Milkdrop 2 MediaMonkey Port

Download and get help for different MediaMonkey Addons.

Moderators: Peke, Gurus

Re: Milkdrop 2 MediaMonkey Port

Postby tarasis » Tue Oct 11, 2016 5:23 pm

I'm having an issue with Fullscreen and Desktop Modes on Windows 10.

When I run my desktop at 2560x1080, and neither mode works properly for me. Fullscreen turns the screen black for a short time and then returns to the desktop & MediaMonkey. In Desktop mode is only fills about a 1/3 of the desktop on the right hand side.

If I force the GFX card to use 1920x1080 for the desktop, then the Desktop mode runs properly. Switching the res for Fullscreen mode in options to 1920x1080 works, except that when quitting (pressing Esc) it causes the screen to go black except the mouse pointer is visible and changes as appropriate for going over windows. After a minute or twoa spinning wait icon appears and the desktop reverts to being properly visible.

"12/10/2016 00:14 Application Error Faulting application name: VisHelper.exe, version: 0.0.0.0, time stamp: 0x57ea5656
Faulting module name: nvd3dum.dll, version: 21.21.13.7306, time stamp: 0x57f0081d
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x006c4da3
Faulting process ID: 0x1e48
Faulting application start time: 0x01d2240ca2ffd3f9
Faulting application path: C:\Program Files (x86)\MediaMonkey\VisHelper.exe
Faulting module path: C:\WINDOWS\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository\nv_dispi.inf_amd64_3baaab0007230109\nvd3dum.dll
Report ID: bcdf8885-7561-4479-bf07-aa85bd6e8f20
Faulting package full name: 
Faulting package-relative application ID:
"

System is

Windows 10 64bit
NVidia GTX 970 (driver 373.06)
16GB Ram
i7-4790k
tarasis
 
Posts: 66
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2006 6:29 am
Location: Buchholz, Germany

Re: Milkdrop 2 MediaMonkey Port

Postby Peke » Tue Oct 11, 2016 5:59 pm

Hi,
Error in nvd3dum.dll indicate issue with buffer release/allocation within driver itself. I teste dand do not have such issue with resolution 3840x1200 on ATI R9 280x card.
Best regards,
Pavle
MM Core Developer and Admin of free MediaMonkey extensions Hosting
Image
Image
Peke
 
Posts: 10434
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia

Re: Milkdrop 2 MediaMonkey Port

Postby mstrange » Tue Oct 11, 2016 6:38 pm

Peke wrote:Hi,
Error in nvd3dum.dll indicate issue with buffer release/allocation within driver itself. I teste dand do not have such issue with resolution 3840x1200 on ATI R9 280x card.


Hi Peke, is it a constant issue? Do you know which NVIDIA card specifically you're seeing this on? I have an NVIDIA card myself and haven't had any issues so my first thought is hitting a hardware resource limitation of some kind.

You can see if going to Configuration | MORE SETTINGS and setting

Pixel Shaders to "Shader Model 2"

Makes a difference.
mstrange
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 4:45 pm
Location: Seattle, USA

Re: Milkdrop 2 MediaMonkey Port

Postby tarasis » Wed Oct 12, 2016 4:22 pm

mstrange wrote:
Peke wrote:Hi,
Error in nvd3dum.dll indicate issue with buffer release/allocation within driver itself. I teste dand do not have such issue with resolution 3840x1200 on ATI R9 280x card.


Hi Peke, is it a constant issue? Do you know which NVIDIA card specifically you're seeing this on? I have an NVIDIA card myself and haven't had any issues so my first thought is hitting a hardware resource limitation of some kind.

You can see if going to Configuration | MORE SETTINGS and setting

Pixel Shaders to "Shader Model 2"

Makes a difference.


Hi mstrange, it was me that was having the issue not Peke :)

The NVidia card is a GTX 970 (Gigabyte Gaming G1), connected with display port to an LG 21:9 monitor (2560x1080).

Test At Native Resolution

If I run with native resolution then the Desktop mode only fills a portion of the screen and the icons flicker through.

Image

Link to image as its only showing half the image here

Using Fullscreen it starts with the screen black and then goes back to the desktop with no visualization running and no errors that I can find anywhere. Setting the Fullscreen resolution to 1920x1080 in the MD2 settings makes no difference.

Test at fixed 1920x1080 resolution

If I set the video card desktop resolution to 1920x1080 (and configure Md2 to use 1920x1080), then desktop mode works properly and fills the whole desktop.

If I try Fullscreen using either Pixel Shader 2 & 3 (in MD2 options), it runs fine but upon exiting (pressing ESC) I get a black screen except for a mouse pointer which reacts to windows that aren't visible and then after a few minutes I get the whirly busy icon on the mouse pointer and the desktop appears properly and the following is in the Windows Error logs:

Faulting application name: VisHelper.exe, version: 0.0.0.0, time stamp: 0x57ea5656
Faulting module name: nvd3dum.dll, version: 21.21.13.7306, time stamp: 0x57f0081d
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x00690ea5
Faulting process ID: 0x3698
Faulting application start time: 0x01d224cd2fb55738
Faulting application path: C:\Program Files (x86)\MediaMonkey\VisHelper.exe
Faulting module path: C:\WINDOWS\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository\nv_dispi.inf_amd64_3baaab0007230109\nvd3dum.dll
Report ID: 98ade2ad-6206-42b2-9e5a-5426dd6dfa08
Faulting package full name:
Faulting package-relative application ID:
tarasis
 
Posts: 66
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2006 6:29 am
Location: Buchholz, Germany

Re: Milkdrop 2 MediaMonkey Port

Postby tarasis » Wed Oct 12, 2016 4:25 pm

Peke wrote:Hi,
Error in nvd3dum.dll indicate issue with buffer release/allocation within driver itself. I teste dand do not have such issue with resolution 3840x1200 on ATI R9 280x card.


Cheers Peke. I guess I should try the 368.xx series of drivers and see if they work properly.
tarasis
 
Posts: 66
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2006 6:29 am
Location: Buchholz, Germany

Re: Milkdrop 2 MediaMonkey Port

Postby Peke » Wed Oct 12, 2016 6:07 pm

Hi,
Please let us know the results. Try also to search web for errors in nvd3dum.dll, as from what I see it is not lone problem.
Best regards,
Pavle
MM Core Developer and Admin of free MediaMonkey extensions Hosting
Image
Image
Peke
 
Posts: 10434
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia

Re: Milkdrop 2 MediaMonkey Port

Postby GMGJ » Wed Apr 26, 2017 4:57 pm

Install Milkdrop 2 like this

Winamp plugins needs to be installed as Administrator not as User.

start mmw as administrator
Go to Tools -> Extensions -> ADD
Locate Milkdrop2 plugin installation download
Disable Per User Plugin installation
restart MMW

I got some very strange and misleading error messages. After a few tries, I got a link to download prior versions of Directx.
https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/downloa ... px?id=8109
this works as well
https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/downloa ... aspx?id=35

Example error message - Error Compiling ps_2_0 warp shader[/quote]
Compos
GMGJ
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2007 3:17 pm

Previous

Return to Need Help with Addons?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests