Timeout when adding large playlists [12291]

Report bugs & feature requests for MediaMonkey for Android and learn about the newest beta build.

Moderator: Gurus

Timeout when adding large playlists [12291]

Postby bettertthan74 » Tue Nov 04, 2014 12:20 pm

I just installed the new beta this morning,
under the previous beta I could click the arrow at the top of my playlist listing (I have 15) and it would shuffle play through them
with the new beta, I click the button and either mediamonkey times out or it takes a long time to compile the new list (13500 songs with dupes). I've had it running for 3 min now and its only up to 6000..

I've noticed that any function that involves playlists takes a lot longer.

Thanks..

galaxy s4

mma 1.1.0.0328
Android 4.4.2
bettertthan74
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2012 2:59 pm

Re: Timeout when adding large playlists

Postby rusty » Tue Nov 04, 2014 2:19 pm

Thanks for the report. Re. 'Play all randomly' performance: I've added a bug at http://www.ventismedia.com/mantis/view.php?id=12291

As far as other playlist functions that are slow, can you give me an example? I did a couple of quick tests with 1500 track lists and didn't notice anything out of the ordinary.

Thanks!

-Rusty
rusty
 
Posts: 7020
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2003 3:39 am
Location: Montreal, Canada

Re: Timeout when adding large playlists [12291]

Postby bettertthan74 » Tue Nov 04, 2014 3:47 pm

Sure.. If I have a playlist playing (300 songs ) and add one more playlist (3300) songs.. it add pretty quick..
If I try to do the same with multiple lists.. all under 200 songs.. it takes a long longer.. sometimes triggering the app has stopped responding dialogue

something else I just noticed.. I have a few playlists nested...
like
-decades
--1980's
--1990's
--2000's

if I added them from the top level( decades) no problem..
if I go in and click on them individually to add.. its sending a debug log and giving me the mediamonkey has stopped error..

it just sent you a few logs..
bettertthan74
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2012 2:59 pm

Re: Timeout when adding large playlists [12291]

Postby rusty » Wed Nov 05, 2014 11:52 am

I'm testing with build 330, and am:

1) Not seeing any slowdown when adding multiple playlists to:
a) Now Playing
b) A new playlist

2) Not experiencing any crashes when I:
a) Add tracks to playlists
b) Add tracks to child playlists
c) Add playlists to child playlists
d) Add childplaylists to other playlists

Can you clarify and post any of the log IDs (we get hundreds of logs so unless there's a link in the forum / bug report to the log, it's difficult to match it up to your bug report)?

Thanks!

-Rusty
rusty
 
Posts: 7020
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2003 3:39 am
Location: Montreal, Canada

Re: Timeout when adding large playlists [12291]

Postby donnierunner » Fri Nov 07, 2014 11:41 am

I'm on build 331 and have the same issue with large playlists. It will lock up for 2 minutes or longer. Once the list is built and I go to play it, it may take another 2 minutes to start playing. I can pause immediately, but any restart or skip song gets the long wait.

I'm saying playlist, but this is the random play function under tracks. I have 10,320 tracks on my phone. I've not noticed this to be a problem until this release.

Galaxy S4
Android 4.4.4

Thanks,
Donnie
donnierunner
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2014 12:27 pm

Re: Timeout when adding large playlists [12291]

Postby bettertthan74 » Sat Nov 08, 2014 2:35 pm

On 335 it looks like the behavior has changed. If I add all my playlist no more stopping but it takes minutes as noted.. First song may begin to play during but you can't advanced till it's done adding.. And now it only plays first 3 or 4 songs.. It closes out to my list of play lists if I try to advance more than a few songs... No error log
bettertthan74
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2012 2:59 pm

Re: Timeout when adding large playlists [12291]

Postby rusty » Wed Nov 12, 2014 6:16 pm

This should be fixed in build 338. Can you confirm?

Thanks.

-Rusty
rusty
 
Posts: 7020
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2003 3:39 am
Location: Montreal, Canada

Re: Timeout when adding large playlists [12291]

Postby bettertthan74 » Fri Nov 14, 2014 7:49 pm

How do I know the log ID.. I've been putting my username Bettertthan74 in my descriptions.. I sent a few today..

