Icon-Replacement

If you want to contribute MediaMonkey skins, themes, icons, etc...

Moderators: Morten, Gurus

MacMaster

Icon-Replacement

Post by MacMaster » Thu Jan 10, 2008 9:48 am

Hi,
I'm making a new skin and have to replace the original icons (like folder and menubuttons)!
How can I make this??
anybody with an idea??

nohitter151
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Post by nohitter151 » Thu Jan 10, 2008 9:51 am

MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.

DaledeSilva
Posts: 893
Joined: Sun May 28, 2006 4:22 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Post by DaledeSilva » Fri Jan 11, 2008 12:25 pm

Don't kill yourself trying to do that... 'cause as far as I know, that doesn't actually work in MM3 yet...

you'll notice that the icons to download on that page aren't even MM 3 icons.

Dale.
My Plugins: PrettyPictures [v0.9.2], Forget Crossfade [v1.0], Behind Titlebars [v0.9], Filter Nodes [v1.0.1], View Mode [1.0], BPM.tapper [v1.0]
My Site: http://www.ublik-om.net

rovingcowboy
Posts: 14153
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2003 7:57 am
Location: (Texas)
Contact:

Post by rovingcowboy » Fri Jan 11, 2008 1:23 pm

i don't think the icons in the skin will work yet either.
however there is a way to make your icons work in your computer. just change them in your own folder.

i had to change them in the folder where the device icons are located at. 8)
roving cowboy / keith hall. My skins http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... =9&t=16724 for some help check on Monkey's helpful messages at http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... 4008#44008 MY SYSTEMS.1.Jukebox WinXp pro sp 3 version 3.5 gigabyte mb. 281 GHz amd athlon x2 240 built by me.) 2.WinXP pro sp3, vers 2.5.5 and vers 3.5 backup storage, shuttle 32a mb,734 MHz amd athlon put together by me.) 3.Dell demension, winxp pro sp3, mm3.5 spare jukebox.) 4.WinXp pro sp3, vers 3.5, dad's computer bought from computer store. )5. Samsung Galaxy 5 Android 5) 6. Proscan tablet Android 4.3 ) 7. amd a8-5600 apu 3.60ghz mm version 4 windows 7 pro bought from computer store.

MacMaster

Icons at MM-Ultimate-Skin

Post by MacMaster » Fri Jan 11, 2008 7:38 pm

rovingcowboy wrote:i don't think the icons in the skin will work yet either.
however there is a way to make your icons work in your computer. just change them in your own folder.

i had to change them in the folder where the device icons are located at. 8)

I don't understand!! I've make a folder "Icon" in the skinfolder, but dosn't work.
Since 3 day's I'm making this new "MM-Ultimate" Skin.
Further I'll will post it, but I need to cange this Icons!!!

How can I post the prewiev??[/img]

rovingcowboy
Posts: 14153
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2003 7:57 am
Location: (Texas)
Contact:

Post by rovingcowboy » Fri Jan 11, 2008 8:10 pm

C:\program files\my media monkey skins\??? skin\icons

that is the location of the icons folder in the skins folder.
the skins folder refers to the folder you have all your images for your skin in.

you know where you make the icon folder and put the png in it called noaa.png for the no album art.

that is the folder that is called icons because that is to be zipped up in the msz file along with the other skin files.
but putting icons in there does not seem to change them in the program yet.

it is set up to change the no album art and icons but the icon part still has work to be done.

so if you want the users of the skin to have your icons.

then the path for the icons will be out side the skins folder such as.

c:\program files\media monkey\icons.

that should work but i have had to put them in another folder called

C:\Program Files\MediaMonkey\Plugins\DevIcons

so you need to do the following


put your icons in a folder called .???? skin's icons

then when you zip up your ????? skin.msz
and the app.ico,
install.ini and
the uninstall.ini

files also add that ???? skin's icons folder in with them.

tell the install ini file to load the folder for them in the skins folder, add short note in the install file's description area. short as in 3 words (Icons in Skin folder)
then add in the email you send the skin to people in or the site you download the skin from make a message telling the people the whole discription and not just those 3 words.

example
  • (skin's icons are in the skins folder which is in the monkeys skin folder go there remove that folder and put the icons in it in to the programs folder where the other icons are at. either
    C:\Program Files\MediaMonkey\Plugins\DevIcons
    C:\Program Files\MediaMonkey\Icons
    in order to use the skins icons with the skin.)
that is the old way of doing it where you have to hope people will put them in the place to make them work with your skin.
but remember some one might like other icons with your skin
and will replace them if they want to.

until the icons folder in the skins msz file is working for icons.
there is no way to load special icons for the skin and keep them with the skin.

8)
roving cowboy / keith hall. My skins http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... =9&t=16724 for some help check on Monkey's helpful messages at http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... 4008#44008 MY SYSTEMS.1.Jukebox WinXp pro sp 3 version 3.5 gigabyte mb. 281 GHz amd athlon x2 240 built by me.) 2.WinXP pro sp3, vers 2.5.5 and vers 3.5 backup storage, shuttle 32a mb,734 MHz amd athlon put together by me.) 3.Dell demension, winxp pro sp3, mm3.5 spare jukebox.) 4.WinXp pro sp3, vers 3.5, dad's computer bought from computer store. )5. Samsung Galaxy 5 Android 5) 6. Proscan tablet Android 4.3 ) 7. amd a8-5600 apu 3.60ghz mm version 4 windows 7 pro bought from computer store.

MacMaster

Post by MacMaster » Wed Jan 23, 2008 12:41 pm

Thank's a lot :D it works great!!
just some little more questions:
how can I replace the arrow in the tree at the left side??
how can I publish my skin here??

rovingcowboy
Posts: 14153
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2003 7:57 am
Location: (Texas)
Contact:

Post by rovingcowboy » Wed Jan 23, 2008 4:54 pm

not sure you can change that up down arrow?

publishing here is not ready yet.

you can go to the skinning page at the wiki and post an screenshot of your skin.

just make the link to the skin go to your web site to download it. or just post in the screenshots description they need to email you for the skin because its not online yet.

8)
roving cowboy / keith hall. My skins http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... =9&t=16724 for some help check on Monkey's helpful messages at http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... 4008#44008 MY SYSTEMS.1.Jukebox WinXp pro sp 3 version 3.5 gigabyte mb. 281 GHz amd athlon x2 240 built by me.) 2.WinXP pro sp3, vers 2.5.5 and vers 3.5 backup storage, shuttle 32a mb,734 MHz amd athlon put together by me.) 3.Dell demension, winxp pro sp3, mm3.5 spare jukebox.) 4.WinXp pro sp3, vers 3.5, dad's computer bought from computer store. )5. Samsung Galaxy 5 Android 5) 6. Proscan tablet Android 4.3 ) 7. amd a8-5600 apu 3.60ghz mm version 4 windows 7 pro bought from computer store.

MacMaster
Posts: 72
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 12:53 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Post by MacMaster » Thu Jan 24, 2008 4:34 am

here is my blue icon pack: http://www.megaupload.com/?d=IGM2U71H
just extract them in the app-folder...
Image
MM-W7 v1.1 -- last update 21.11.2010 --
Image
MM-Ultimate v2.1 -- last update 25.02.2008 --
Image
MM-PSP v1.1 -- last update 26.02.2008 --
Image
MM-White_O v1.0 -- release 11.03.2008 --
Image

rovingcowboy
Posts: 14153
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2003 7:57 am
Location: (Texas)
Contact:

Post by rovingcowboy » Thu Jan 24, 2008 5:11 am

could not get the pack to act like a seperat download? umm? should have been easy to load that folder with the name of "ultimate ....skin icon folder" i wonder what is going on with it now?

maybe you did not understand what i meant with this statement.


put your icons in a folder called .???? skin's icons

then when you zip up your ????? skin.msz
and the app.ico,
install.ini and
the uninstall.ini

files also add that ???? skin's icons folder in with them.

but you should see the folder needs the same name as your skin only with the word icons added so you don't overwrite the other folders. and that gives people a chance to use your icons by placing them in the proper location for monkey to see them

that location is one of the places i said here.
example

(skin's icons are in the skins folder which is in the monkeys skin folder go there remove that folder and put the icons in it in to the programs folder where the other icons are at. either
C:\Program Files\MediaMonkey\Plugins\DevIcons
C:\Program Files\MediaMonkey\Icons
in order to use the skins icons with the skin.)

lets see if i can shorten it up? lets say it this way.

in order to have custom icons for your skin you have to place them in a folder marked for your skin's icons
and tell the install.ini file to load that folder in monkeys main program file's folder.
then tell the users of your skin where the icons are at.
and where they should be if they want to use them.
and they should make a back up copy of the orginal icons so they can replace yours again if they want too.
then let the user copy them from your folder to the needed place.

its just like making this extra icon package and adding it to the folder for the user to get the icons from.?

is that a more correct way of the typing so it reads better?

i tend of leave steps out thinking everyone has done this before, sorry. :oops:
roving cowboy / keith hall. My skins http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... =9&t=16724 for some help check on Monkey's helpful messages at http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... 4008#44008 MY SYSTEMS.1.Jukebox WinXp pro sp 3 version 3.5 gigabyte mb. 281 GHz amd athlon x2 240 built by me.) 2.WinXP pro sp3, vers 2.5.5 and vers 3.5 backup storage, shuttle 32a mb,734 MHz amd athlon put together by me.) 3.Dell demension, winxp pro sp3, mm3.5 spare jukebox.) 4.WinXp pro sp3, vers 3.5, dad's computer bought from computer store. )5. Samsung Galaxy 5 Android 5) 6. Proscan tablet Android 4.3 ) 7. amd a8-5600 apu 3.60ghz mm version 4 windows 7 pro bought from computer store.

Post Reply