Bugs/Requests (Media Buttons, Music Listing) [#14240]

Post a reply


In an effort to prevent automatic submissions, we require that you complete the following challenge.
Smilies
:D :) :( :o :-? 8) :lol: :x :P :oops: :cry: :evil: :roll: :wink:

BBCode is ON
[img] is ON
[flash] is OFF
[url] is ON
Smilies are ON

Topic review
   

Expand view Topic review: Bugs/Requests (Media Buttons, Music Listing) [#14240]

Re: Multiple Bugs/Requests (Media Buttons, Music Listing)

by malkierian » Tue May 23, 2017 2:25 pm

Ooh, new tech XD. I actually would be OK with keeping the MT stuff in place as it is, as it allows me to handle MM5 through a lot more programs than I normally would (like, as I've mentioned many times before, Flash games and Fallout 4). Should probably have an option and explanation for it somewhere, though, and it would be really nice if you could figure out why it doesn't always either play or pause when hitting the Play/Pause media button. That track restart, though trivial and easy to work around, can be annoying at times.

Re: Multiple Bugs/Requests (Media Buttons, Music Listing)

by Ludek » Tue May 23, 2017 2:14 pm

Thank you! It shed light on it, it seems that Windows 10's MediaTransferControls interface (that we introduced recently) is sending it.
We are looking into it, thanks so far.

Workaround is to remove MediaMonkeyMT.dll , but then the Media Transfer buttons won't work too.

Tracking as http://www.ventismedia.com/mantis/view.php?id=14240

Re: Multiple Bugs/Requests (Media Buttons, Music Listing)

by malkierian » Tue May 23, 2017 12:49 pm

Here you go, hope this helps:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/pkj7e4zu3o8e8 ... 1.log?dl=0

I've never had anything manage to get those command through a Flash game before, though. I didn't think anything could.

Re: Multiple Bugs/Requests (Media Buttons, Music Listing)

by Ludek » Tue May 23, 2017 7:21 am

Ahh, ok, I see.

Based on your logs something is performing the player actions (but not as a consequence of the hotkey action).

Probably a winamp message or a third party addon is sending these commands to MM5.
To find more I had to add more debug messages, please generate new dbgview1.log -- i.e. without the hotkeys registered, but with the updated MediaMonkeyEngine.exe here: https://www.dropbox.com/s/hf7q8mu40hv9m ... e.exe?dl=0

Thanks!

Re: Multiple Bugs/Requests (Media Buttons, Music Listing)

by malkierian » Mon May 22, 2017 10:39 pm

Peke wrote:Try to install ftp://ftp.dell.com/input/R42232.exe ?
That doesn't seem to have done anything.

Re: Multiple Bugs/Requests (Media Buttons, Music Listing)

by Peke » Mon May 22, 2017 5:42 pm

Re: Multiple Bugs/Requests (Media Buttons, Music Listing)

by malkierian » Mon May 22, 2017 4:46 pm

The problem is just as described in the initial post. I shouldn't have been able to control MM5 at all in the first log, because the media buttons weren't registered as hotkeys. and yet, it still does the play, restart, pause cycle. Restarting the song shouldn't be part of that cycle, regardless of whether the media buttons are registered hotkeys or not. But then, when I went and registered the media buttons as the appropriate hotkeys, they ALL start double-processing. That's what the third log was recording. If you look at line 93 of dbgview3.log, I think that's where the double-process was registered. That was only one button press, and yet it was shown as twice.

Re: Multiple Bugs/Requests (Media Buttons, Music Listing)

by Ludek » Mon May 22, 2017 3:58 pm

malkierian wrote: And for the last log (dbgview3.log), I started it again with playback paused, but kept the media buttons as the registered hotkeys (as set for the previous log), and hit play/pause twice, next once, previous once, and then play/pause again.
I see, but in the log it shows that it proceeded as expected:
- first play/pause started playback of "01 Second Chapter.mp3"
- second play/pause paused the track
- next started playback of "02 Principles Of Lust [(A) Sadeness,.mp3"
- previous played again "01 Second Chapter.mp3"
- play/pause paused "01 Second Chapter.mp3"

All steps were performed as expected (based on the log), could you please describe what is the issue?

Re: Multiple Bugs/Requests (Media Buttons, Music Listing)

by malkierian » Mon May 22, 2017 2:41 pm

Ludek wrote:Re Media buttons: Could you please replace your current MediaMonkeyEngine.exe by this one https://www.dropbox.com/s/hf7q8mu40hv9m ... e.exe?dl=0
and generate debug log (step 4b here: http://forum.mediamonkey.com/viewtopic.php?f=30&t=86643) ?

Thanks.
Well, I had to let it finish inserting album art into the new database (lots of SQL insert statements on the Covers table), however, once it was done, this is what I did:

For the first log (dbgview1.log), I started it with playback paused, and didn't have any media keys referenced in the hotkeys options. I hit play/pause twice (once to play, once to restart), next, previous, and play/pause again (to pause).

For the second log (dbgview2.log), I started it with the hotkeys window open, and recorded what happened when I set Play/Pause, Next, and Previous to the corresponding media buttons.

And for the last log (dbgview3.log), I started it again with playback paused, but kept the media buttons as the registered hotkeys (as set for the previous log), and hit play/pause twice, next once, previous once, and then play/pause again.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/opejas113qtaj ... s.zip?dl=0

Don't know if you needed all of that or not, but I figured I'd cover everything that I could think of in the first go.

Re: Multiple Bugs/Requests (Media Buttons, Music Listing)

by Ludek » Mon May 22, 2017 10:15 am

Re Media buttons: Could you please replace your current MediaMonkeyEngine.exe by this one https://www.dropbox.com/s/hf7q8mu40hv9m ... e.exe?dl=0
and generate debug log (step 4b here: http://forum.mediamonkey.com/viewtopic.php?f=30&t=86643) ?

Thanks.

Re: Multiple Bugs/Requests (Media Buttons, Music Listing)

by PetrCBR » Fri May 19, 2017 2:15 pm

Ahh i see ... will check and fix it ... thanks for your feedback ;-)

Re: Multiple Bugs/Requests (Media Buttons, Music Listing)

by malkierian » Fri May 19, 2017 1:54 pm

Lowlander wrote:
malkierian wrote:So I didn't know whether I should post a separate thread for each thing or lump them all together, but I figured the safer bet would be to do them all in one first.
When id doubt read the forum rules: http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... =1&t=40381 separate and in existing topics if they exist.
Noted. They'll be separate from now on. As long as you guys don't mind having three or four new threads from me at a time, as bugs seem to come around in groups, not one at a time...

Re: Multiple Bugs/Requests (Media Buttons, Music Listing)

by Lowlander » Fri May 19, 2017 1:45 pm

malkierian wrote:So I didn't know whether I should post a separate thread for each thing or lump them all together, but I figured the safer bet would be to do them all in one first.
When in doubt read the forum rules: http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... =1&t=40381 separate and in existing topics if they exist.

Re: Multiple Bugs/Requests (Media Buttons, Music Listing)

by malkierian » Fri May 19, 2017 1:03 pm

Sorry, the maximized issue seems to have been resolved, and I can now give more details as to the problem with remembering the monitor it was on. It seems to be a problem of the current monitor not getting saved if you go from maximized on one monitor to maximized on the other without closing MM5 in between. If I have MM5 maximized on the one monitor and bring it over to the other, in any manner (keyboard shortcuts, mouse click and drag, etc), and then immediately maximize the window and close it then, it doesn't remember the monitor change, and opens up on the previous monitor. But if I bring it over to the other monitor without maximizing it, restart it, and THEN maximize it, it will then remember the monitor change. I have to repeat the process to make it maximized on the old monitor again.

Also, seeing as how people seem to not want to approve my multi-posts, I'll add what I was going to say in here instead. I figured out, regarding the media button issues, that if I remove all references to media buttons from the Hotkeys window (meaning no hotkeys are registered to a media button), then the behavior returns to the way it was while playing Fallout 4 or a Flash game (i.e. the play, restart, pause loop), so hopefully that will help you debug that problem.

Re: Multiple Bugs/Requests (Media Buttons, Music Listing)

by PetrCBR » Fri May 19, 2017 8:57 am

malkierian wrote:Second request: proper multi-monitor/desktop support. MM4, at least, got the opening to previous monitor right, even though the overlays were on the primary monitor only, but MM5 doesn't even retain whether it was maximized. Is this because it's a portable installation, or just not implemented yet?
Along with those, also in multi-monitor support would be having options windows open on the same monitor that the player is on, and having notifications (the play/pause and song info popups) appear on the same monitor the program resides on would be great, too.
Hi.
Windows are always opened at same position and state as where it was closed. Only window i see always shown on main screen (even when main window is on different monitor) is track info window when new track is starting to play. Even maximize state is restored correctly (for main window and other dialogs ... just tested). So it's a bug if it does not work correctly for you ... can you send me your persistent.json with some details (correct position and state etc.) at petr att mediamonkey dott com ?

Top