Backup 6.0 - Updated 01/07/2014

Download and get help for different MediaMonkey Addons.

Moderators: Peke, Gurus

compupix
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2018 12:11 pm

Re: Path Not Found

Post by compupix » Sun May 12, 2019 9:34 am

Thanks Dypsis!
I have turned off backup on exit.
I have no problems backing up on demand.
I'll take a look at your settings.
Case closed!
Thanks.

RickMM
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2019 1:48 am

Re: Backup 6.0 - Updated 01/07/2014

Post by RickMM » Mon Jul 22, 2019 1:38 am

Hi,

Just installed the addon and I'm trying to back up files. It did back up the files the 1st time, but subsequent times I get the following message "Backup cancelled because output folder already exists". What am I doing wrong?

zopfan
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2008 4:55 am
Location: Bathinda. Punjab. India.
Contact:

Re: Backup 6.0 - Updated 01/07/2014

Post by zopfan » Mon Aug 19, 2019 2:00 am

orbit111 wrote:
Thu Dec 17, 2015 9:48 am
I just wanted to post some help for those who are having trouble restoring to your new MM install.

If it were not for me being an network engineer I would have never figured out how to make this work!
-In windows 10 or 7 search for Power Shell from the start menu.
-Right click the Power Shell app and select 'Run As Administrator'
-At the command prompt type: cd <Location of MM backup files> Example: (cd C:\users\user1\desktop\media monkey backup\)
-Next type .\Restore

This should get you past the VB script error
I did exactly as told in this/above post. And yet I found the same error, as when I run the 'Restore' command with admin rights from within Windows Explorer.
Image

ddrennen@gmail.com
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2019 11:07 am

How do I use the Backup 6.0 script?

Post by ddrennen@gmail.com » Sat Sep 28, 2019 6:41 am

I just installed. Picking up a new computer this afternoon, so I want to make sure that MM is backed up to dropbox. But I have no idea how to make that happen! Struck out with MM, so I installed this script. But now.... ?????

Thanks for some steps to follow!

Dorothy

MichaelZ

Re: Backup 6.0 - Updated 01/07/2014

Post by MichaelZ » Sat Oct 05, 2019 10:56 am

Is this supposed to work with the latest MM4 and Windos 10? Because it doesn't do anything here.

SpaceModulator
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2019 9:02 am

Re: Backup 6.0 - Updated 01/07/2014

Post by SpaceModulator » Wed Oct 16, 2019 11:33 am

I started getting this problem out of the blue. I had changed no settings, made sure I hadn't missed an update. I updated to the latest MMW beta 4.1.25.1894 and it's the same.

Image

Peke
Posts: 12494
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: Backup 6.0 - Updated 01/07/2014

Post by Peke » Thu Oct 24, 2019 9:32 pm

Hi,
Are you using Portable MMW?
Best regards,
Pavle
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
How to add SCREENSHOTS to forum

SpaceModulator
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2019 9:02 am

Re: Backup 6.0 - Updated 01/07/2014

Post by SpaceModulator » Thu Nov 14, 2019 6:54 am

Peke wrote:
Thu Oct 24, 2019 9:32 pm
Hi,
Are you using Portable MMW?
I am.

Peke
Posts: 12494
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: Backup 6.0 - Updated 01/07/2014

Post by Peke » Thu Nov 14, 2019 7:15 am

Hi,
That is the problem as Backup Tries to access COM Server and is not optimized for portable version. This needs to be modified within Script.

FYI why do you need backup script as when you use portable You simply Just Backup Portable folder and label it with Date?
Best regards,
Pavle
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
How to add SCREENSHOTS to forum

pushpull
Posts: 242
Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: Formerly WNY, now Portlandia
Contact:

Re: Backup 6.0 - Updated 01/07/2014

Post by pushpull » Sat Nov 16, 2019 8:17 pm

I went through quite a bit of this thread but I didn't see anything that comes near answering my question about this add on. I just started using this and set it up to do a back up onto my NAS. My question is, will the restore script work if it is located on the NAS? It would seem that it would need to know the path to restore from. Also, are there any issues by launching the script from the NAS unit, or any external drive for that matter?

Thanks

Peke
Posts: 12494
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: Backup 6.0 - Updated 01/07/2014

Post by Peke » Sun Nov 17, 2019 4:17 pm

There is no need for the script just backup Portable Sub-folder to your NAS. I use ZIP compression to make it smaller. It is safer than Backup Script which is not designed to work with portable installation.

Also note that MM5 have own native backup scheduler.
Best regards,
Pavle
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
How to add SCREENSHOTS to forum

pushpull
Posts: 242
Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: Formerly WNY, now Portlandia
Contact:

Re: Backup 6.0 - Updated 01/07/2014

Post by pushpull » Tue Nov 19, 2019 1:06 pm

Thanks Peke.

Post Reply