tagging problem : various artists in stead of name

Get answers about using the current release of MediaMonkey for Windows.

Moderator: Gurus

slyr

tagging problem : various artists in stead of name

Post by slyr »

i have the punk o rama collection, the files are named like this
07 - Randy - Addicts of Communication.mp3
but the artist is named various artists (like the album artist),

i'm pretty sure something like this has already been asked, but i can't really find it. (sorry)

but how can i make Randy the artist ? in an easy way?

thanks alot
trixmoto
Posts: 10024
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2005 3:28 am
Location: Hull, UK
Contact:

Post by trixmoto »

I think there's a script that allows you to copy them.

Failing that, "Tag from filename" using the following mask: <Track#> - <Artist> - <Title>
Download my scripts at my own MediaMonkey fansite.
All the code for my website and scripts is safely backed up immediately and for free using Dropbox.
slyr

solved

Post by slyr »

i doesn't seem to work with tag and rename, it stayed various artists,
but i could do it wit tag and rename
http://www.softpointer.com/tr.htm (trial version)
http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... tag+rename

but i don't understand why MM couldn't do it, must have been something wrong ??
Is it possible that it has something to do with space between artitst and - ?? anyway, it's tagged :lol:
Lowlander
Posts: 48701
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Post by Lowlander »

Use auto-tag from filename in MM. In the new window you can create a mask that would write the artist to the artist field. Again make sure that you write updates directly to tags (in options) and that files are not read-only.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)
wallstreetwalker
Posts: 150
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 9:56 am

it works now

Post by wallstreetwalker »

i think you really have to click the buttons bellow (so artists field becomes yellow), i just typed the tags, but they didn't became yellow,
that might have been the problem

dada, slyr aka wallstreetwalker
PUNK IN DRUBLIC
Lowlander
Posts: 48701
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Post by Lowlander »

You can type it, but you have to write it correct with <> and the correct spaces as well.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)
wallstreetwalker
Posts: 150
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 9:56 am

it is ok

Post by wallstreetwalker »

yeah, but i copied it from a post, but i 've already tried some other files, and it does work :D , already deleted that trial program again ...
PUNK IN DRUBLIC
Post Reply