Sync Problems - iPod ... PLEASE HELP

Get answers about syncing the current release of MediaMonkey with iPods and other devices.

Moderator: Gurus

hipplegrubber
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2007 6:40 am

Sync Problems - iPod ... PLEASE HELP

Post by hipplegrubber » Wed Jul 18, 2007 6:47 am

Hi

New to all this so bear weith me :wink:

Just started using MM after years of putting up with iTunes.

All good except one thing .....

When I sync now it does not copy all the files onto the ipod from MM. I have ALL songs checked and yet big chunks of songs don't appear on the ipod.

For example - whole album is checked but only half the songs appear on the ipod

What am I doing wrong ????

Help much appreciated :D[/b]
Last edited by hipplegrubber on Fri Jul 20, 2007 3:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.

hipplegrubber
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2007 6:40 am

Any help with this is much appreciated - its driving me mad

Post by hipplegrubber » Fri Jul 20, 2007 3:09 pm

:(

nohitter151
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Post by nohitter151 » Fri Jul 20, 2007 4:39 pm

Do you have enough space on your ipod? Are all of the filetypes you are synch'ing compatible with the iPod?
MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.

hipplegrubber
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2007 6:40 am

All files are mp3 and have wiped ipod and refilled ....

Post by hipplegrubber » Fri Jul 27, 2007 4:43 am

... still get missing songs when MM sync :cry:

Really doing my noodle in now and would be loathe to go back to itunes

Thanks for any help and advice
:)

john-nicholas
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2007 5:14 pm

Post by john-nicholas » Sun Jul 29, 2007 4:09 pm

hipplegrubber,

Try changing the mp3 plugins for MM. They are found here:

http://www.mediamonkey.com/input-plugins.htm

Then try the MM sync and see what happens.

Regards,
John

hipplegrubber
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2007 6:40 am

Post by hipplegrubber » Mon Jul 30, 2007 10:26 am

Thanks J-N

Sorry to be thick but which on eshould I install ?

Cheers
Hipple

john-nicholas
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2007 5:14 pm

Post by john-nicholas » Tue Jul 31, 2007 4:20 am

hipple,


I had to convert about 100 gb on my HD to about 55gb for my iPod during autosync. In doing so, I had to use all four mp3 plugins at some point to complete the task.

Therefore, you should try both (MAD .14.2b and in_mpg123.dll) of the addon plugins-- one at a time-- and see what works.

What you may find is the two plugins that come with MM (in_wmp3.dll and in_dsmp3.dll) will convert/autosync most of your files, but the two addon plugins will hopefully convert/autosync the rest.

Regards,
John

jgeorgie33
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 4:38 pm

Post by jgeorgie33 » Tue Jul 31, 2007 4:45 pm

I seem to be having a problem too. I used to use iTunes in the past, but decided to switch just because I wanted to try something different.

apcto
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun May 22, 2005 7:34 am
Location: Toronto, Canada

Tracks ?synchronized? but won't actually play on iPod

Post by apcto » Sun Aug 05, 2007 12:18 pm

Hi all,

I'm a long-time MM devotee (at least 4 years now). But I'm at my wits end trying to sync with my new 80G iPod.

In a nutshell, the files appear to be transferred to the iPod properly (they are on the iPod and they can be played from the iPod folder in MM), but most of the tracks simply won't play on the device. As some other users have reported, the iPod appears to want to play the track, fails, and then skips to the next track. Based on several different attempts to sync different lists there seems to be a success rate of <20%.

I tried uninstalling iTunes and followed rusty's documentation, but no dice.

What's most frustrating is that the same tracks do sync properly using iTunes! Can anyone help--I'm not sure I can stomach iTunes when I know how superior MM can be.

Many thanks in advance. apcto

Guest

Post by Guest » Thu Aug 09, 2007 10:46 am

I found that by using the 3rd party MAD mp3 plugin I was able to transfer everything fine. Otherwise half my crap doesn't convert.

Post Reply