Some tracks greyed out and can't be updated

Get answers about using the current release of MediaMonkey for Windows.

Moderator: Gurus

therog1
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2012 11:30 pm

Some tracks greyed out and can't be updated

Post by therog1 »

Hi,
My apologies if there is already a question about this but I wasn't sure how to search for it so I'm asking.

Some of my tracks in MM are greyed out and I can't re-add them. These are tracks which play with no problems in other players and haven't been moved at all so I don't understand why they won't play. I've tried everything I can think of to get them back into MM but no luck.


Info which may or may not help:
~ I've tried deleting the database and rescanning. No luck
~ They mainly seem to be tracks which I have synced to my phone. However like I said, they haven't been moved from their location and they still play in other players.
~ I've had a look at: http://www.mediamonkey.com/support/inde ... ticleid=94 but the only thing I think it could be is my new computer (ie not having moved the files to the new drive properly). I'm not sure if that's it though because it's only a few tracks randomly spread throughout my collection which can't be found.

Any suggestions?

[edit] I should mention I'm running MM 4.0.7 Gold
Also tried updating drive ID number as detailed here: http://www.plasticsun.com/GiantInternat ... wDrive.htm but again no luck.
Lowlander
Posts: 49082
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Some tracks greyed out and can't be updated

Post by Lowlander »

What Path is shown in MediaMonkey for the greyed out files?
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)
therog1
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2012 11:30 pm

Re: Some tracks greyed out and can't be updated

Post by therog1 »

Lowlander wrote:What Path is shown in MediaMonkey for the greyed out files?
It shows the correct path for the files.
I also think most of the files are .wma's but I have other .wma's which play just fine
dannyno
Posts: 70
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 2:27 pm

Re: Some tracks greyed out and can't be updated

Post by dannyno »

When you say you can't add them back, what do you mean? What process do you follow to try and do that, and what happens instead?

Are you removing/deleting the greyed out tracks and then adding/rescanning from the drive, or doing something else?

Have you checked tools > options > library for criteria that might lead to the files being ignored?
rovingcowboy
Posts: 14163
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2003 7:57 am
Location: (Texas)
Contact:

Re: Some tracks greyed out and can't be updated

Post by rovingcowboy »

Mediamonkey will not re add songs he knows about unless the path has changed or the time stamp of songs last edit session was changed. So he is seeing the songs you have and knows them but the location for them is not marked proper in his database, so he grays them out.

If moving them to new folder does not re add them to database then delete them from library and re scan them like dannyno is suggesting they should be done. If still not being added then you might want to go in to windows explorer's folder for the songs and rename them to the same file name they already are, in doing the retyping of the name you change the time stamp and that treats them as new songs. Which should get them to scan in to the database then.
roving cowboy / keith hall. My skins http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... =9&t=16724 for some help check on Monkey's helpful messages at http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... 4008#44008 MY SYSTEMS.1.Jukebox WinXp pro sp 3 version 3.5 gigabyte mb. 281 GHz amd athlon x2 240 built by me.) 2.WinXP pro sp3, vers 2.5.5 and vers 3.5 backup storage, shuttle 32a mb,734 MHz amd athlon put together by me.) 3.Dell demension, winxp pro sp3, mm3.5 spare jukebox.) 4.WinXp pro sp3, vers 3.5, dad's computer bought from computer store. )5. Samsung Galaxy A51 5G Android ) 6. amd a8-5600 apu 3.60ghz mm version 4 windows 7 pro bought from computer store.
Lowlander
Posts: 49082
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Some tracks greyed out and can't be updated

Post by Lowlander »

Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)
therog1
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2012 11:30 pm

Re: Some tracks greyed out and can't be updated

Post by therog1 »

dannyno wrote:When you say you can't add them back, what do you mean? What process do you follow to try and do that, and what happens instead?

Are you removing/deleting the greyed out tracks and then adding/rescanning from the drive, or doing something else?

Have you checked tools > options > library for criteria that might lead to the files being ignored?
I've tried "Add/rescan files to the library...", "Locate moved/missing files...", tried manually deleting them from the library and adding them again manually. I've also tried "playing" them from Windows Explorer but nothing works.

