MediaMonkey NAS issues

Get answers about using the current release of MediaMonkey for Windows.

Moderator: Gurus

mashwell
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2014 11:27 am

MediaMonkey NAS issues

Post by mashwell » Tue Jul 16, 2019 7:53 am

I have been using the desktop Window (v10) MediaMonkey client (v 4.1.13) for a while to play a large flac library located on my Synology NAS. I set up a mapped network drive on my Windows PC and setup MM to scan/play from that mapped drive. That setup has been working great for quite some time. Recently, I made changes to the NAS, including implementing an SSL cert for HTTPS and setting up the NAS firewall. Somewhere along the way the changes disabled my ability to play files in MM. MM comes up and shows the files but they are greyed out and won't play. The mapped network drive still works fine in Explorer. I can even go into Explorer and double click on a mapped network file that won't play directly out of my MM library and it will play in MM (from the file association in Explorer). So, its not an issue with MM accessing/playing the file. It seems to be an issue with how the locaiton is defined within the library but that looks good in the file properties. I thought it might have something to do with my NAS firewall settings but enabling/disabling the NAS firewall has no effect. Not sure where to go from here and what to try next. Any help or suggestions would be appreciated.

Lowlander
Posts: 46003
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: MediaMonkey NAS issues

Post by Lowlander » Tue Jul 16, 2019 2:14 pm

Check the Path MediaMonkey shows for the greyed out files. It may no longer contain the drive letter (then use: https://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewt ... n+database).
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

mashwell
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2014 11:27 am

Re: MediaMonkey NAS issues

Post by mashwell » Tue Jul 16, 2019 2:38 pm

All the locations essentially look like this one, "[Data Partition]\Cloud Backup\Music\Popular\FLAC\10,000 Maniacs\Blind Man's Zoo\09 - 10,000 Maniacs - The Lion's Share.flac". Other than the "[Data Partition]" part everything else looks correct. I'm not sure how it is mapping "[Data Partition]".....it should map to my local E: drive. Is there a way to check/set that value or do I need the utility?

mashwell
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2014 11:27 am

Re: MediaMonkey NAS issues

Post by mashwell » Tue Jul 16, 2019 2:48 pm

Ok, looking at this some more, I think I see the issue. It has nothing to do with the NAS changes. A few weeks earlier, I had an issue with a hard drive with a chunk of my library. I was able to salvage my music files and put them on a new drive with the same letter but a different volume name (old=Data Partition, new=New Volume). Looks like the change in HD/Volume name screwed me up. I'll look into using the utility

Lowlander
Posts: 46003
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: MediaMonkey NAS issues

Post by Lowlander » Tue Jul 16, 2019 2:49 pm

This is why Mapped Drives aren't recommended. Windows can occasionally change the driveID for them and this is what MediaMonkey uses instead of the drive letter. The Addon can fix this problem for you.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

mashwell
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2014 11:27 am

Re: MediaMonkey NAS issues

Post by mashwell » Tue Jul 16, 2019 3:07 pm

Ran it and fixed everything...Thks!

Post Reply