MM only plays one track at a time when streaming [#11412]

Get answers about how to share with different devices.

Moderator: Gurus

MM only plays one track at a time when streaming [#11412]

Postby Martin Brown » Tue Oct 24, 2017 4:05 am

Situation normal: When playing music via MM on my (Windows 10) PC, I select a track in the main file list OR in the play list. When that track is finished, it plays the next track. I presume that is normal and that is indeed exactly what I want.

Problem: When 'streaming' to a 'renderer', MM plays the one selected track and then stops until I manually select another track. It plays any manually selected track perfectly but I can find no way to make it run down a file-list or a play-list. It won't even play the same track continuously.

Interestingly, when any renderer is selected the progress bar underneath the file list disappears but the music still plays just fine.

The device I have connected to my hifi is a Musaic MPL which plays one track at a time beautifully. When I use Windows to 'cast' to the Musaic MPL, it plays the selected tracks sequentially, just as you would expect - but I want to use MM, not Windows.

From MM, I have selected the MPL via: Tools/Options/Player/UPnP_DNLA Renderer/Musaic MPL (The MPL and my other two renderers are all shown in MM as options).


Any ideas how to get MM to behave 'normally'? The disappearing progress bar may be a clue!
Martin Brown
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue May 23, 2017 3:29 am

Re: MM only plays one track at a time when streaming

Postby Lowlander » Tue Oct 24, 2017 10:08 am

Which version of MediaMonkey?
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)
Lowlander
 
Posts: 44060
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: MM only plays one track at a time when streaming

Postby Martin Brown » Tue Oct 24, 2017 1:09 pm

Latest version, updated yesterday (23/10/2017).
Martin Brown
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue May 23, 2017 3:29 am

Re: MM only plays one track at a time when streaming

Postby Martin Brown » Tue Oct 24, 2017 1:11 pm

Try again... latest version of 'MM Gold' updated yesterday.
Martin Brown
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue May 23, 2017 3:29 am

Re: MM only plays one track at a time when streaming

Postby captain paranoia » Fri Oct 27, 2017 4:05 pm

I have experienced this with some renderers (DLNA apps on Android).

BubbleUPnP app DMR advances tracks okay.
Denon DRA-N5 streaming amp advances okay.
Soundmate M1 DMR advances okay.

Seems to be some difference in interpretation of the DLNA spec between devices, at both ends...
captain paranoia
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed Jul 07, 2010 1:41 pm

Re: MM only plays one track at a time when streaming

Postby Lowlander » Fri Oct 27, 2017 7:20 pm

You can capture this in a debug log (step 4b) and attach it to a Support Ticket: viewtopic.php?f=20&t=69
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)
Lowlander
 
Posts: 44060
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Track plays but doesn't move on to next track

Postby bails » Thu Nov 30, 2017 3:12 pm

Just installed MM on my W10 laptop to play music files on a Synology NAS. When hooked up to a Cambridge CXN via uPnP and I attempt to play a list of tracks it plays the first but when it gets to the end of the track, it just stops and I have to select the next track to play it. This plays to the end and then stops, etc. If I change the player to MediaMonkey in Options and take the signal out via the laptop USB to the CXN, all is well and the list of tracks selected play one after the other. Hope that makes sense. Anybody got any ideas about what is wrong?
bails
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2017 2:55 pm

Re: MM only plays one track at a time when streaming

Postby Lowlander » Thu Nov 30, 2017 8:17 pm

I suggest a debug log like mentioned above.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)
Lowlander
 
Posts: 44060
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: MM only plays one track at a time when streaming

Postby bails » Fri Dec 01, 2017 4:41 am

Submitted, thanks
bails
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2017 2:55 pm

Re: MM only plays one track at a time when streaming

Postby rusty » Mon Dec 04, 2017 1:49 pm

Thanks--this will be fixed in 4.1.20. Tracked at:
http://www.ventismedia.com/mantis/view.php?id=11412

-Rusty
rusty
 
Posts: 7090
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2003 3:39 am
Location: Montreal, Canada

Re: MM only plays one track at a time when streaming [#11412

Postby Martin Brown » Mon Dec 04, 2017 4:16 pm

If the problem is fixed in 4.1.20, does that mean it should also work for me and my Musaic MPL?

I started this thread, you suggested a debug log to me, but I barely understand what that is - so I have done nothing.
Martin Brown
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue May 23, 2017 3:29 am

Re: MM only plays one track at a time when streaming [#11412

Postby Kevin1 » Mon Jan 15, 2018 9:07 pm

I have been monitoring this thread for a while and like others the problem persists for me despite installing the latest RC 4.1.20.1863.

I Use FetchTV and the DLNA settings allows MM to connect and all music is visible however only one song is played at a time.

I'm also seeing the following:-

1. I see all the playlists, however the total number of tracks on the FetchTV is "0" for each Playlist.
2. When I click on the playlist however i can see all the tracks it contains, but again only one track is played and it does not progress to the next unless you do it manually.

If you require any logs please provide instructions on how?
Kevin1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2016 3:42 am

Re: MM only plays one track at a time when streaming [#11412

Postby Martin Brown » Tue Jan 16, 2018 3:32 am

Well, there's another mystery.

You seem to have version 4.1.20 but my current version is 4.1.19.1859 and it SAYS it is the latest version.

What gives? How do I get an update to 4.1.20 if my current one is telling me it is the latest?
Martin Brown
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue May 23, 2017 3:29 am

Re: MM only plays one track at a time when streaming [#11412

Postby Lowlander » Tue Jan 16, 2018 12:39 pm

It's available in the Beta forum.

Capture these problems in a debug log (step 4b) and attach the log to a Support Ticket: viewtopic.php?f=20&t=341
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)
Lowlander
 
Posts: 44060
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: MM only plays one track at a time when streaming [#11412

Postby Kevin1 » Thu Jan 18, 2018 1:15 am

Hi,

Log Files and images up loaded
Last edited by Kevin1 on Thu Jan 18, 2018 1:37 am, edited 1 time in total.
Kevin1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2016 3:42 am

Next

Return to Need Help with UPnP / DLNA ?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests