkey.com/support/
MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.
NWDreamer
Posts: 103
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2012 4:12 am

Re: Can an auto-playlist be flaky?

Post by NWDreamer »

Ok.
Craig B. (a.k.a., NW Dreamer - Gold MediaMonkey user.)
Lowlander
Posts: 49447
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Can an auto-playlist be flaky?

Post by Lowlander »

Have you tried File > Maintain Library with complete optimization checked to see if the problem resolves?
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)
NWDreamer
Posts: 103
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2012 4:12 am

Re: Can an auto-playlist be flaky?

Post by NWDreamer »

Lowlander wrote:Have you tried File > Maintain Library with complete optimization checked to see if the problem resolves?
Yes. I've optimized, rebooted, had Glary Utilities do it's checks and am currently defragging the hard drive so I haven't tried another batch yet. If it happens again, I'll look into how to get my database to your developers. Fortunately, it's still relatively small (75k tracks imported, 275k to go).
Craig B. (a.k.a., NW Dreamer - Gold MediaMonkey user.)
Post Reply