ASIO with Asus Xonar Essence STX

Get answers about using MediaMonkey 4 for Windows.

Moderator: Gurus

perryoops

ASIO with Asus Xonar Essence STX

Post by perryoops »

I'm a newbie starting to play music server and had bought Asus xonar Essence STX sound card to play with Media Monkey
I've download and installed OUT_ASIO_full.dll from the web and it works fine, but what confuses me are

1) Xonar Essence STX also has its own ASIO? am I right? .......I saw it in the drop-down list, so should it sounds better instead of choosing ASIO?
2) I've difficulties setting up [ASIO Output Setting] page, anyone can guide me this? for example, do I have to make a tick at "Resampling"??
3) How can I know what's my file sampling rates are while playing? Can I force out every file to 24/192?
thanks
abhiroopb

Re: ASIO with Asus Xonar Essence STX

Post by abhiroopb »

I have similar queries.

I just installed the DLL and not sure what I should be doing to receive the "best" possible sound.

Space Audio 2.0 Satellite Speakers
JBL Power20 Amplifier
KOK Subwoofer - 16Hz - 160Hz, 6.5", 30W (RMS) 60W (Max)\
Sound Card – Asus Xonar Essence STX
MediaMonkey v3.2

I have no idea what ASIO is and how it works, so any help would be appreciated!
Peke

Post by Peke »

ASIO works so that output format is the same as Input format to avoid quality loss. In windows Vista and 7 WASAPI is successor of ASIO and Microsoft way of improving Direct Sound (DirectX Sound) output which is handled by driver.

Simply said ASIO and WASAPI should send non-changed Audio stream directly to sound card that passes it then to DAC (at least that is how I understand that) so no quality is lost.
Best regards,
Peke
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
How to attach PICTURE/SCREENSHOTS to forum posts
abhiroopb

Post by abhiroopb »

Thanks for the response!