does mm5 include Chromium engine?

To discuss development of addons / skins / customization of MediaMonkey.

Moderator: jiri

does mm5 include Chromium engine?

Postby drughetto » Wed Aug 09, 2017 3:35 am

hi
does mediamonkey 5 include Chromium engine?

may i know why? and the purpose
i'm testing mediamonkey 5 beta under w7-8-and 10

thanks
drughetto
 
Posts: 139
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2012 2:19 am

Re: does mm5 include Chromium engine?

Postby jiri » Wed Aug 09, 2017 4:23 am

Yes, MM5 UI is fully developed in HTML/CSS/JS and it's powered by Chromium engine, particularly in order to be able to release MM for other platforms (i.e. not only Windows).

Jiri
jiri
 
Posts: 5290
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Re: does mm5 include Chromium engine?

Postby drughetto » Wed Aug 09, 2017 10:05 am

jiri wrote:Yes, MM5 UI is fully developed in HTML/CSS/JS and it's powered by Chromium engine, particularly in order to be able to release MM for other platforms (i.e. not only Windows).

Jiri

hi
thanks
so it's no more in compiled in C
well it's nice that mm5 will be released for osx and linux
but are very very very few linux users around , and sadly linux could die just because new hardware need support and money
about osx ,itunes it's full integrated in the osx operation system

i would liked a mm5 for windows only with the best performances
windows needs more then osx a program very well integrated and often multi platform programs run worse seeing they are not very optimazed
by the way this is the developers decision
drughetto
 
Posts: 139
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2012 2:19 am

Re: does mm5 include Chromium engine?

Postby Peke » Fri Aug 11, 2017 6:12 pm

Hi,
Let me be a an optimist and say that we are trying to make MM that way so that it doesn't fall under port trap. For that we need users to get us feedback.
Best regards,
Pavle
MM Core Developer and Admin of free MediaMonkey extensions Hosting
Image
Image
Peke
 
Posts: 10436
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia

Re: does mm5 include Chromium engine?

Postby Red Maw » Thu Aug 17, 2017 12:02 am

One thing I have been wondering about MM5 is if the entire application was being done on the chromium engine or just the frontend? If the backend is changing was there any noticeable performance impact on large databases?
Red Maw
 
Posts: 96
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2009 8:25 pm

Re: does mm5 include Chromium engine?

Postby jiri » Thu Aug 17, 2017 2:45 am

Only the frontend (and few other parts, where it made sense) is implemented in Chromium. The backend stays mostly the same, with the necessary changes for MM5 new features and also some optimizations, so that some operations are actually quite faster than in MM4.

Jiri
jiri
 
Posts: 5290
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Re: does mm5 include Chromium engine?

Postby Red Maw » Thu Aug 17, 2017 10:04 pm

jiri wrote:Only the frontend (and few other parts, where it made sense) is implemented in Chromium. The backend stays mostly the same, with the necessary changes for MM5 new features and also some optimizations, so that some operations are actually quite faster than in MM4.

Jiri


Excellent, that's what I was hoping to hear (as long as the backend code is mostly OS agnostic of course) :D
Red Maw
 
Posts: 96
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2009 8:25 pm


Return to MediaMonkey 5 developer forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests