Bricked iPod into Diagnostic mode

Get answers about syncing the current release of MediaMonkey with iPods and other devices.

Moderator: Gurus

turkeyphant
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2018 8:48 am

Bricked iPod into Diagnostic mode

Post by turkeyphant » Sat Sep 29, 2018 2:41 pm

Synced first 40,000 files fine using MM to my iPod Classic 7.5g. However when I synced the remaining 25,000 or so the iPod was forced into the black and white diagnostic mode and would boot loop with Apple logo when trying to start it.

Peke
Posts: 12387
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: Bricked iPod into Diagnostic mode

Post by Peke » Sun Sep 30, 2018 9:12 am

Hi,
Boot loop can be caused by drive failure. Not sure, but many users report upgrading to an SSD fixes the problem and making their iPod works better than new.
Best regards,
Pavle
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
How to add SCREENSHOTS to forum

turkeyphant
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2018 8:48 am

Re: Bricked iPod into Diagnostic mode

Post by turkeyphant » Mon Oct 01, 2018 5:31 am

There is no issue with the drive. I'm using a brand new and tested SD card. I restored it and it works fine again. It was the transfer that caused the iPod to get stuck in Diagnostic black and white mode.

Peke
Posts: 12387
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: Bricked iPod into Diagnostic mode

Post by Peke » Fri Oct 05, 2018 6:04 pm

Hi,
Sorry my bad, too many iPod device versions in my head.

What would your iPod say if you sync number of tracks directly to SDcard and then insert it into iPod?
Best regards,
Pavle
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
How to add SCREENSHOTS to forum

Post Reply