Task bar remains hidden

Report bugs & feature requests for MediaMonkey 5 and learn about the newest builds.

Moderator: Gurus

willyvds
Posts: 382
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 3:30 pm

Task bar remains hidden

Post by willyvds » Tue Jan 22, 2019 10:59 am

I have set my Windows task bar to automatically hide when I use a program in full screen.
The taskbar becomes visible when I hover over it.

However, this doesn't work when using MM5 in full screen. The task bar remains hidden.

Is this a setting?
Last edited by willyvds on Sun Jan 27, 2019 10:27 am, edited 1 time in total.

Peke
Posts: 12213
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: Task bar remains hidden

Post by Peke » Tue Jan 22, 2019 9:25 pm

Hi,
If you refer maximized, then I can't replicate, but if you refer on actual full screen then it is by design.

Also I have seen similar behavior in other apps, when Always on to is disabled.
Best regards,
Pavle
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
How to add SCREENSHOTS to forum

willyvds
Posts: 382
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 3:30 pm

Re: Task bar remains hidden

Post by willyvds » Wed Jan 23, 2019 11:27 am

I can see the purpose of a full screen mode. But how do I then get the screen "maximized"?

Peke
Posts: 12213
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: Task bar remains hidden

Post by Peke » Wed Jan 23, 2019 8:16 pm

Not sure I follow, I use Maximize icon on the window.
Best regards,
Pavle
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
How to add SCREENSHOTS to forum

willyvds
Posts: 382
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 3:30 pm

Re: Task bar remains hidden

Post by willyvds » Thu Jan 24, 2019 5:54 pm

As far as I see there is no difference between maximize and full screen.

With other programs, if I choose maximize, I can still make the task bar visible. This was also the case with MM4.

With MM5, there only seems to be a full screen mode.

I find this very inconvenient. Full screen should only be applicable (by design) for the party mode.

As it is now, I see it as a bug.

Barry4679
Posts: 690
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2009 8:07 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Task bar remains hidden

Post by Barry4679 » Thu Jan 24, 2019 10:30 pm

willyvds wrote:
Tue Jan 22, 2019 10:59 am
I have set my Windows task bar to automatically hide when I use a program in full screen.
The taskbar becomes visible when I hover over it.
However, this doesn't work when using MM5 in full screen. The task bar remains hidden.
Yes, I see this also. It is easy to demonstrate the problem (Windows 10):
  • change task bar settings: set to auto hide in desktop mode
  • open MM4 and MM5; maximise both
  • toggle to MM4; move move the mouse focus to the location where the (invisible) task bar is docked; the task bar becomes visible and accessible
  • do the same thing with MM5; the task bar remains invisible and inaccessible

Peke
Posts: 12213
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: Task bar remains hidden

Post by Peke » Fri Jan 25, 2019 7:37 pm

I have been able to replicate it once :-? :( but then I could not replicate it again :cry:

Have you ever tried https://rammichael.com/7-taskbar-tweaker ? For me Taskbar is set to Hide and Always on top.

I noticed strange thing that sometimes MM5 maximized Windows size is 1920x1200 and sometimes 1920x1199 so I am wondering that it is possible MM5 covers mouse hotspot for unhide taskbar.
Best regards,
Pavle
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
How to add SCREENSHOTS to forum

Barry4679
Posts: 690
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2009 8:07 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Task bar remains hidden

Post by Barry4679 » Fri Jan 25, 2019 9:37 pm

Peke wrote:
Fri Jan 25, 2019 7:37 pm
I have been able to replicate it once :-? :( but then I could not replicate it again :cry:
That is strange. ... the problem is hard on here ... ie. no workaround other than turn off the taskbar hide facility.

You have your task bar configured like this?
https://www.dropbox.com/s/r8t67d1bwn35l ... s.png?dl=0

Peke wrote:
Fri Jan 25, 2019 7:37 pm
Have you ever tried https://rammichael.com/7-taskbar-tweaker ? For me Taskbar is set to Hide and Always on top.
Thanks. but I am not really interested in complicating my Windows environment with add-on workarounds. MM needs to work correctly with a vanilla OS.

Peke
Posts: 12213
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: Task bar remains hidden

Post by Peke » Sun Jan 27, 2019 6:41 am

Hi,
I was finally being able to replicate. I created new user on my desktop. But unfortunately MM5 is not the only one for me even windows own file explorer do not un-hide Taskbar.

See recorded video
Best regards,
Pavle
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
How to add SCREENSHOTS to forum

Barry4679
Posts: 690
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2009 8:07 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Task bar remains hidden

Post by Barry4679 » Sun Jan 27, 2019 6:52 am

Peke wrote:
Sun Jan 27, 2019 6:41 am
But unfortunately MM5 is not the only one for me even windows own file explorer do not un-hide Taskbar.
Here IE works as expected by unhiding the taskbar, as does MM4. .. 100% of the time.
MM5 does not ... also 100% of the time.

Maybe you should uninstall the taskbar addon app that you installed :wink:

Peke
Posts: 12213
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: Task bar remains hidden

Post by Peke » Sun Jan 27, 2019 6:59 am

Hi,
Addon app is portable and per user only. Looks like UWP apps always work :)
Best regards,
Pavle
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
How to add SCREENSHOTS to forum

willyvds
Posts: 382
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 3:30 pm

Re: Task bar remains hidden

Post by willyvds » Sun Jan 27, 2019 10:26 am

We shouldn't be discussing an addon here I think. To me it seems a fault in MM5.

Peke
Posts: 12213
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: Task bar remains hidden

Post by Peke » Sun Jan 27, 2019 3:21 pm

Hi,
I can't replicate only with MM5, tested on two PCs today and they behaved same, even file explorer told taskbar to rise in background as taskbar on second monitor showed.

And those two PCs never seen any tweaks.
Best regards,
Pavle
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
How to add SCREENSHOTS to forum

willyvds
Posts: 382
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 3:30 pm

Re: Task bar remains hidden

Post by willyvds » Tue Jan 29, 2019 3:06 am

How did you do this test, I mean: which element was selected on the left column?

I am referring to the situation when I am on one of the library (sub)nodes. I think full screen/full window can only be selected when on "now playing".

Could you maybe also check what happens while in one of the nodes?

Post Reply