Randomise Playlist 1.3 - Updated 20/10/2010

Download and get help for different MediaMonkey Addons.

Moderators: Peke, Gurus

nynaevelan
Posts: 5559
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 11:07 pm
Location: New Jersey, USA
Contact:

Re: Randomise Playlist 1.1 [MM2+3]

Post by nynaevelan » Sat Dec 12, 2009 7:28 pm

I'm not sure but I would close MM, delete the Randomise.vbs and delete the entry from the script.ini. Then re-open MM and re-install the script to see if it installs correctly. Also, try rebooting the computer, maybe that has something to do with it. Does any other scripts cause these kinds of problems??
3.2x - Win7 Ultimate (Zen Touch 2 16 GB/Zen 8GB)
Link to Favorite Scripts/Skins

Join Dropbox, the online site to share your files

aulb89
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2010 12:36 pm

Re: Randomise Playlist 1.1 [MM2+3]

Post by aulb89 » Tue Feb 23, 2010 12:47 pm

Thank you, trixmoto, for your hard work in creating your scripts!

The Randomise script is fantastic, but I have a question. Is there a way that I could modify the script (for personal use only) to prevent an artist from showing up two or more songs in a row? For example, I have a huge play list that includes many artists. I would like to randomize the list, but would like a way to prevent it from playing two or three Led Zeppelin songs in a row. Is that possible?

Thanks again for your work,
D

trixmoto
Posts: 10024
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2005 3:28 am
Location: Hull, UK
Contact:

Re: Randomise Playlist 1.1 [MM2+3]

Post by trixmoto » Tue Feb 23, 2010 2:40 pm

Well I guess you could try replacing the "DoRandomise" (lines 129-138) with something like this...

Code: Select all

Sub DoRandomise(p)
  Dim t : Set t = p.Tracks
  Dim a : a = ""
  p.Clear
  While t.Count > 0
    Dim n : n = Int(t.Count*Rnd)
    If Not (a = t.Item(n).ArtistName) Then
      a = t.Item(n).ArtistName
      Call p.AddTrack(t.Item(n))
      Call t.Delete(n)
    End If
    SDB.ProcessMessages 
  WEnd
End Sub
I've not tested it, but hopefully that's at least almost correct. :)
Download my scripts at my own MediaMonkey fansite.
All the code for my website and scripts is safely backed up immediately and for free using Dropbox.

aulb89
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2010 12:36 pm

Re: Randomise Playlist 1.1 [MM2+3]

Post by aulb89 » Tue Feb 23, 2010 2:51 pm

Cool! It worked!
Your scripts have been life savers.
This just saved me from manually having to browse and edit the entire 200 song list for artist "repeats" after randomizing.

Thanks again!!

trixmoto
Posts: 10024
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2005 3:28 am
Location: Hull, UK
Contact:

Re: Randomise Playlist 1.1 [MM2+3]

Post by trixmoto » Wed Feb 24, 2010 4:07 am

Thanks, I'm glad that worked for you. :)
Download my scripts at my own MediaMonkey fansite.
All the code for my website and scripts is safely backed up immediately and for free using Dropbox.

trixmoto
Posts: 10024
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2005 3:28 am
Location: Hull, UK
Contact:

Re: Randomise Playlist 1.2 - Updated 11/07/2010

Post by trixmoto » Sun Jul 11, 2010 2:54 pm

New version (1.2) is now available to download from my website. I have fixed playlists with the same name cause problems.
Download my scripts at my own MediaMonkey fansite.
All the code for my website and scripts is safely backed up immediately and for free using Dropbox.

Lowlander
Posts: 46003
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Randomise Playlist 1.2 - Updated 11/07/2010

Post by Lowlander » Mon Aug 30, 2010 10:18 am

Version 1.2 seems to force the Playlist node to open expanded when MediaMonkey is started, as reported here: http://mediamonkey.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=52257
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

trixmoto
Posts: 10024
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2005 3:28 am
Location: Hull, UK
Contact:

Re: Randomise Playlist 1.2 - Updated 11/07/2010

Post by trixmoto » Mon Aug 30, 2010 11:59 am

Ok, I'll see if I can fix this in the next version.
Download my scripts at my own MediaMonkey fansite.
All the code for my website and scripts is safely backed up immediately and for free using Dropbox.

rrfpacker
Posts: 1041
Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2008 5:47 pm

Re: Randomise Playlist 1.2 - Updated 11/07/2010

Post by rrfpacker » Mon Aug 30, 2010 9:10 pm

Thanks Lowlander, you beat me to it.

Looking forward to the next version.

trixmoto
Posts: 10024
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2005 3:28 am
Location: Hull, UK
Contact:

Re: Randomise Playlist 1.3 - Updated 20/10/2010

Post by trixmoto » Wed Oct 20, 2010 11:57 am

New version (1.3) is now available to download from my website. I have fixed the playlist node being fully expanded on startup.
Download my scripts at my own MediaMonkey fansite.
All the code for my website and scripts is safely backed up immediately and for free using Dropbox.

tucky
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2009 1:59 pm

Re: Randomise Playlist 1.3 - Updated 20/10/2010

Post by tucky » Tue Jan 04, 2011 3:14 am

I've just had an issue in MM4 when trying to randomise a large playlist. It came up with an error about not enough space (sorry I didn't think straight away to take a screenshot) and then reduced the size of the playlist significantly to just over an hour.

The script works fine on this reduced playlist but for some reason couldn't handle the larger one in the way MM3 could.

Unrelated from the script is there a way to retrieve a playlist from my old MM3 library?

trixmoto
Posts: 10024
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2005 3:28 am
Location: Hull, UK
Contact:

Re: Randomise Playlist 1.3 - Updated 20/10/2010

Post by trixmoto » Tue Jan 04, 2011 3:23 am

Sorry about this, I'll be testing all of my scripts for MM4 compatibility soon. Is it an auto-playlist or a manual one? If it's an auto-playlist, what sort of criteria are you using?
Download my scripts at my own MediaMonkey fansite.
All the code for my website and scripts is safely backed up immediately and for free using Dropbox.

tucky
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2009 1:59 pm

Re: Randomise Playlist 1.3 - Updated 20/10/2010

Post by tucky » Wed Jan 05, 2011 2:34 am

Don't worry about it. I should have backed up my playlists before testing MM4! :)

It's a manual playlist, I can't remember exactly how long but I suspect over 10 hours.

tucky
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2009 1:59 pm

Re: Randomise Playlist 1.3 - Updated 20/10/2010

Post by tucky » Sun Jan 09, 2011 11:38 am

I've done some more testing around this by creating a new playlist which had 37 files and was 2 hrs 18 minutes long

I get - Error #214748113 - SongsDB.SDBPlaylist
Thread creation error: Not enough storage is available to process this command
File: "C:\Programe Files\MediaMonkey\Scripts\Auto\RandomisePlaylist.vbs", Line 134, Column: 4

Following the error it reduces the playlist to 17 files - 1hr and 3 minutes in length

Hope this is of help!

trixmoto
Posts: 10024
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2005 3:28 am
Location: Hull, UK
Contact:

Re: Randomise Playlist 1.3 - Updated 20/10/2010

Post by trixmoto » Sun Jan 09, 2011 6:11 pm

Hmmm, not sure there's anything that I can do about that! :-?
Download my scripts at my own MediaMonkey fansite.
All the code for my website and scripts is safely backed up immediately and for free using Dropbox.

Post Reply