How to copy music from MediaMonkey to external hard drive

Get answers about using MediaMonkey 4 for Windows.

Moderator: Gurus

Gerald McClaren

How to copy music from MediaMonkey to external hard drive

Post by Gerald McClaren »

Hi! I'm a newbie, I would like to know how can I copy music from MediaMonkey to an external hard drive. Thanks.
paulmarkj

Re: How to copy music from MediaMonkey to external hard drive

Post by paulmarkj »

Select the songs, then right click.

Select 'send to' then 'copy' and select the directory in the drop down list.

Is that what you wanted?
yarguy

Post by yarguy »

Pardon me if I have misread you. Your music isn't actually "in" Media Monkey; MM just creates a database that references your music including tags that are in your music files and adds its own information (if it fits the MP3ID framework, this will be written to the file, otherwise it will just be in the database). MM calls the database, the library. I am not clear what you want to achieve by copying the files to an external hard drive. If you want MM to be able to find them on the external hard drive you should use auto-organize (under tools) where one of the options is copy files based on tags. If you actually want to move them to the hard drive, you should also use auto-organize but with the move option. With auto-organize, MM updates the database; if you move files outside MM the database has the wrong location because it has not been updated. If you just want to copy them and don't care whether MM knows about them on the hard drive, you can just use plain old Windows Explorer (just be sure Explorer is copying and not moving the files).
Gerald McClaren wrote: Mon Dec 23, 2019 9:19 pm Hi! I'm a newbie, I would like to know how can I copy music from MediaMonkey to an external hard drive. Thanks.
Gerald McClaren

Post by Gerald McClaren »

Thanks PaulMark. I copied the songs to the hard drive.
RenaissanceMan1020

Post by RenaissanceMan1020 »