Windows 10 WMA issues

Beta Testing for Windows Products and plugins

Moderator: Gurus

justinmy
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2017 8:59 am

Windows 10 WMA issues

Post by justinmy » Fri Feb 03, 2017 9:11 am

I have installed the most recent BETA (MediaMonkey_4.1.15.1827) and still cannot rip WMA on my Windows 10 box (Windows 10 Pro 14393.693). I get the following error:

Code: Select all

D:\Track01.cda - Conversion: WMA (Windows 8 build 9200) - Not Supported!
I have tried everything from http://www.mediamonkey.com/support/inde ... e-analysed and nothing fixes it.

Lowlander
Posts: 44358
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Windows 10 WMA issues

Post by Lowlander » Fri Feb 03, 2017 1:24 pm

Did you use WMA Pro (or WMA MF)?
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

justinmy
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2017 8:59 am

Re: Windows 10 WMA issues

Post by justinmy » Fri Feb 03, 2017 3:17 pm

Using WMA lossless. Same settings I've been using for years.

Lowlander
Posts: 44358
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Windows 10 WMA issues

Post by Lowlander » Fri Feb 03, 2017 3:31 pm

Try WMA Pro (or WMA MF) instead. The Win 10 Anniversary update broke WMA.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

justinmy
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2017 8:59 am

Re: Windows 10 WMA issues

Post by justinmy » Sat Feb 04, 2017 3:51 pm

I tried all the WMA formats same issue. This http://www.mediamonkey.com/support/inde ... windows-10 says the current beta build should work, but it isn't.

MiPi
Posts: 396
Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2009 2:56 pm
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: Windows 10 WMA issues

Post by MiPi » Mon Feb 06, 2017 11:51 am

The problem is, that Windows 10 is not detected on your system, it is detected as Windows 8 for some reason, that is why it is not working properly. Currently I have no idea what is going on here, we will look at it.

MiPi
Posts: 396
Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2009 2:56 pm
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: Windows 10 WMA issues

Post by MiPi » Mon Feb 06, 2017 12:13 pm

Lowlander wrote:Try WMA Pro (or WMA MF) instead. The Win 10 Anniversary update broke WMA.
We already have only one option for WMA ("WMA") in the last build, we use encoder based on what is detected as OS. Old encoder prior Anniversary update, new encoder for the rest. New does not support 2-pass encoding yet, that is why we use old one for older systems still.

MiPi
Posts: 396
Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2009 2:56 pm
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: Windows 10 WMA issues

Post by MiPi » Mon Feb 06, 2017 12:59 pm

justinmy: we tested the same build on 3 installations of Windows 10 Pro build 14393.693, everything is ok, always detected as Windows 10 and WMA encoding works as expected. If you run DebugView and then MM4, what do you have in log, at the beginning, line: "GetWinVersion: "? It should be "PlatformID: 2, Major: 10, Minor: 0", but I guess, in your case, it will be different.

MiPi
Posts: 396
Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2009 2:56 pm
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: Windows 10 WMA issues

Post by MiPi » Tue Feb 07, 2017 4:25 am

justinmy: I've got it. You have set compatibility mode for MediaMonkey.exe to Windows 8, don't you? Please remove compatibility mode and try again.

justinmy
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2017 8:59 am

Re: Windows 10 WMA issues

Post by justinmy » Tue Feb 07, 2017 9:15 am

I don't have compatibility mode set. Here's the DebugView log. Quite strange:

Code: Select all

[9404] TScreen.Create: Monitors Count =1
[9404] Win7Tools - Windows 7 detected
[9404] Win7Tools - running on Windows Vista or later - initialize DWM
[9404] Win7Tools - Windows Vista DWM initialized
[9404] Win7Tools - Windows 7 DWM initialized
[9404] Win7Tools - Shell initialized
[9404] GetWinVersion: PlatformID: 2, Major: 10, Minor: 0 
[9404] InstanceManager - window destroyed
[9404] TBackgroundQueue: Still waiting for finishing 0 threads.
[9404] TBackgroundQueue: Destroying...
[7372] TScreen.Create: Monitors Count =1
[7372] Win7Tools - Windows 7 detected
[7372] Win7Tools - running on Windows Vista or later - initialize DWM
[7372] Win7Tools - Windows Vista DWM initialized
[7372] Win7Tools - Windows 7 DWM initialized
[7372] Win7Tools - Shell initialized
[7372] GetWinVersion: PlatformID: 2, Major: 6, Minor: 2 
[7372] InstanceManager - registering class.
[7372] InstanceManager - creating mutex.
[7372] InstanceManager - creating window.
[7372] InstanceManager - releasing mutex.
[7372] Received command line: '"C:\Program Files (x86)\MediaMonkey\MediaMonkey (non-skinned).exe" '

Ludek
Posts: 2398
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2007 9:00 am

Re: Windows 10 WMA issues

Post by Ludek » Tue Feb 07, 2017 10:10 am

I see, it detects bad Windows version only for 'MediaMonkey (non-skinned).exe', i.e. for the skinless mode.

Thanks!

Added as http://www.ventismedia.com/mantis/view.php?id=13993

justinmy
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2017 8:59 am

Re: Windows 10 WMA issues

Post by justinmy » Tue Feb 07, 2017 10:56 am

Will this be fixed in the next beta build?

Ludek
Posts: 2398
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2007 9:00 am

Re: Windows 10 WMA issues

Post by Ludek » Tue Feb 07, 2017 11:37 am

Yes, in 4.1.15.1828

Guest

Re: Windows 10 WMA issues

Post by Guest » Fri Feb 10, 2017 12:39 pm

same problem here.

when will you get a solution?

thanks

Lowlander
Posts: 44358
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Windows 10 WMA issues

Post by Lowlander » Fri Feb 10, 2017 2:09 pm

As Ludek wrote, it's fixed in the latest Release Candidate of MediaMonkey 4.1.15 available from the Beta Forum.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

Post Reply