My UPnP / DLNA Questions

Get answers about sharing MediaMonkey for Windows 4 with different devices.

Moderator: Gurus

SneakyDave1

My UPnP / DLNA Questions

Post by SneakyDave1 »

OK, I've used Media Monkey for quite a while, and I love it, but I have a few questions about strange things going on with media sharing....

I have my MM media server running, and devices recognize it, and I can access music playlists for it, so the basic functionality works... Here are my questions and confusions.

1) I have an Android device. When I access my media server from my Android device via DLNA, It recognizes the media server, and the playlists, but when the playlists load, some playlists only show a few songs, or one song, not every song in the playlist. Other devices don't appears to have this problem.

2) Maybe I'm a newb, but I'm trying to understand how auto conversion works with media sharing. For instance. I have DirecTV clients that can recognize the MM media server. But the DirecTV client can't read 3gp video, the file names show up in the client, and there is an "X" next to them indicating that the format isn't supported by DirecTV.

Once I realized this, I thought I could set up auto conversion in the media server so that any incompatible video format is converted to WMV, which DirecTV supports. I then realized that that conversion rule is already established in MM. It says to convert any incompatible audio or video to WMV format, but yet, the DirectV device won't attempt to play the file, it still shows an X by the file name. I tried to create a specific conversion rule to convert any 3gp video to WMV, but that didn't work either.

I guess I'm curious when this auto-conversion is supposed to happen? Maybe I'm just confused about how it is supposed to work.