Backup 6.0 - Updated 01/07/2014

Download and get help for different MediaMonkey Addons.

Moderators: Peke, Gurus

brianon
Posts: 78
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 4:48 am

Re: Backup 5.8 - Updated 27/10/2010

Post by brianon » Mon Feb 10, 2014 5:32 am

This script is 'exactly' what I need at the moment. I can't get it to work correctly though.

It only ever pastes the metadata for the first file. Then I get a msgbox with "Error executing script event. Permission denied.".
If i just copy/paste 1 track instead of multiple it copies the metadata but then spits out the msgbox with the error.

Any ideas ?

**Getting the following now when I run MM as admin.
Error #70 Vbscript runtime error. Permission denied. Line 5294, Column 10.
Image

trixmoto
Posts: 10024
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2005 3:28 am
Location: Hull, UK
Contact:

Re: Backup 5.8 - Updated 27/10/2010

Post by trixmoto » Wed Feb 12, 2014 3:58 am

I'm not sure you've posted this to the right thread, this script doesn't copy and paste metadata.
Download my scripts at my own MediaMonkey fansite.
All the code for my website and scripts is safely backed up immediately and for free using Dropbox.

john hack
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Feb 22, 2014 4:52 pm

Re: Backup 5.8 - Updated 27/10/2010

Post by john hack » Mon Feb 24, 2014 12:18 am

I have tried this with MM 4.1 on WIN 8 and nothing seems to happen
Am I doing something wrong

john

nohitter151
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: Backup 5.8 - Updated 27/10/2010

Post by nohitter151 » Mon Feb 24, 2014 8:41 am

john hack wrote:I have tried this with MM 4.1 on WIN 8 and nothing seems to happen
Am I doing something wrong

john
Did you set it up at Tools > Scripts > Backup?
MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.

john hack
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Feb 22, 2014 4:52 pm

Re: Backup 5.8 - Updated 27/10/2010

Post by john hack » Fri Feb 28, 2014 11:48 pm

Has this been tested with win 8. It does not seem to do anything for me at all

john hack
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Feb 22, 2014 4:52 pm

Re: Backup 5.8 - Updated 27/10/2010

Post by john hack » Fri Feb 28, 2014 11:50 pm

sorry. I am asking if backup 5.8 works with win 8 because i cant get anything to happen

john

lizat
Posts: 56
Joined: Mon Aug 18, 2008 4:05 pm

Restore script incomplete

Post by lizat » Sat Mar 01, 2014 4:34 am

I have trixmito's backup utility. However I don't think it;s right since the vb script it produces looks like this:

Set shl = CreateObject("WScript.Shell")
Set fso = CreateObject("Scripting.FileSystemObject")
path = fso.GetParentFolderName(WScript.ScriptFullName)
user = Replace(shl.ExpandEnvironmentStrings("%USERPROFILE%")&"\","\\","\")
user = InputBox("Enter Windows user directory:","Backup 5.8 - Restore",user)
If user = "" Then WScript.Quit
appl = Replace(shl.ExpandEnvironmentStrings("%PROGRAMFILES%")&"\MediaMonkey\","\\","\")
appl = InputBox("Enter MediaMonkey directory:","Backup 5.8 - Restore",appl)
If appl = "" Then WScript.Quit
then many "NULLs"

every one is like this except one from several months ago which looks correct. What might be wrong and how can I correct it?

thank you........................ liz
Last edited by Lowlander on Sat Mar 01, 2014 12:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Merged with existing post

popsmike
Posts: 174
Joined: Thu Oct 05, 2006 11:02 am
Location: Hull,UK

Re: Backup 5.8 - Updated 27/10/2010

Post by popsmike » Sat Mar 01, 2014 4:54 am

Did you try what nohitter151 suggested above your latest posts.

trixmoto
Posts: 10024
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2005 3:28 am
Location: Hull, UK
Contact:

Re: Backup 5.8 - Updated 27/10/2010

Post by trixmoto » Sun Mar 02, 2014 4:10 pm

I've not tested it on Windows 8, because I don't have a Windows 8 machine.
Download my scripts at my own MediaMonkey fansite.
All the code for my website and scripts is safely backed up immediately and for free using Dropbox.

lizat
Posts: 56
Joined: Mon Aug 18, 2008 4:05 pm

Re: Backup 5.8 - Updated 27/10/2010

Post by lizat » Tue Mar 04, 2014 3:51 pm

Hi Trix,

I am on Windows 7. I have many backups and almost all have incomplete restore scripts and the MM db is reported as corrupt. What could have caused this? I have used it for years and assumed it was ok, it runs on close and reports completion.

liz

trixmoto
Posts: 10024
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2005 3:28 am
Location: Hull, UK
Contact:

Re: Backup 5.8 - Updated 27/10/2010

Post by trixmoto » Sat Mar 08, 2014 2:58 pm

In what way are the scripts incomplete? The database is just file copied, so I don't see how it could be corrupted.
Download my scripts at my own MediaMonkey fansite.
All the code for my website and scripts is safely backed up immediately and for free using Dropbox.

MyCsPiTTa
Posts: 128
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2007 4:56 pm

Re: Backup 5.8 - Updated 27/10/2010

Post by MyCsPiTTa » Sat Apr 05, 2014 12:44 am

Hi,

I've just done a fresh install of windows and MM, along with backup 5.8.

In backups options Output Archive is greyed out - I remember in the past some zipping file needed to be installed, but that usually gave some error upon back rather than a greyed box.

gpzbc
Posts: 1226
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2008 12:02 am
Location: Colorado, USA

Re: Backup 5.8 - Updated 27/10/2010

Post by gpzbc » Sun Apr 06, 2014 10:41 pm

MyCsPiTTa wrote:Hi,

I've just done a fresh install of windows and MM, along with backup 5.8.

In backups options Output Archive is greyed out - I remember in the past some zipping file needed to be installed, but that usually gave some error upon back rather than a greyed box.
I could be wrong, but the reason why you can't tick the archive boxes is because you need to register your zip dll. Check out this post.http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... 40#p373857
--
The gpzbc

MyCsPiTTa
Posts: 128
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2007 4:56 pm

Re: Backup 5.8 - Updated 27/10/2010

Post by MyCsPiTTa » Mon Apr 07, 2014 6:07 am

gpzbc wrote:
Gretchen wrote:Okay - new problem :-)
I don't think I have my backup settings setup correctly. I am unable to check "Output Archive."
It sounds like you need to register your dll. See this post:
http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... bc#p258498

But that was the instructions for MM 3.XX. And now on MM 4.XX, your dll is stored at "C:\Users\XXXX\AppData\Roaming\MediaMonkey\Scripts\XZip.dll"

So, on MediaMonkey 4.XX, the new instructions are:

a. Open command prompt by typing cmd.exe into start menu.
b. right-click on the command prompt shortcut and select "Run as administrator"
c. Input this command: regsvr32 "C:\Users\XXXX\AppData\Roaming\MediaMonkey\Scripts\XZip.dll"

I hope that helps!
My problem is exactly the same as Gretchen's, but when I try your suggestion, the "module fails to load", and actually I cannot find xzip.dll in the folder you specify (or, in fact, on my C drive at all) - Is there a was to install this dll?

EDIT: I downloaded XZip.dll from the web and put it in the folder above, then followed your instructions to register it. Now the Output Archive box can be ticked and the backup works perfectly !
Last edited by MyCsPiTTa on Tue Apr 08, 2014 9:37 am, edited 1 time in total.

DMLCo
Posts: 70
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2005 12:07 pm

Re: Backup 5.8 - Updated 27/10/2010

Post by DMLCo » Mon Apr 07, 2014 9:58 pm

I almost fainted with joy when I saw the description of this script, and eagerly downloaded it ... running it produces a MM dialog box that says Backup Was Not Installed. Any ideas?
This used to show my recently played tracks. Sad to see @lozzd's tool go dark.

Post Reply