Can you change the default tag lookup site?

Get answers about using the current release of MediaMonkey for Windows.

Moderator: Gurus

steviegt
Posts: 311
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2009 8:39 am

Can you change the default tag lookup site?

Post by steviegt »

I want to change the default lookup site to Amazon.com (or something else). I want it to go there automatically instead of Fredb. I also want it to appear in the menu? How do you do this?
MMW Gold Lifetime v4.1.21.11875
MM Pro Android v1.3.2.0824
Windows Home 10.0.17134.228 64-bit Build 1803
MS Edge


Next to MediaMonkey, the best program available: Total Commander http://www.ghisler.com/

"Being mean to someone takes more effort than being nice to them"
nohitter151
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: Can you change the default tag lookup site?

Post by nohitter151 »

The default tag lookup is already Amazon.com
MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.
steviegt
Posts: 311
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2009 8:39 am

Re: Can you change the default tag lookup site?

Post by steviegt »

I don't understand. Is this shown/selected in a hidden place? Why does my Tools menu show Freedb?
MMW Gold Lifetime v4.1.21.11875
MM Pro Android v1.3.2.0824
Windows Home 10.0.17134.228 64-bit Build 1803
MS Edge


Next to MediaMonkey, the best program available: Total Commander http://www.ghisler.com/

"Being mean to someone takes more effort than being nice to them"
nohitter151
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: Can you change the default tag lookup site?

Post by nohitter151 »

FreeDB is for lookup of CD information. Auto-tag from web looks up track info via amazon by default.
MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.
steviegt
Posts: 311
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2009 8:39 am

Re: Can you change the default tag lookup site?

Post by steviegt »

I stand corrected. How do I change the CD lookup default?
MMW Gold Lifetime v4.1.21.11875
MM Pro Android v1.3.2.0824
Windows Home 10.0.17134.228 64-bit Build 1803
MS Edge


Next to MediaMonkey, the best program available: Total Commander http://www.ghisler.com/

"Being mean to someone takes more effort than being nice to them"
nohitter151
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: Can you change the default tag lookup site?

Post by nohitter151 »

Tools | Options | Network

You can use musicbrainz instead of freedb with the following settings:

Protocol: http
Server name: freedb.musicbrainz.org

Other fields empty

I don't think there's any way to get Amazon as a source though, and I'm not aware of any other options besides freedb and musicbrainz.
MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.
steviegt
Posts: 311
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2009 8:39 am

Re: Can you change the default tag lookup site?

Post by steviegt »

You're the man! Thanks. (If you're not a guy.... You the woman!)
MMW Gold Lifetime v4.1.21.11875
MM Pro Android v1.3.2.0824
Windows Home 10.0.17134.228 64-bit Build 1803
MS Edge


Next to MediaMonkey, the best program available: Total Commander http://www.ghisler.com/

"Being mean to someone takes more effort than being nice to them"
Germo
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2009 8:52 am

Re: Can you change the default tag lookup site?

Post by Germo »

in mp3tag I can use freedb lookup without CD: if the tracks are in the right order and I mark them, from this tracks a freedb ID is generated.
Next problem: MM doesn't reread information from the changed tracks if I use the add/refresh command.
So I must use mp3tag (because MM is not able to use freedb this way), then I have do delete the tracks in MM from the archive, then I have to add them again. And only now I have the tags from freedb in the archiv.

My feature requests:
- a more easy way to get the information directly from freedb from inside MM without CD
- a way to force refreshing of track information (tags) without deleting tracks from archive and adding tracks back to archive.
steviegt
Posts: 311
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2009 8:39 am

Re: Can you change the default tag lookup site?

Post by steviegt »

I second the motion. I also use mp3tag for the same reasons.
MMW Gold Lifetime v4.1.21.11875
MM Pro Android v1.3.2.0824
Windows Home 10.0.17134.228 64-bit Build 1803
MS Edge


Next to MediaMonkey, the best program available: Total Commander http://www.ghisler.com/

"Being mean to someone takes more effort than being nice to them"
nohitter151
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: Can you change the default tag lookup site?

