Page 3 of 6

Re: Randomise Playlist 1.1 [MM2+3]

Posted: Sat Dec 12, 2009 7:28 pm
by nynaevelan
I'm not sure but I would close MM, delete the Randomise.vbs and delete the entry from the script.ini. Then re-open MM and re-install the script to see if it installs correctly. Also, try rebooting the computer, maybe that has something to do with it. Does any other scripts cause these kinds of problems??

Re: Randomise Playlist 1.1 [MM2+3]

Posted: Tue Feb 23, 2010 12:47 pm
by aulb89
Thank you, trixmoto, for your hard work in creating your scripts!

The Randomise script is fantastic, but I have a question. Is there a way that I could modify the script (for personal use only) to prevent an artist from showing up two or more songs in a row? For example, I have a huge play list that includes many artists. I would like to randomize the list, but would like a way to prevent it from playing two or three Led Zeppelin songs in a row. Is that possible?

Thanks again for your work,
D

Re: Randomise Playlist 1.1 [MM2+3]

Posted: Tue Feb 23, 2010 2:40 pm
by trixmoto
Well I guess you could try replacing the "DoRandomise" (lines 129-138) with something like this...

Code: Select all

Sub DoRandomise(p)
  Dim t : Set t = p.Tracks
  Dim a : a = ""
  p.Clear
  While t.Count > 0
    Dim n : n = Int(t.Count*Rnd)
    If Not (a = t.Item(n).ArtistName) Then
      a = t.Item(n).ArtistName
      Call p.AddTrack(t.Item(n))
      Call t.Delete(n)
    End If
    SDB.ProcessMessages 
  WEnd
End Sub
I've not tested it, but hopefully that's at least almost correct. :)

Re: Randomise Playlist 1.1 [MM2+3]

Posted: Tue Feb 23, 2010 2:51 pm
by aulb89
Cool! It worked!
Your scripts have been life savers.
This just saved me from manually having to browse and edit the entire 200 song list for artist "repeats" after randomizing.

Thanks again!!

Re: Randomise Playlist 1.1 [MM2+3]

Posted: Wed Feb 24, 2010 4:07 am
by trixmoto
Thanks, I'm glad that worked for you. :)

Re: Randomise Playlist 1.2 - Updated 11/07/2010

Posted: Sun Jul 11, 2010 2:54 pm
by trixmoto
New version (1.2) is now available to download from my website. I have fixed playlists with the same name cause problems.

Re: Randomise Playlist 1.2 - Updated 11/07/2010

Posted: Mon Aug 30, 2010 10:18 am
by Lowlander
Version 1.2 seems to force the Playlist node to open expanded when MediaMonkey is started, as reported here: http://mediamonkey.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=52257

Re: Randomise Playlist 1.2 - Updated 11/07/2010

Posted: Mon Aug 30, 2010 11:59 am
by trixmoto
Ok, I'll see if I can fix this in the next version.

Re: Randomise Playlist 1.2 - Updated 11/07/2010

Posted: Mon Aug 30, 2010 9:10 pm
by rrfpacker
Thanks Lowlander, you beat me to it.

Looking forward to the next version.

Re: Randomise Playlist 1.3 - Updated 20/10/2010

Posted: Wed Oct 20, 2010 11:57 am
by trixmoto
New version (1.3) is now available to download from my website. I have fixed the playlist node being fully expanded on startup.

Re: Randomise Playlist 1.3 - Updated 20/10/2010

Posted: Tue Jan 04, 2011 3:14 am
by tucky
I've just had an issue in MM4 when trying to randomise a large playlist. It came up with an error about not enough space (sorry I didn't think straight away to take a screenshot) and then reduced the size of the playlist significantly to just over an hour.

The script works fine on this reduced playlist but for some reason couldn't handle the larger one in the way MM3 could.

Unrelated from the script is there a way to retrieve a playlist from my old MM3 library?

Re: Randomise Playlist 1.3 - Updated 20/10/2010

Posted: Tue Jan 04, 2011 3:23 am
by trixmoto
Sorry about this, I'll be testing all of my scripts for MM4 compatibility soon. Is it an auto-playlist or a manual one? If it's an auto-playlist, what sort of criteria are you using?

Re: Randomise Playlist 1.3 - Updated 20/10/2010

Posted: Wed Jan 05, 2011 2:34 am
by tucky
Don't worry about it. I should have backed up my playlists before testing MM4! :)

It's a manual playlist, I can't remember exactly how long but I suspect over 10 hours.

Re: Randomise Playlist 1.3 - Updated 20/10/2010

Posted: Sun Jan 09, 2011 11:38 am
by tucky
I've done some more testing around this by creating a new playlist which had 37 files and was 2 hrs 18 minutes long

I get - Error #214748113 - SongsDB.SDBPlaylist
Thread creation error: Not enough storage is available to process this command
File: "C:\Programe Files\MediaMonkey\Scripts\Auto\RandomisePlaylist.vbs", Line 134, Column: 4

Following the error it reduces the playlist to 17 files - 1hr and 3 minutes in length

Hope this is of help!

Re: Randomise Playlist 1.3 - Updated 20/10/2010

Posted: Sun Jan 09, 2011 6:11 pm
by trixmoto
Hmmm, not sure there's anything that I can do about that! :-?