Auto-Organize not working

Get answers about using the current release of MediaMonkey for Windows.

Moderator: Gurus

Dabog
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2009 12:29 pm

Auto-Organize not working

Post by Dabog »

Hi there

For some reason, my auto-organize seems to not be working. When I try to organize an album or even one song, a message pops up saying:

An error occured while moving file: C:\x to C:\y (obviously x and y are examples..) Do you want to try again?

I have tried reinstalling MM from scratch, and there are no unusual characters in my organizing path. Does anyone have any ideas? Thanks
Mizery_Made
Posts: 2283
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 1:09 pm
Location: Kansas City, Missouri, United States

Re: Auto-Organize not working

Post by Mizery_Made »

Are X or Y hidden or System folders (such as a user accounts Documents, while you're on an account without Admin rights)?
Dabog
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2009 12:29 pm

Re: Auto-Organize not working

Post by Dabog »

Nope, the folder im moving the music from is My Documents -> Downloads. Im moving the files to My Documents -> My Music

And I have admin rights.
rovingcowboy
Posts: 14163
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2003 7:57 am
Location: (Texas)
Contact:

Re: Auto-Organize not working

Post by rovingcowboy »

sync your tags to the songs first see if that fixes your error :)
roving cowboy / keith hall. My skins http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... =9&t=16724 for some help check on Monkey's helpful messages at http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... 4008#44008 MY SYSTEMS.1.Jukebox WinXp pro sp 3 version 3.5 gigabyte mb. 281 GHz amd athlon x2 240 built by me.) 2.WinXP pro sp3, vers 2.5.5 and vers 3.5 backup storage, shuttle 32a mb,734 MHz amd athlon put together by me.) 3.Dell demension, winxp pro sp3, mm3.5 spare jukebox.) 4.WinXp pro sp3, vers 3.5, dad's computer bought from computer store. )5. Samsung Galaxy A51 5G Android ) 6. amd a8-5600 apu 3.60ghz mm version 4 windows 7 pro bought from computer store.
Guest

Re: Auto-Organize not working

Post by Guest »

Sorry to sound like an idiot, but how would I go about that?
monkey hi fi

Re: Auto-Organize not working

Post by monkey hi fi »

select all the songs in the listview area.
go to tools menu and click on advanced tag management. then click on sync database. :D

rovingcowboy/ keith hall / monkey hi fi
Dabog
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2009 12:29 pm

Re: Auto-Organize not working

Post by Dabog »

Just finished syncing tags, tried it again, still no luck. :-?
Eyal
Posts: 3114
Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2005 9:27 am
Location: Québec

Re: Auto-Organize not working

Post by Eyal »

You might have an error in your mask. What is the auto-organize mask you use?
Skins for MediaMonkey: Cafe, Carbon, Helium, Spotify, Zekton. [ Wiki Zone ].
Dabog
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2009 12:29 pm

Re: Auto-Organize not working

Post by Dabog »

My mask is:

Main Directory: C:\Documents and Settings\User\My Documents\My Music\

Subdirectories: <Artist>\<Album>

Filename: <Track#> - <Title>
Eyal
Posts: 3114
Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2005 9:27 am
Location: Québec

Re: Auto-Organize not working

Post by Eyal »

Dabog wrote:Main Directory: C:\Documents and Settings\User\My Documents\My Music\
Is "User" as is? Or is it your window login name, ie does this directory exist?
I suspect C:\Documents and Settings\ to be a system directory with specific rights granted to users by the system.
Skins for MediaMonkey: Cafe, Carbon, Helium, Spotify, Zekton. [ Wiki Zone ].
Guest

Re: Auto-Organize not working

Post by Guest »

Nah the username is dave, and its the only user on the pc, and i have admin rights etc...
Mizery_Made
Posts: 2283
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 1:09 pm
Location: Kansas City, Missouri, United States

Re: Auto-Organize not working

Post by Mizery_Made »

XP (as I suspect) or Vista?
DGizyn

Re: Auto-Organize not working

Post by DGizyn »

I aswell am having this problem, the tags are not being properly inputted, as its trying to save the files or move them and rename as <artist>-<title>.mp3 for me..
DGizyn

Re: Auto-Organize not working

Post by DGizyn »

Found out why it wasn't working for me.


Under Options-> General

user friendly masks, needs to be checked in order for the <?????> masks to work on organizer.
Dabog
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2009 12:29 pm

Re: Auto-Organize not working

Post by Dabog »

@Mizery_Made:

Yeah I'm on XP .
Post Reply