POLL - What are your computer specifications

Discussion about anything that might be of interest to MediaMonkey users.

Moderator: Gurus

Bj1975

POLL - What are your computer specifications

Post by Bj1975 » Wed Mar 28, 2012 4:31 am

Hi,

I have been using Media Monkey for some time now to play music through my PA system using a laptop. I had been using a external sound card by Audio Dj which worked well, and media monkey recognises it in the output.

It is hard to find information on what speed of computers people are using to run the program. Our computer is about 5 years old and is 2.0 speed on processor doesnt say what type, 2 ram.


Please also indicate if you are using media monkey professionaly as I am after input to the effect of computer systems and the quality of sound.


PS sorry I know very little on PCS


Cheers

Bj

nohitter151
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: POLL - What are your computer specifications

Post by nohitter151 » Wed Mar 28, 2012 1:04 pm

I recently upgraded my laptop's hard drive to an SSD. MM installed on an SSD (with the database file also residing on the SSD) is incredibly fast. I think any modern PC is more than adequate to run MM, and the biggest difference in speed will come from having an SSD.
MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.

Bj1975

Re: POLL - What are your computer specifications

Post by Bj1975 » Thu Mar 29, 2012 4:40 am

Hi,

The problem is that our music libary is massive 16'000 + music tracks all as WAV, I know that other formats offer a smaller size, but the WAV sounds amazing.

For us its all about quality, and MM is easy to use and runs through the PA.

Cheers



Bj1975

nohitter151
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: POLL - What are your computer specifications

Post by nohitter151 » Thu Mar 29, 2012 11:51 am

Bj1975 wrote:Hi,

The problem is that our music libary is massive 16'000 + music tracks all as WAV, I know that other formats offer a smaller size, but the WAV sounds amazing.

For us its all about quality, and MM is easy to use and runs through the PA.

Cheers



Bj1975
You don't have to have all your music on the SSD, just the installation of MM and the database. You could keep the music on an external drive or another (larger) hard drive in your desktop.

You'll still notice the great increase in speed.
MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.

Jake Ames
Posts: 78
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2003 12:18 am

Re: POLL - What are your computer specifications

Post by Jake Ames » Fri Mar 30, 2012 6:00 pm

Bj1975 wrote:Hi,
I have been using Media Monkey for some time now to play music through my PA system using a laptop. I had been using a external sound card by Audio Dj which worked well, and media monkey recognises it in the output.
It is hard to find information on what speed of computers people are using to run the program. Our computer is about 5 years old and is 2.0 speed on processor doesnt say what type, 2 ram.
Please also indicate if you are using media monkey professionaly as I am after input to the effect of computer systems and the quality of sound.
PS sorry I know very little on PCS
Hi, long time MM user here with history back to MM's precursor SongDB, running on old W98 through to W764 systems. And a minor disclaimer here, I am running MM 3.25.xx (last 3.25 release) ... for now as I had some disconcerting experiences with 4.0x.

My gold license is on my main desktop that is a fast Core i5/12GB/750GB Sata based W764 system. The music library now over 61000 high VBR mp3's is on a QNap dual 1TB NAS system all on a 1GB LAN with Cysco dual band router. There are up to 5 other computers on the LAN, all running the non Gold MM version, all with access to the QNap network drives (actually just one as they mirror each other). There are 2 XP Home laptops one an old Lenova C100 (?) and one a very early Aspire One netbook (8.9" screen and single core Atom w 1GB RAM). And 2 other laptops running W7 Home 64 plus the friggin monster computer in the Rec Room, running a Core i7 with 16GBRAM, I think its clocked at 3GHz and it has an nVida graphics board with its own cooler. Sure drives the big TV nicely!! As far as I know all the various BlackBerry's, iPhones etc around here, are also on the wifi connection periodically so although the network traffic might be significant for a small office/home office, MM seems to show no slowdown whatever on whichever computer is accessing the NAS, and sometimes more than one pc at the same time!

The surprising pc in this list is the Aspire One that is connected via wifi to the LAN. This is a minimalist computer, the Atom cpu and 1Gb Ram struggle to do more than one thing at the same time and I have taken out as many extras as possible to minimize its tasks. MM3.25 though accessing the QNap network drive via WiFi, loads up, refreshes the library and runs very well. This is connected to a Cambridge Audio MagicDac (really excellent DAC!!) to my main sound system and works very well for this single purpose. The sound quality is astonishingly good!

MM is a very well written music manager and in my experience 3.25x can run well on almost any relatively modern computer today, from XP to W7. If you have a dual core processor and 2GB RAM running XP and are not running a LOT of additional resource hogging utilities, services or programs at the same time, there should just not be a problem.

cheers, jake

charlie tuna

Re: POLL - What are your computer specifications

Post by charlie tuna » Sun Jun 17, 2012 11:05 am

Whats with all the spam monkeys, one or 2 would do!

I use MMG 3.2.5 on a p4 2.4gh 1g ram 1t hd to feed an LP xmitter with 8000+ mp3 320 files.

I have had not a problem except it won't autotag no more.

charlie tuna

rovingcowboy
Posts: 14153
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2003 7:57 am
Location: (Texas)
Contact:

Re: POLL - What are your computer specifications

Post by rovingcowboy » Sun Jun 17, 2012 10:45 pm

it's not the speed of the cpu, it is the amount of ram you have in the system that boggs down the computer.
max your ram out. find what the motherboard of your computer can hold and what you have already then go by the needed
amount to max out your mother board. Xp Pro only sees 3 gbs of ram.
win 7 is unlimited in amount seen.

then use free program "Bill's 2 Process Manager" it will control the priortitys for your programs turns them up or down as needed to keep the cpu from being over ran also allows you to tell which cpu of your multiple cpu's you want the program's to run on.

then get the free program CCleaner, and get the free add on for it called cc enchancer 3.4 it adds in tons junk files from other programs to clean up making your system even cleaner. then make sure you have a registry defragmentor for your system there is a free one i use over at snapfiles.com might be more by now then just that one? and use auslogic's free registery cleaner. get your stuff in order your system will run faster. i've got all my songs on 4 HD's and use an old one core cpu with 1gb of ram everything is run on auto timers and its not slow on any of the features mm 3 has. i even have the auto Eq presets and the auto rating script on that old ide system run's like a charm.
8)
roving cowboy / keith hall. My skins http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... =9&t=16724 for some help check on Monkey's helpful messages at http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... 4008#44008 MY SYSTEMS.1.Jukebox WinXp pro sp 3 version 3.5 gigabyte mb. 281 GHz amd athlon x2 240 built by me.) 2.WinXP pro sp3, vers 2.5.5 and vers 3.5 backup storage, shuttle 32a mb,734 MHz amd athlon put together by me.) 3.Dell demension, winxp pro sp3, mm3.5 spare jukebox.) 4.WinXp pro sp3, vers 3.5, dad's computer bought from computer store. )5. Samsung Galaxy 5 Android 5) 6. amd a8-5600 apu 3.60ghz mm version 4 windows 7 pro bought from computer store.

pochivka
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2012 8:19 am

Re: POLL - What are your computer specifications

Post by pochivka » Sun Jul 08, 2012 11:58 pm

I store all my music on external hard disk.

Post Reply