I uninstalled and cleaned up my phone so I could test fresh.. here is what I get with 339

1. Adding all playlists to now playing using the button at top right of playlist list..
It starts to add. Can't really interact with MMA as it does..
After 30 seconds first song starts to play.. Can only listen, count of songs under total song time starts to increment.. at 10000 at about 1:30 point
at 2:00 min its at 220000, it should be 13500 total, It finishes at 24319 and is working after 3:30.. I don't know where the other 10000 are from..

Interacting with now playing list may play one song, then force close and sends alog

Reopen MMA and hit play. MMA locks up, no song plays .. Eventually force close..

At this point MMA is reindexing my phone, my plalists are gone and its adding songs as I watch. I'm assuming my database is corrupt now. Usually when that happens it won't open and I can see the SQL error using the log reader in android tuner.. its acting like it a new install for now
bettertthan74
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2012 2:59 pm

Re: Timeout when adding large playlists [12291]

Postby Lowlander » Fri Nov 14, 2014 7:59 pm

LogID is shown on the log submit screen.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)
Lowlander
 
Posts: 43176
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Timeout when adding large playlists [12291]

Postby bettertthan74 » Fri Nov 14, 2014 8:21 pm

OK.. I'll start adding it..

I let it finish indexing and am just adding all tracks from the tracks section.

It force closed first time.. I repeated and it looks like it finally made it .. 3607 songs..

I couldn't advance past three songs..

Closed out

trying again.
its taking long to switch between songs.. asked by android if I should wait after progressing to 4th.. song started playing in background so I said yes
I got to 4.. but now it won't advance..I can go back to the previous 4 but it says has 3607 in the list..
bettertthan74
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2012 2:59 pm

Re: Timeout when adding large playlists [12291]

Postby rusty » Sun Nov 16, 2014 11:48 pm

Hi,

Can you provide more detail?

i.e. did you again 'play all randomly' for the 13,500 tracks in the playlist? And the Now Playing list only ended up with 3607 tracks instead of 13.5k? What happened when you tried to advance beyond track 3--did playback just stop?

Also, what build number was this on (341 I hope)? Can you generate a log ID ?

Thanks.

-Rusty
rusty
 
Posts: 7020
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2003 3:39 am
Location: Montreal, Canada

Re: Timeout when adding large playlists [12291]

Postby bettertthan74 » Mon Nov 17, 2014 5:52 pm

This was all on 341.
Sorry for the confusion, I tend to use MMA in the car and was sitting at my desk I was trying to walk through what I do..

I have 3500 songs synced
My playlists (with duplicates) add up to 13000 songs..

On most days I just hit the play arrow above all the playlists and let it add them to now playing in what seems like shuffled order.. Songs I listen to more appear in more playlists ( most played, highest rated, plays over x times) and therefore appear more often in now playing, so I get a mix of songs I've been listening to a alot with some songs I forgot about ..

anyway

I wanted to go through and redo the post this morning, but my database corrupted after my last sync. Media monkey opens and my playlists and tracks are gone and I usually have to reinstall and resync. The last few versions just kick off a media scan and rebuild, but my ratings won't be there and the playlists will be really off, 20000 songs instead of 2000...
I have logs from android tuner of when this happens.. It will usually log a mediamonkey error about an sql statement erroring out a certain line and then a note about database corruption..

..

II'll sync tonight and repeat what I did.. right now I can add 3500 without issue, buts a library that doesn't have any stats from MM..
bettertthan74
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2012 2:59 pm

Re: Timeout when adding large playlists [12291]

Postby rusty » Wed Nov 19, 2014 11:01 am

:-(

Did you do a USB sync or WiFi sync?

-Rusty
rusty
 
Posts: 7020
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2003 3:39 am
Location: Montreal, Canada

Re: Timeout when adding large playlists [12291]

Postby bettertthan74 » Wed Nov 19, 2014 1:20 pm

Only wifi sync
bettertthan74
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2012 2:59 pm

Re: Timeout when adding large playlists [12291]

Postby rusty » Wed Nov 19, 2014 6:08 pm

Strange... Let's ignore the sync problem for the moment. Please let me know what you find once you're set up again.

Thanks.

-Rusty
rusty
 
Posts: 7020
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2003 3:39 am
Location: Montreal, Canada

Next

Return to Beta Testing, Bugs & Feature requests (mma)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests