Import M3U 3.8 - Updated 26/10/2013

Download and get help for different MediaMonkey Addons.

Moderators: Peke, Gurus

endurelement10

Re: Import M3U 3.6 - Updated 17/02/2011

Post by endurelement10 » Mon Mar 28, 2011 1:29 am

Sorry about that.

I Got it installed correctly, but now when I try to import a playlist, I just get an "Error: no tracks were imported."

trixmoto
Posts: 10024
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2005 3:28 am
Location: Barton, UK
Contact:

Re: Import M3U 3.6 - Updated 17/02/2011

Post by trixmoto » Mon Mar 28, 2011 5:19 am

Does the playlist actually point to file which are in your library?
Download my scripts at my own MediaMonkey fansite.
All the code for my website and scripts is safely backed up immediately and for free using Dropbox.
Send me BTC: 34VQPVsf9mCeR4nfhFvvBYZqQ7LkqNZ8Mn
Send me LTC: 3P1mzrfbyscdhbxRpXLgKz7tufGAU3SrEG
Send me DOGE: 9xPpYSqgF7P5yQiqvE1VqWb4UjxVCCLFJ6
Check out these great cryptocurrency faucets... BTC / LTC / DOGE

endurelement10

Re: Import M3U 3.6 - Updated 17/02/2011

Post by endurelement10 » Mon Mar 28, 2011 11:57 pm

Does the playlist need to be in MM playlist directory? What is MM's playlist directory?

Thank you,

Lowlander
Posts: 45062
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Import M3U 3.6 - Updated 17/02/2011

Post by Lowlander » Tue Mar 29, 2011 1:29 am

There is no MM Playlist Directory (Playlists are stored in the database). They need to be in the folder you're scanning (File > Add/Rescan Tracks) for them to be picked up, but the folder can be any location.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

HarmL

Re: Import M3U 3.6 - Updated 17/02/2011

Post by HarmL » Mon Jul 18, 2011 7:30 am

I found a possible bug: this script is not able to read the .m3u8 files I generated from a jscript script using fso.CreateTextFile(filename, true, true) - where the last "true" means that the file is opened as unicode. If I open the files in notepad everything looks normal and in vlc player it opens just fine, but when I run the importm3u script in MediaMonkey it reads very strange filenames with all kinds of non-latin characters. Do you know what the problem might be?

regards,

Harm

Guest

Re: Import M3U 3.6 - Updated 17/02/2011

Post by Guest » Mon Jul 18, 2011 7:54 am

By the way: the problem occurs only if the file is in UTF-16, not if it is in UTF-8.

Harm

trixmoto
Posts: 10024
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2005 3:28 am
Location: Barton, UK
Contact:

Re: Import M3U 3.6 - Updated 17/02/2011

Post by trixmoto » Tue Jul 19, 2011 2:55 am

VBScript can't handle UTF-16, so there's nothing I can do to fix this, sorry.
Download my scripts at my own MediaMonkey fansite.
All the code for my website and scripts is safely backed up immediately and for free using Dropbox.
Send me BTC: 34VQPVsf9mCeR4nfhFvvBYZqQ7LkqNZ8Mn
Send me LTC: 3P1mzrfbyscdhbxRpXLgKz7tufGAU3SrEG
Send me DOGE: 9xPpYSqgF7P5yQiqvE1VqWb4UjxVCCLFJ6
Check out these great cryptocurrency faucets... BTC / LTC / DOGE

rozietozie
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2011 6:01 pm

Re: Import M3U 3.6 - Updated 17/02/2011

Post by rozietozie » Fri Aug 26, 2011 6:06 pm

Hi I am using your ImportM3U script, and I am having a bit of trouble with it.. Probably not using it correctlly... I have over 80,000 Mp3's I am a DJ.. I am forever making playlists... I would like to know specifically how I use your script... How I would setup my notepad... Right now I have have successfully created my notepad which just has a list of the song and the artists beside the song title.... and it does go into MM.... The thing is, I thought it would go through my library and find the actually song, which it does not, although the playlist shows up.. its almost like an empty file, with no file path, can u tell me what I am doing wrong..

if anybody can help me I would so appreciate it! even a step by step would be great... I am a geek and can usually figure this stuff out But I am having issues with this one...

trixmoto
Posts: 10024
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2005 3:28 am
Location: Barton, UK
Contact:

Re: Import M3U 3.6 - Updated 17/02/2011

Post by trixmoto » Sat Aug 27, 2011 6:41 am

This script is designed for importing M3U files that are correctly formatted. If you're trying to import a text file as a playlist then you should try my "Recreate M3U" script.
Download my scripts at my own MediaMonkey fansite.
All the code for my website and scripts is safely backed up immediately and for free using Dropbox.
Send me BTC: 34VQPVsf9mCeR4nfhFvvBYZqQ7LkqNZ8Mn
Send me LTC: 3P1mzrfbyscdhbxRpXLgKz7tufGAU3SrEG
Send me DOGE: 9xPpYSqgF7P5yQiqvE1VqWb4UjxVCCLFJ6
Check out these great cryptocurrency faucets... BTC / LTC / DOGE

thefaceman
Posts: 367
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2005 10:43 pm

Re: Import M3U 3.6 - Updated 17/02/2011

Post by thefaceman » Mon Oct 24, 2011 7:51 am

I seem to be having problems with importing m3u files. My current issue is that my 'artist' names are not getting imported correcty from the 'filename' format. If I import, only the 'last name' seems to be imported, not the whole artist name. I can use the 'auto-tag from filename' option to fix it but it a little time consuming. What am I doing wrong?

Also this may be a different issue, but my 'database' seems to have 'duplicate' listings for the exact same song. This started happening only after I started importing my playlists. How do I remove the duplicates that are pointing to the exact same filename?

thanks for your time in advance

trixmoto
Posts: 10024
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2005 3:28 am
Location: Barton, UK
Contact:

Re: Import M3U 3.6 - Updated 17/02/2011

Post by trixmoto » Mon Oct 24, 2011 3:00 pm

I don't know why "Auto-tag from filename" would be any different because this script just uses the SongData.MetadataFromFilename method which I thought used the same process.

You can try to enable the log to see if your imports are creating new database records or using existing ones. If the path is already in the database then it should just use the existing record. Are you sure the paths are identical?
Download my scripts at my own MediaMonkey fansite.
All the code for my website and scripts is safely backed up immediately and for free using Dropbox.
Send me BTC: 34VQPVsf9mCeR4nfhFvvBYZqQ7LkqNZ8Mn
Send me LTC: 3P1mzrfbyscdhbxRpXLgKz7tufGAU3SrEG
Send me DOGE: 9xPpYSqgF7P5yQiqvE1VqWb4UjxVCCLFJ6
Check out these great cryptocurrency faucets... BTC / LTC / DOGE

thefaceman
Posts: 367
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2005 10:43 pm

Re: Import M3U 3.6 - Updated 17/02/2011

Post by thefaceman » Wed Oct 26, 2011 9:01 am

trixmoto wrote:I don't know why "Auto-tag from filename" would be any different because this script just uses the SongData.MetadataFromFilename method which I thought used the same process.

You can try to enable the log to see if your imports are creating new database records or using existing ones. If the path is already in the database then it should just use the existing record. Are you sure the paths are identical?
Unfortunately I do not know how to 'enable the log'. The 'path' is certainly not identical, so that may be the problem. As it is now on a new computer.

So I am not sure what my next steps should be.

-thanks

trixmoto
Posts: 10024
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2005 3:28 am
Location: Barton, UK
Contact:

Re: Import M3U 3.6 - Updated 17/02/2011

Post by trixmoto » Wed Oct 26, 2011 1:05 pm

If the paths are different then you'll need to try my "Recreate M3U" script.
Download my scripts at my own MediaMonkey fansite.
All the code for my website and scripts is safely backed up immediately and for free using Dropbox.
Send me BTC: 34VQPVsf9mCeR4nfhFvvBYZqQ7LkqNZ8Mn
Send me LTC: 3P1mzrfbyscdhbxRpXLgKz7tufGAU3SrEG
Send me DOGE: 9xPpYSqgF7P5yQiqvE1VqWb4UjxVCCLFJ6
Check out these great cryptocurrency faucets... BTC / LTC / DOGE

thefaceman
Posts: 367
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2005 10:43 pm

Re: Import M3U 3.6 - Updated 17/02/2011

Post by thefaceman » Wed Oct 26, 2011 2:36 pm

trixmoto wrote:If the paths are different then you'll need to try my "Recreate M3U" script.
OK - I will try that one also, but it quite odd the Import m3u 3.6 script ALMOST works. When I import the m3u, it does a good just EXCEPT that it DROPS the FIRST word in the artist field (like gerry and the pacemakers is listed only as and the pacemakers), but then I can use the Auto-tag from file name it is fixes the problem.

But I suspect you are telling me to use the 'recreate m3u' list so that it will not create the 'duplicate' problem.
Is that correct?

And is there an easy way to remove the 'exact' duplicates from the database?

Thanks for your patience again :-?

trixmoto
Posts: 10024
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2005 3:28 am
Location: Barton, UK
Contact:

Re: Import M3U 3.6 - Updated 17/02/2011

Post by trixmoto » Thu Oct 27, 2011 3:11 am

I can't explain why the artist name isn't working, I just use an API method to extract the data so the MM developers would need to look at that.

Yes, this script only works if the paths are exactly the same, that's how it was designed. My "Recreate M3U" script is designed to try to match up old paths with the tracks in your database to update to the new path during import.

You could try using the "Duplicate Report" script which I wrote, although another developer has since taken ownership of it, so I don't know what state it's currently in. I trust it's a good one though :)
Download my scripts at my own MediaMonkey fansite.
All the code for my website and scripts is safely backed up immediately and for free using Dropbox.
Send me BTC: 34VQPVsf9mCeR4nfhFvvBYZqQ7LkqNZ8Mn
Send me LTC: 3P1mzrfbyscdhbxRpXLgKz7tufGAU3SrEG
Send me DOGE: 9xPpYSqgF7P5yQiqvE1VqWb4UjxVCCLFJ6
Check out these great cryptocurrency faucets... BTC / LTC / DOGE

Post Reply