single-clicking draws a selection box

To get bugs in the current release fixed, please report them here.

Moderator: Gurus

gnznroses
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2014 11:14 pm

single-clicking draws a selection box

Post by gnznroses » Sun Apr 14, 2019 9:59 pm

I'm running the latest version of MM, have been using MM for many years, and experiencing this bug for a couple years now, but now that I use it more often it's really driving me crazy, to the point of looking at other software. I'm using Windows 10, have no added plugins etc. Just some skins, but the problem occurs on any of them.

If I left-click in Now Playing, or the track list / library area, a percentage of the time (maybe 5%) a single click, eg to select a track, acts as if the mouse button is held down, and starts to draw a selection box. At this point it then takes a lot (5-10) more clicks to try and make it stop, as most subsequent clicks start drawing it from the new spot. Or pressing Esc also makes it go away. Clicking to set a star rating never causes the problem.

I've tried and tried to find a pattern but I really can't. It does seem to happen a little more when clicking an empty area or, trying now, if I move the mouse while clicking. It doesn't make sense because if I were drawing a selection box it should stop once I let go of the mouse button, and tehre's no way it thinks the button is held down that whole time considering it lets me click again while the box is drawn.

I haven't tried changing the mouse, but you could say I'm a power use, I use lots of different software, and have never had an issue with anything else.

gnznroses
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2014 11:14 pm

Re: single-clicking draws a selection box

Post by gnznroses » Sun Apr 14, 2019 10:00 pm

I tried to find a similar bug report and closest I could find was this:
http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=39995

Peke
Posts: 11841
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: single-clicking draws a selection box

Post by Peke » Mon Apr 15, 2019 4:00 am

Hi,
Using database and spreadsheet applications usually have different implementations especially with single click.

To explain things a bit more for example in MMW single click on track text in listing and click on empty part after text acts differently.
1. Short click select track or set focus on the field
2. Long click can initiate selection mode or field edit selection

I have found that sensitivity in Mouse/Touchpad driver help a lot as you can set these parameters.

I for example when I work use 10ms click delay but when I allow kids to play games I lower response to 3ms.

Also apps like MMW that have multiple functions on a single click are handle things differently. I tried MS Office Excel and Libre Calc and thay act similarly to MMW.
Best regards,
Pavle
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
How to add SCREENSHOTS to forum

gnznroses
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2014 11:14 pm

Re: single-clicking draws a selection box

Post by gnznroses » Mon Apr 15, 2019 11:26 pm

Thanks for the response.

hmm, long-clicking in MM doesn't seem to do anything different for me. You're saying if I hold the mouse button down longer it could start a selection box? I can't get it to do that (or anything else different).

I use everything from Excel, Libre, database apps, Photoshop, development tools, etc and never have anything unexpected happen, only in MM. My mouse settings (SetPoint) don't specify in ms but I'm at 40% between slow and fast response time.

Edit:
Trying in both Excel and Calc I don't notice anything happening if I long-click. It just acts like any other click. (It's never mistook a click for a double-click though)

Post Reply