I just checked tools > options > library and there's nothing there that would make them be ignored.
If moving them to new folder does not re add them to database then delete them from library and re scan them like dannyno is suggesting they should be done. If still not being added then you might want to go in to windows explorer's folder for the songs and rename them to the same file name they already are, in doing the retyping of the name you change the time stamp and that treats them as new songs. Which should get them to scan in to the database then.
I tried moving them to another folder. They were immediately added but still wouldn't play. I also tried retyping the name but that didn't help either.
If they're WMA they may have DRM: http://www.mediamonkey.com/support/inde ... icleid=117
Could be but I've never had problems with them before? How would I check if they have DRM?

Thank you all for all your help!
rovingcowboy
Posts: 14163
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2003 7:57 am
Location: (Texas)
Contact:

Re: Some tracks greyed out and can't be updated

Post by rovingcowboy »

Can you select them in mediamonkey from the folder they just scaned in to,? If so see if you can convert them to wav files, if not then use winamp or other player that will play them. And use audacity editor to record them as new wav file. Then export that wav file from audacity to an folder and then scan them in to mm and ue mm to convert them to mp3's. That is only way to get them to play in mm. It also makes them non-drm since they are not files made by whom ever added the drm in the first place, but you have right to hear songs you bought so if they get messed up then this is needed to be done. Also some time back the store sites started requireing people to play the songs once while still at the download page, so the lic for the song would download. If you didnt do that then try going bck to site and playing them again on that site in internet explorer, if not working then try and contact the store and tell them what you did, they might have way to send you the lic for the songs.
roving cowboy / keith hall. My skins http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... =9&t=16724 for some help check on Monkey's helpful messages at http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... 4008#44008 MY SYSTEMS.1.Jukebox WinXp pro sp 3 version 3.5 gigabyte mb. 281 GHz amd athlon x2 240 built by me.) 2.WinXP pro sp3, vers 2.5.5 and vers 3.5 backup storage, shuttle 32a mb,734 MHz amd athlon put together by me.) 3.Dell demension, winxp pro sp3, mm3.5 spare jukebox.) 4.WinXp pro sp3, vers 3.5, dad's computer bought from computer store. )5. Samsung Galaxy A51 5G Android ) 6. amd a8-5600 apu 3.60ghz mm version 4 windows 7 pro bought from computer store.
therog1
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2012 11:30 pm

Re: Some tracks greyed out and can't be updated

Post by therog1 »

Lowlander wrote:If they're WMA they may have DRM: http://www.mediamonkey.com/support/inde ... icleid=117
Thanks again for your suggestions everyone. It seems that despite these songs telling me their DRM free, they are actually lying! So I'll try and work out a way around that.
rovingcowboy
Posts: 14163
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2003 7:57 am
Location: (Texas)
Contact:

Re: Some tracks greyed out and can't be updated

Post by rovingcowboy »

Only way is as i said above,

1 play in player that will play them.
2 at same time use audacity to record a new wav file of the song.
3 export that new wav file to folder and scan in to mm then convert to format of your choice.

That is legal to do if you bought the songs it is making one copy to keep in use and not have orignal destroyed.

But only one copy of it.
roving cowboy / keith hall. My skins http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... =9&t=16724 for some help check on Monkey's helpful messages at http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... 4008#44008 MY SYSTEMS.1.Jukebox WinXp pro sp 3 version 3.5 gigabyte mb. 281 GHz amd athlon x2 240 built by me.) 2.WinXP pro sp3, vers 2.5.5 and vers 3.5 backup storage, shuttle 32a mb,734 MHz amd athlon put together by me.) 3.Dell demension, winxp pro sp3, mm3.5 spare jukebox.) 4.WinXp pro sp3, vers 3.5, dad's computer bought from computer store. )5. Samsung Galaxy A51 5G Android ) 6. amd a8-5600 apu 3.60ghz mm version 4 windows 7 pro bought from computer store.
Post Reply