Post by nohitter151 »

1. I think that amazon (and other available sources) are much more valuable than freedb, personally:
http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... ag#p195396

2. MM should read information from tags by rescanning them (File | Add/rescan...)

3. Feature requests should be made in the wishlist section, though I don't really feel that your features are warranted. The first is debatable (freedb is an unreliable source of track info at best, and better alternatives such as musicbrainz are already available, see link above. Your second request isn't valid because that feature already exists in MM!)
MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.
steviegt
Posts: 311
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2009 8:39 am

Re: Can you change the default tag lookup site?

Post by steviegt »

What happens for me is if I use mp3tag and add/update a tag and rename the filename, after I add/rescan in MM I know have a dead link for each of those files. I then have to delete the dead links. I've been using and I really like the Yahoo tagger.
Last edited by steviegt on Fri Apr 10, 2009 9:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.
MMW Gold Lifetime v4.1.21.11875
MM Pro Android v1.3.2.0824
Windows Home 10.0.17134.228 64-bit Build 1803
MS Edge


Next to MediaMonkey, the best program available: Total Commander http://www.ghisler.com/

"Being mean to someone takes more effort than being nice to them"
Germo
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2009 8:52 am

Re: Can you change the default tag lookup site?

Post by Germo »

nohitter151 wrote: 2. MM should read information from tags by rescanning them (File | Add/rescan...)
But it doesn't work as need. OK, it's not e feature request, but a bug report:
bug: Add/rescan doesn't allways rescan changed tag information
aspected: it should detect all tag changes

about freedb vs. amazon or musicbrainz:
of course I installed the musicbrainz plugin. But often the musicbrainz has no information where freedb founds my CDs.
I mean: freedb founds the information when ripping, but after ripping musicbrainz doesn't find this CDs.

And freedb can also find some information if I have only the files but not the CD and if there is not enough information for musicbrainz.

in other words: there are a lot of situations where Amazon or musicbrainz have no information, and in this situation it's better to have lower quality freedb information then no information.
Another problem with amazon database is missing support (or less support) for non latin titles, for example for russian songs.
RifRaf
Posts: 117
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 9:51 pm

Re: Can you change the default tag lookup site?

Post by RifRaf »

there are a lot of situations where Amazon or musicbrainz have no information, and in this situation it's better to have lower quality freedb information then no information.
while you probably cannot add to amazon you are encouraged to add to the musicbrainz database. may seem like a drag at first but once you add the albums you have ripped the album will be found next time you need to update your tags using musicbrainz, and it helps everyone else with the same album. since you also have the cd/cover handy it makes it easy to enter correct data quickly.
nohitter151
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: Can you change the default tag lookup site?

Post by nohitter151 »

Germo wrote:
nohitter151 wrote: 2. MM should read information from tags by rescanning them (File | Add/rescan...)
But it doesn't work as need. OK, it's not e feature request, but a bug report:
bug: Add/rescan doesn't allways rescan changed tag information
aspected: it should detect all tag changes
It works fine here.
steviegt wrote:What happens for me is if I use mp3tag and add/update a tag and rename the filename, after I add/rescan in MM I know have a dead link for each of those files. I then have to delete the dead links.
Then you must have mp3 tagger changing the filename as you tag.
MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.
bonzi
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2009 7:12 am
Location: Zagreb, Croatia

Re: Can you change the default tag lookup site?

Post by bonzi »

Germo wrote:My feature requests:
- a more easy way to get the information directly from freedb from inside MM without CD
- a way to force refreshing of track information (tags) without deleting tracks from archive and adding tracks back to archive.
As already said elsewhere, your second wish is already granted :) Make sure that you configure properly Add/Rescan options. In particular, check "Update track info...." and uncheck "Only for files with changed timestamp or size", because external taggers (some of them, anyway) will not change these if there is enough room for new tags.
Bonzi
Zagreb, Croatia
Post Reply