command line option for playlists

Any ideas about how to improve MediaMonkey? Let us know!

Moderator: Gurus

bege
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 10:45 am
Location: Germany

command line option for playlists

Post by bege » Fri Feb 18, 2011 11:22 am

Hi,
I've come from Windows Media Player where I can run a certain playlist with a command line option.
I miss this option in MM.
Thank you.

Dreadlau
Posts: 1967
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 6:49 am

Re: command line option for playlists

Post by Dreadlau » Fri Feb 18, 2011 11:44 am

Here are the command line options for Mediamonkey.
http://www.mediamonkey.com/support/inde ... ticleid=45
Tho I don't see a command for a playlist.
Seven Ultimate X64 SP1 / Sansa Clip 2go (with RockBox)

bege
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 10:45 am
Location: Germany

Re: command line option for playlists

Post by bege » Fri Feb 18, 2011 11:58 am

Dreadlau wrote: Tho I don't see a command for a playlist.
Yes, that's why I wrote this request.

nohitter151
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: command line option for playlists

Post by nohitter151 » Fri Feb 18, 2011 12:16 pm

You could use the /Add parameter with an .m3u playlist file.
MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.

Dreadlau
Posts: 1967
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 6:49 am

Re: command line option for playlists

Post by Dreadlau » Fri Feb 18, 2011 12:24 pm

nohitter151 wrote:You could use the /Add parameter with an .m3u playlist file.
Thx nohitter.
I thought about that too. But I wasn't sure.
Seven Ultimate X64 SP1 / Sansa Clip 2go (with RockBox)

bege
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 10:45 am
Location: Germany

Re: command line option for playlists

Post by bege » Sat Feb 19, 2011 7:04 am

nohitter151 wrote:You could use the /Add parameter with an .m3u playlist file.
That works with the full path name of the playlist file. It is in the imported playlists section. Thank you.

Now, I am still not satisfied :wink:
Coming from Windows Media Player I used an autostart link to start the playlist automatically in shuffle mode. That meant that the playlist was being started from a different title each time.

The /add parameter doesn't start the playlist.
Starting the player after opening starts the playlist from the beginning always, shuffle mode has effect from the second title on only.
The /play parameter doesn't start the playlist loaded by the /add parameter but the actual now playing list.
Using them together doesn't work, the /add parameter function is what MM does.

Windows Media Player has a /playlist option that starts the playlist right away, and when the player is in shuffle mode, this mode works from the first title so that each time the player is being started by this autostart link a different title is the first title.

I'd love to have this functionality now in MM, which I like much more (not only because it doesn't seem to "call home" like Windows Media Player does).

Lowlander
Posts: 44974
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: command line option for playlists

Post by Lowlander » Sat Feb 19, 2011 1:19 pm

Have you tried using /Play after /Add?
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

Peke
Posts: 11342
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: command line option for playlists

Post by Peke » Sat Feb 19, 2011 4:47 pm

Best regards,
Pavle
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
How to add Images to forum

bege
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 10:45 am
Location: Germany

Re: command line option for playlists

Post by bege » Sat Feb 19, 2011 7:34 pm

Lowlander wrote:Have you tried using /Play after /Add?
Yes, /Add just adds the playlist to the already existing Now Playing list, then /Play starts the Now Playing list at the last played title. That's exactly what those two arguments are said to do.

bege
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 10:45 am
Location: Germany

Re: command line option for playlists

Post by bege » Sat Feb 19, 2011 7:54 pm

Looks good, thank you, but I couldn't find information how to run the files.

Peke
Posts: 11342
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: command line option for playlists

Post by Peke » Sat Feb 19, 2011 9:30 pm

Oups, sorry about that here is description http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... f=2&t=6042

EDIT: I haven't had time to update it with newest MM4 and its new features but it should work.
Best regards,
Pavle
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
How to add Images to forum

bege
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 10:45 am
Location: Germany

Re: command line option for playlists

Post by bege » Sat Feb 19, 2011 11:27 pm

Thank you very much, Peke.
I used the script and exe-file for randomized start. It does exactly what was I was asking for. The playlist starts with a different title each time. Thank you very much!
But with this script the shuffle mode switch in MM loses it's function when starting MM with the script or exe-file. No matter whether the switch is on or off, after starting randomized, the playlist is being played sequentially.
This is not the case with the other scripts. So I looked to the script for randomized start (though I don't know how to write scripts) and deleted the last but one line. And, indeed, the shuffle mode switch got it's function back.

Unfortunately there is another problem with the playlist http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... =1&t=55891

Post Reply