Interaction

Download and get help for different MediaMonkey for Windows 4 Addons.

Moderators: Peke, Gurus

DigitAlex

Interaction

Post by DigitAlex »

Is there a way to interact with MM programatically ? for example like with Winamp (using windows messages to tell winamp to play / stop / and so on) ?

Thanks
jiri
Posts: 5419
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Post by jiri »

Actually there are two ways:
- Using the same messages as in Winamp (WM_USER and WM_COMMAND). MM uses WinAmp plug-ins and thus it can emulate how WinAmp works.
- Using OLE Automation, which can be very easily used e.g. from VB Script - you can see an example in the Export script.

Jiri
Peke
Posts: 17494
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Earth
Contact:

Post by Peke »

DigitAlex: In what Programming Language you R working? I can send you an example of General plugin in Delphi to see how it works?
Best regards,
Peke
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
Image
How to attach PICTURE/SCREENSHOTS to forum posts
DigitAlex

Post by DigitAlex »

I'm using many diff languages, but I was just asking ;) Thanks Peke !

So what you are saying is that MM fully supports all winamp plugins and all messages that are sent to winamp ?

What window title / class should I sent messages to ?

How is it possible MM supports all winamp does support, did you get some source code from them or just using some winamp activex control or something ? Because MM is kinda winamp with another more enhanced media library ....

BTW, it looks like it is also written in Delphi heheh :)
jiri
Posts: 5419
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Post by jiri »

MM simply supports Winamp interface as defined on http://classic.winamp.com/nsdn/winamp2x/dev/sdk/api.php and can use plug-ins as they are described on several pages linked to that one.

Jiri
DigitAlex

Post by DigitAlex »

Yea I got it !

So what you mean is that MM has a fully recoded player (from scratch) that just can handle winamp plugins and messages, but the core is totally rewritten ?
jiri
Posts: 5419
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Post by jiri »

Yes, sure, MM has nothing to do WinAmp code, it only supports its interfaces.

Jiri
DigitAlex

Post by DigitAlex »

Great then, it's awesome you coded a new player which also supports those interfaces.

I'll probably adapt my set of plugins to support MM (those are general plugins) so Id like to ask one last question.

When u send messages to Winamp you search for winamp main window handle first... then u send messages to that handle.

what window class / title / iD should i search for in my code to send messages to MM later ?
jiri
Posts: 5419
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Post by jiri »

In order to support existing plug-ins MM has to work exactly as WinAmp and thus the name of the window you have to find is 'Winamp v1.x'. Actually, if you have any WinAmp general plug-in, it should work directly when copied to MM plug-ins folder (there can be some exceptions, the compatibility cannot be 100%, but almost anything should work).

Jiri
DigitAlex

Post by DigitAlex »

Great work jiri !
Peke
Posts: 17494
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Earth
Contact:

Post by Peke »

send me your e-mail so I can send you a example source of 100% working general plugin, couse there is some incompatibility duringg close of gen plugins.
Best regards,
Peke
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
Image
How to attach PICTURE/SCREENSHOTS to forum posts
DigitAlex

Post by DigitAlex »

Use webdigital@hotmail.com, thanks a lot ;)

I've already got some gen plugins that I will prob adapt to MM if there are some problems ....

Thanks anyway
Post Reply