Page 1 of 1

How should the VBS-JS Converter works ?

Posted: Fri Jan 06, 2017 6:34 pm
by crap_inhuman
Could you please explain, how the Converter works? How can i try to convert a script?

Re: How should the VBS-JS Converter works ?

Posted: Sat Jan 07, 2017 4:41 am
by PetrCBR
Simply install using extensions window and then click on new icon in toolbar.

Re: How should the VBS-JS Converter works ?

Posted: Sat Jan 07, 2017 10:32 am
by jiri
I'd just add that it simply converts the original VBS code to the new JS, including many API conversions. The resulting JS can be used in MM5 as a native MM5 script, i.e. added to Scripts folder. Sometimes there're almost no more code changes necessary, sometimes much thorough manual changes are necessary (depending on the coding style and language features used). Based on the way the script was used in MM4, some addition to MM UI might be necessary, e.g. if not already done by MM4 VBS code, an addition to MM5 'actions' list or addition to menus or toolbar might be necessary. Feel free to discuss any issues you encounter...

Jiri

Re: How should the VBS-JS Converter works ?

Posted: Tue Apr 11, 2017 12:52 pm
by Maka
PetrCBR wrote:Simply install using extensions window and then click on new icon in toolbar.
Hi
Tried this and it doesn't work.
When i click on the icon it does nothing.

Maka

Re: How should the VBS-JS Converter works ?

Posted: Wed Apr 12, 2017 1:52 am
by PetrCBR
You need to reinstall convert script.

Re: How should the VBS-JS Converter works ?

Posted: Wed Apr 12, 2017 5:56 am
by jiri
To clarify, a new version of the script was uploaded in order to fix the issue, it should work fine now.

Thanks,
Jiri

Re: How should the VBS-JS Converter works ?

Posted: Wed Apr 12, 2017 3:35 pm
by popsmike
jiri wrote:To clarify, a new version of the script was uploaded in order to fix the issue, it should work fine now.

Thanks,
Jiri
Hey Jiri, could you plase add a link to the new script as the only versions i can find are 1.1, unless this is correct but you haven't changed the version number.

Thanks
Mike

Re: How should the VBS-JS Converter works ?

Posted: Wed Apr 12, 2017 4:08 pm
by PetrCBR

Re: How should the VBS-JS Converter works ?

Posted: Thu Apr 13, 2017 9:03 am
by popsmike
Thanks for the link but this is the one I was using but its locked so can't post there.
The link a couple of posts above the latest one from jiri is a link to version 1.1 and was wondering if this is still the latest update withoout the version number being changed. Post dated 30th Jan 2017.

thanks again
Mike

Re: How should the VBS-JS Converter works ?

Posted: Fri Apr 14, 2017 2:52 am
by jiri
Yes, it's the latest version. Sorry for the confusion, will include a better versioning scheme in the future.

Jiri

Re: How should the VBS-JS Converter works ?

Posted: Fri Apr 14, 2017 12:23 pm
by popsmike
jiri wrote:Yes, it's the latest version. Sorry for the confusion, will include a better versioning scheme in the future.

Jiri
Thanks Jiri for the update.