Import/Create Playlist From Spotify

Get answers about using MediaMonkey 4 for Windows.

Moderator: Gurus

fisklingur

Import/Create Playlist From Spotify

Post by fisklingur »

Hello, I'm a MediaMonkey newbie so please bear with me.

I was wondering if there's a way to import playlist data from Spotify (or from a CSV/text file) and create a playlist in MM from that, using audio files I already have in my library.

My friends and I like to share playlists but they use Spotify and I use MM, so though we have the same CDs/music files, it's still very tedious as I need to create the playlists manually. I feel like the importing/creation of playlists should be possible automatically, it's 2020 already!

Thanks in advance for any help!
Peke

Re: Import/Create Playlist From Spotify

Post by Peke »

Hi,
Unfortunately, Spotify is a bit closed app and we have not familiar with their Playlist format.

MediaMonkey on other hand uses standard M3U (or UTF-8 M3U8) playlist format that if you all have same files and on same location it is easy to share and add to MediaMonkey. eg.:
1. Export M3U playlist by selectiong Tracks -> Right click -> Send To -> M3U playlist
2. Drag and Drop Save playlist to a preferred Chat application (It should send/share the file, I tested on Skype, Viber and Messenger and it works)
3. Friend opens file in MMW or Drag saved it to Player on Open MMW window and it should play the tracks.

Only downside is that paths to files should be same eg. "c:\Shared Music\Now That's What I Call Music 67\20. Akon; Snoop Dogg - I Wanna Love You.flac" and you are ready to go.
Best regards,
Peke
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
How to attach PICTURE/SCREENSHOTS to forum posts
fisklingur

Post by fisklingur »

Hi, Thank you so much for your reply.