''Click Rename'' Removal?

Any ideas about how to improve MediaMonkey? Let us know!

Moderator: Gurus

Undertone
Posts: 83
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:13 am

''Click Rename'' Removal?

Post by Undertone » Mon Nov 05, 2012 4:33 pm

Hi,

Is there any way I can remove the option of renaming the track by double-clicking slowly on the track (Title, Album, Artist etc..)?

This really annoys me.

Thx for the help.

SM.

nohitter151
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: ''Click Rename'' Removal?

Post by nohitter151 » Mon Nov 05, 2012 4:36 pm

You could switch to party mode, but that will disable all editing.
MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.

Undertone
Posts: 83
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:13 am

Re: ''Click Rename'' Removal?

Post by Undertone » Mon Nov 05, 2012 4:44 pm

Ouch...thx but that won't do..I suppose there is no other way..do you think this can be suggested to MM developers? At least to put an option to enable/disable this editing.
Last edited by Undertone on Mon Nov 05, 2012 5:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Undertone
Posts: 83
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:13 am

Re: ''Click Rename'' Removal?

Post by Undertone » Mon Nov 05, 2012 4:46 pm

Or maybe put it in the hotkeys so that people can change the shortcut of renaming.

nohitter151
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: ''Click Rename'' Removal?

Post by nohitter151 » Mon Nov 05, 2012 6:30 pm

Speakerzmoon wrote:Or maybe put it in the hotkeys so that people can change the shortcut of renaming.
You can also use the F2 key to edit (if you weren't already aware).
MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.

Guest

Re: ''Click Rename'' Removal?

Post by Guest » Tue Nov 06, 2012 8:42 am

Oh ok thank you for the info I actually didn't know that. But you see it is the ''slow double clicking'' that is causing me problems (slow double clicking by mistake and pressing enter to hear the track but instead remove the track name, is one example). I was more talking about having the double click in the hotkeys rather than just imposing it. Or if this is not possible,as I said in the first option, just having the option to remove it if possible (enable/disable option maybe?).

Undertone
Posts: 83
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:13 am

Re: ''Click Rename'' Removal?

Post by Undertone » Tue Nov 06, 2012 8:44 am

I wrote the above message..just forgot to sign in.

Undertone
Posts: 83
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:13 am

Re: ''Click Rename'' Removal?

Post by Undertone » Thu Nov 08, 2012 9:45 am

So...can it be done?

Lowlander
Posts: 46184
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: ''Click Rename'' Removal?

Post by Lowlander » Thu Nov 08, 2012 10:33 am

No
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

Undertone
Posts: 83
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:13 am

Re: ''Click Rename'' Removal?

Post by Undertone » Thu Nov 08, 2012 1:53 pm

Lowlander wrote:No
I'm surprised nobody seems to care about this subject. For me, that's the most annoying thing I've ever experienced in a media player.And I don't see why this is not

possible..

Thx anyways.

nohitter151
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: ''Click Rename'' Removal?

Post by nohitter151 » Thu Nov 08, 2012 1:55 pm

Speakerzmoon wrote:
Lowlander wrote:No
I'm surprised nobody seems to care about this subject. For me, that's the most annoying thing I've ever experienced in a media player.And I don't see why this is not

possible..

Thx anyways.
It's pretty standard behavior in a Media Player, so I hardly see it as a problem.

That being said, I wouldn't be against an option to disable it.
MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.

Lowlander
Posts: 46184
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: ''Click Rename'' Removal?

Post by Lowlander » Thu Nov 08, 2012 1:58 pm

It's an essential feature in my tag management and the occasional unintended double click doesn't affect anything other than having to redo the click.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

Undertone
Posts: 83
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:13 am

Re: ''Click Rename'' Removal?

Post by Undertone » Thu Nov 08, 2012 2:06 pm

Personally, I think the F2 you have suggested earlier in this post is way enough for renaming. Sometimes, I listen to a track, click once on another one to choose it, as I soon as I click again..bam..renaming is there. Thats the annoying part. I've used other players before (realplayer, winamp, itunes) I haven't experienced this in any of them.

Having an option to disable it is the perfect idea. But why is it not possible?

nohitter151
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: ''Click Rename'' Removal?

Post by nohitter151 » Thu Nov 08, 2012 2:08 pm

Speakerzmoon wrote:
Having an option to disable it is the perfect idea. But why is it not possible?
It is possible. Just a matter of it being implemented.
MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.

Undertone
Posts: 83
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:13 am

Re: ''Click Rename'' Removal?

Post by Undertone » Thu Nov 08, 2012 2:11 pm

Lowlander wrote:It's an essential feature in my tag management and the occasional unintended double click doesn't affect anything other than having to redo the click.
I had to go to music shops very often to rename a track I have renamed by mistake because I wasn't aware that it was selected for renaming.

When I have friends over, I'm always worried when they use my MM because they're not aware of that as well and renamed a couple of my tracks lol.

I don't see why it has to be like that.

Post Reply