Importing Playlist Question

Get answers about using the current release of MediaMonkey for Windows 8/RT

Moderator: Gurus

Importing Playlist Question

Postby funky monky » Thu Apr 04, 2013 7:08 pm

Heollooo alll

I am trying to import my playlists (.wpl) from media player.
Using media player, I have converted the playlists to .m3u format & now see double playlists in media player, one in .wpl and one in .m3u (I checked them).

Here is the problem: when I rescan the music library nothing comes in. When I use the "open File" button & navigate to a playlist in .m3u format Media Monkey gives me this message: FOLDER ACCESS NEEDED Application need access rights to folder with tracks from imported playlist....(it lists the playlist I am trying to import).

What gives?
What am I doing wrong?

Thanks!
funky monky
 

Re: Importing Playlist Question

Postby PetrCBR » Fri Apr 05, 2013 2:26 am

Hi. Can you send me your m3u file (petr <att> mediamonkey <dott> com) ?

EDIT: i've fixed some issues in m3u support (issue with tracks beginning with .\ or ..\)
PetrCBR
 
Posts: 1330
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2006 5:31 pm
Location: Czech

Re: Importing Playlist Question

Postby AndrewSaint » Sat Oct 12, 2013 2:41 pm

PetrCBR,

Are there still issue with playlists containing entries that start with "..\"? I have a new Win8.1 notebook, and keep all my music (and playlists) on a network drive. I've been able to import all of my music into the MediaMonkey app (1.0.4.62), but none of my playlists have appeared. (I keep them in a directory called Playlists in the same directory as all my music - i.e., Y:\FamilyMusic\Playlists).

A typical playlist on my drive looks something like this:

#EXTM3U

# Playlist for The Beatles' 1966 album, Revolver

..\The Beatles\Revolver\Taxman.mp3
..\The Beatles\Revolver\Eleanor Rigby.mp3


These playlists worked just fine in MediaMonkey 4.0.7.1511. Is there something I need to do?

Thanks for your help!
-A
AndrewSaint
 

Re: Importing Playlist Question

Postby dave851 » Sat Nov 07, 2015 12:46 pm

Just a generic question. In my music library I have dozens and dozens of Imported Playlists that always come up when I search for my playlists. Not sure if this is a partly cause I also have iTunes (although I dont really use it, but like how it organizes some music for playlist copy over into MM). And it seems every time I run MM it creates more imported playlists with lots of duplications. What am I doing wrong. Or do u need more information before giving assistance? windows 10 PC
dave851
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Mar 03, 2013 6:45 pm

Re: Importing Playlist Question

Postby nohitter151 » Sun Nov 08, 2015 10:10 am

dave851 wrote:Just a generic question. In my music library I have dozens and dozens of Imported Playlists that always come up when I search for my playlists. Not sure if this is a partly cause I also have iTunes (although I dont really use it, but like how it organizes some music for playlist copy over into MM). And it seems every time I run MM it creates more imported playlists with lots of duplications. What am I doing wrong. Or do u need more information before giving assistance? windows 10 PC

Those are playlists imported from the add/rescan function. So it means somewhere on your PC you have playlist files that are being imported.

You could find them on the drive and delete from the system or just uncheck "m3u" and other playlist types from the file types to scan in the add/rescan window.
MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.
nohitter151
 
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA


Return to Need help? (mm8)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests