Micro Player PlaylistButton Empty Window

To get bugs in the current release fixed, please report them here.

Moderator: Gurus

GreenOnyx
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2008 11:33 am

Micro Player PlaylistButton Empty Window

Post by GreenOnyx » Wed Aug 19, 2009 5:49 pm

I'm trying to customize the micro player and seem to be having a problem adding the playlist button to it. If I hover over the micro player for the popup and click the playlist button on the popup a playlist comes up with my now playing contents. If I add a PlayListButton to the micro player so that I don't have to use the one on the popup it shows a now playing window that's blank. The totals at the bottom are correct, so it sees the files, but doesn't list them properly.

Is this a bug, something not supported in the micro player, or am I missing something? Below are the steps I'm attempting in MM 3.1

1. Extract Glided.msz to ..\Skins\Test
2. Edit the MicroPlayerH.ini and add the text below

[PlaylistButton]
Type=Button
Resizable=1,1,0,0
Pos=157,12
Size=12,12
Transperent=1
TextMask=

3. Change to the new skin in settings
4. Minimize to the micro player
5. Click the area in the lower right hand corner of the micro player (below the + (maximize button) to the right of mute)

Eyal
Posts: 3110
Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2005 9:27 am
Location: Québec

Re: Micro Player PlaylistButton Empty Window

Post by Eyal » Wed Aug 19, 2009 6:56 pm

GreenOnyx wrote:If I add a PlayListButton to the micro player (...) it shows a now playing window that's blank.
Is this a bug, something not supported in the micro player, or am I missing something?
Yes it's a bug.
The NowPlaying won't be empty if you first minimize MM to MiniPlayer, then minimize again to MicroPlayer.

That's the reason I didn't put a Minimize to Tray button on my last skins that have the Playlist button. I think nobody has reported that error yet.
Skins for MediaMonkey: Cafe, Carbon, Helium, Spotify, Zekton. [ Wiki Zone ].

GreenOnyx
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2008 11:33 am

Re: Micro Player PlaylistButton Empty Window

Post by GreenOnyx » Wed Aug 19, 2009 7:06 pm

Nice find, I see the same thing, so it's definitely a bug, thanks for confirming.

I'll post in the bug reports section (I think that's the right process).

rovingcowboy
Posts: 14153
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2003 7:57 am
Location: (Texas)
Contact:

Re: Micro Player PlaylistButton Empty Window

Post by rovingcowboy » Wed Aug 19, 2009 11:49 pm

yep eyal first i seen this error reported. i guess nobody thought to do that yet?

8)
roving cowboy / keith hall. My skins http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... =9&t=16724 for some help check on Monkey's helpful messages at http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... 4008#44008 MY SYSTEMS.1.Jukebox WinXp pro sp 3 version 3.5 gigabyte mb. 281 GHz amd athlon x2 240 built by me.) 2.WinXP pro sp3, vers 2.5.5 and vers 3.5 backup storage, shuttle 32a mb,734 MHz amd athlon put together by me.) 3.Dell demension, winxp pro sp3, mm3.5 spare jukebox.) 4.WinXp pro sp3, vers 3.5, dad's computer bought from computer store. )5. Samsung Galaxy 5 Android 5) 6. Proscan tablet Android 4.3 ) 7. amd a8-5600 apu 3.60ghz mm version 4 windows 7 pro bought from computer store.

luks_abido

Re: Micro Player PlaylistButton Empty Window

Post by luks_abido » Wed Jan 20, 2010 2:25 pm

Same bug.
Will it be fixed?

rovingcowboy
Posts: 14153
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2003 7:57 am
Location: (Texas)
Contact:

Re: Micro Player PlaylistButton Empty Window

Post by rovingcowboy » Wed Jan 20, 2010 3:00 pm

you better make a bug report again cause this is a old bug and thought to have been fixed already. :-?
roving cowboy / keith hall. My skins http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... =9&t=16724 for some help check on Monkey's helpful messages at http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... 4008#44008 MY SYSTEMS.1.Jukebox WinXp pro sp 3 version 3.5 gigabyte mb. 281 GHz amd athlon x2 240 built by me.) 2.WinXP pro sp3, vers 2.5.5 and vers 3.5 backup storage, shuttle 32a mb,734 MHz amd athlon put together by me.) 3.Dell demension, winxp pro sp3, mm3.5 spare jukebox.) 4.WinXp pro sp3, vers 3.5, dad's computer bought from computer store. )5. Samsung Galaxy 5 Android 5) 6. Proscan tablet Android 4.3 ) 7. amd a8-5600 apu 3.60ghz mm version 4 windows 7 pro bought from computer store.

Guest

[1463] PlaylistButton Empty When Straight To MicroPlayer

Post by Guest » Fri Jan 06, 2012 4:18 pm

I don't really write skins so please pardon my termonology. This involves an old issue I found but it's the same in the latest MM beta (old issue was detailed here: http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... =9&t=42104).

If you create a button to utilize the PlaylistButton call in the micro player the playlist that pops up is empty, but only if you go straight from the Player to the MicroPlayer. If you go from the Player to the MiniPlayer and then to the MicroPlayer, it functions as expected (minus the fact that the window is slightly transparent half of the time). From what I can tell in MicroPlayer mode the BtnPlayList call in the popup always works but the PlaylistButton call only works if you go to the mini player prior to the MicroPlayer.

The link to the old version shows how to mimic this easily, but please let me know if any more information is needed. This issue prevents someone from quickly navigating the entire playlist in the MicroPlayer. Waiting for and navigating the popup is very time consuming, sometimes it doesn't show, and the playlist when you finally get there isn't resizeable, so the work arounds are pretty painful.

GreenOnyx
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2008 11:33 am

Re: Micro Player PlaylistButton Empty Window

Post by GreenOnyx » Fri Jan 06, 2012 6:29 pm

Is anyone able to clarify as to if this is something that should be sent to the helpdesk or if the forum is the proper escalation point? I've seen a couple different "How To" threads for reporting bugs and just want to make sure that it's been submitted properly. The issue has been around since at least 2009 so it seems like it's something that isn't going to be fixed, was missed, or needs escalated elsewhere.

rovingcowboy
Posts: 14153
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2003 7:57 am
Location: (Texas)
Contact:

Re: Micro Player PlaylistButton Empty Window

Post by rovingcowboy » Mon Jan 09, 2012 1:38 am

this seems to be involving the mini player too as described above. so i wonder it this is causing my other issue with the mini player and that dang white window title bar on its right.
since the micro player is having trouble with a partial transpant list from time to time maybe its caused by same error?

i don't know if it is but i'm fed up with that dang white window title bar. :(
roving cowboy / keith hall. My skins http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... =9&t=16724 for some help check on Monkey's helpful messages at http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... 4008#44008 MY SYSTEMS.1.Jukebox WinXp pro sp 3 version 3.5 gigabyte mb. 281 GHz amd athlon x2 240 built by me.) 2.WinXP pro sp3, vers 2.5.5 and vers 3.5 backup storage, shuttle 32a mb,734 MHz amd athlon put together by me.) 3.Dell demension, winxp pro sp3, mm3.5 spare jukebox.) 4.WinXp pro sp3, vers 3.5, dad's computer bought from computer store. )5. Samsung Galaxy 5 Android 5) 6. Proscan tablet Android 4.3 ) 7. amd a8-5600 apu 3.60ghz mm version 4 windows 7 pro bought from computer store.

Post Reply